Competitive Eating: Is it a Waste of Food?

in #competitive6 years ago

This weekend at a competition in NY, a man ate 74 hot dogs and buns. For me, just thinking of eating 4 hot dogs and I am thinking of a gut ache.

For years, competitive eating struck me as morally wrong and a waste of food. In this competition there is the celebration of gorging yourself with food (okay, not the best) and minutes after the competition throwing up. At the same time in many parts of the world, people are starving.

Now, the rational/logical side of me sees that as entertainment where resources are used. This is no different than fireworks, disposable utensils, etc. The event is an economic generator and many businesses benefit from the usage of food, etc.

Now, since I am an American living in the US I have slowly changed over the years. I have begun to see food as a resource that can be used for any purpose in addition to eating. So, even a food fight is not waste. It is just an abundant resource used for another purpose. I have changed over the years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47