Serious Car Trouble - Calling Out To Steem Community

in #community6 years ago (edited)

IMG_E0857.JPG

It’s been said that if you do your best to take care of your car, your car will take care of you. Many times, neglect in maintaining your vehicle inevitably leads to the car giving out. This is what happened to a pickup truck I owned when I was in my early twenties. I ignored it’s cries for oil, and essentially allowed my trusted companion to die of thirst.

But sometimes, sometimes, your car’s health is poor from the moment you get it.

My dad and I bought this 2004 Dodge Durango in 2014. I was living with him at the time, and needed my own car to get to and from work, so Daddy helped me out.

However, since purchasing the Durango, it has been one issue after another. We’d get one thing fixed, only to have to replace something else months later. In the past four years we’ve replaced the exhaust system (twice), the brakes (twice), the coolant system, the tires (too many times) the fuel intake, and have been through countless oil changes and safety inspections.

About a month or so ago, we got an oil change done, and shortly later the car started making noises again, like it was low on oil. Other sounds soon started up that sounded like the fan belt, but the fan belt was fine. My husband took it back to where we got the oil change done, and it turns out that a rod is loose in the engine. Which means that while the car is running, it’s been knocking around inside the engine, hitting everything else. And there's two oil leaks. The motor is kaput.

I equate this to an 80-year-old man who’s heart finally gave out, despite having lived healthy a life. Our old-timer is finally giving up.

There’s one problem with this: We are not able to afford to purchase a new (or even used) vehicle on hubby’s pay. And I’m still very new to Steem, so haven’t had the opportunity to build up my Steem account to make it a steady source of income.

So, I write this as a call for help from the Steem community. This will be the only time you see me asking for upvotes, resteems, or even direct deposits. I’m asking this for my family, not just for myself.

Other ways to help, if you wish:

Thank you for any help you are able to send our way.

Sort:  

Sorry you guys are struggling. My upvote isn't much, but it helps.

I am sorry to hear of your vehicle problems. I saw this post in this morning's PYPT, and I shared it again in the evening session so more folks would see it. I hope you get lots of upvotes and donations. GOOD LUCK with this!

PYPT-ThanksForSharing.png

Thank you so much, @thekittygirl! I appreciate the support :)

I'm so sorry to hear about the struggles with your car - and I know it's not much, but I upvoted your post. (((hugs)))

I really wish my upvote was worth more. :-(

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Upvoted as referred to by @diebitch, good luck on fix-up & blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58