You Might Be An Avid (but small scale) Composter When...

in #composting5 years ago

Doing a small dual-bucket system outside for composting is great if you don't make much food waste as a singleton apartment dweller. But in the winter, it doesn't stay hot enough to continue to break down, and so it goes dormant. My bucket was pretty full when that happened, plus I want it to break down as fast as possible now so that I can use it in the balcony forest and my houseplants this year, which means I don't want to add to this batch anymore so it can finish.

But I don't want to waste all my compost scraps that have been accumulating all winter, either. I want to use them to start a new batch as soon as this one is done. Enter:

The bottom half of my freezer door is all green compost scraps. I've got a little cardboard box full of browns (trimmings from houseplants, used wooden matches, cat fur from a brush. Actually I don't know if cat fur is a brown, but you can compost it, and it won't mold sitting in a box outside of the freezer, lol).

I also have a bag of apple bits separate so I can make vinegar with it when I have a bunch:

Viva la reuse and sustainability! :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

If you have a brown cat, then cat fur is definitely brown. jk jk :) I know what you meant, I'm impressed with what you do in your small space!

Wakka wakka wakka! 😂 Well in that case it's a grayblackblondevanillawhitebrown. Because tortie and gray/white/vanilla tabby. 😺😺

I'll have to see what my composting manual says about that...

Fortunately for us cold is not a problem we face. 12 C is the lowest we face at night, so the compost heap continues to work all year round.
But I love your idea of keeping it in a box at the bottom of the fridge. Just shows how little waste you produce.
So you get top marks for being a good environmentalist 😀😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay! (skips home with a good report card) ;)
Also WOW 12 C is your coldest?? What a moderate place you live!

Yep five gold stars lol 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

This is intriguing
I thought you needed like a special set up to decompose
And cat fur? Hmmmmm
Hey you have got me thinking now because I too live in a high rise and so far I have seen these done by Steemians on landed property.
Am following you now to see what I can pick from you :)

I didn't think about temperature affect compost. Ja but that's right, bread dough rise in the right temperature ;) Compost is one of the things I want to try in the future. I feel strange these days to buy soil for gardening ...

I wonder I can use basement for compost not sure it's warm enough though.

One city in a forest in Japan has community compost and people can get soil (fertilizer?) from there for their field. It would be perfect :)

Denver has city compost but only if you live in a house and not for apartments. Which is a really dumb rule if you ask me, but hey. ;)

Oh no ..... what a pity rule!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96