Why a Steemit Black Belt?

20181207_123251.jpg

I earned my first black belt in Aikido in 2014. My parents, my husband and my son (then age 3) came to watch, and the whole dojo (which is like my second family) celebrated.

"Now you are ready to start practicing Aikido," my Sensei told me.

Anyone who has trained that far in a martial art will tell you that black belt is just the beginning. Until that point, you are learning how to learn.


sisters.jpg

Shoshin - Beginner's Mind

Most of us come to this platform curious. We may have an idea of what we'd like to accomplish, but that will change with experience. Let's face it, there are no experts here.

When I began Aikido I had no intention of earning a black belt; it seemed so out of reach. When I started my Steem account I could not see myself actually powering up 500 STEEM or more.

I am not a great martial artist; I am a competent one. I can set goals for myself and meet them. I can mentor others. I can contribute something meaningful in a system designed to build the capacities of each person who participates (even those who do not go on to earn a black belt). I am also just getting started.


Black Belt Minnows?

In the proposed ranking system for this project, black belts would be earned by Steemit "Minnows" with maybe 750-1000 Steem Power. In the days of 25¢ STEEM that doesn't seem like much, but it's no trivial amount.

Even at today's prices, that's an investment that goes beyond just trying out a new crypto social media thing. Combined with the skill and practice requirements, the Steemit Black Belt represents a commitment to become a competent, productive Steemian.

Someone who can contribute something meaningful in a system designed to build the capacities of everyone who participates.

Sort:  

I'm all for something which teaches you how to learn, sets you up for accomplishing goals, and guides you on the path as you go..

Great idea, thanks, looking forward to participating!!

Congratulations @steemitblackbelt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @steemitblackbelt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56