What to do.....

in #computer7 years ago (edited)

I am a newbie to steemit and currently unemployed. This is my first time being unemployed since 1984. That's a long time.

I am looking for jobs in the IT field but things have become so specialized now. You have to be good at one thing.

Well I am good at several things in IT. I just don't know which path to take. Every job i apply for says I don't have the necessary experience yet I have a computer science degree.

I went from pc tech to network admin to sr systems analyst. You would think I could find something. I am considering starting my own business in PC and network security.

Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions? Let me know.

Beardo.


Sort:  

IT is a tough field, definitely. In spite of Ben's degree, we concluded the market in our area is so saturated it would be very difficult to break into the network security business unless we could start out with at least one good contract, say with a small real estate business - an office big enough to have multiple computers but too small for a full-time IT employee.

Do you know anyone who might be able to get you in just for a discussion in an office like this? Sitting down for lunch and a good talk would allow you to scope out potential markets and learn if this is a viable option. It also might highlight some potential issue or market you haven't thought of yet that you could pursue. Offices like a good-sized auto repair shop, small construction company, or insurance sales company would probably be this type of environment. Do you know anyone who works for any of these kinds of companies?

As a matter of fact I do. I have a friend with a home automation business who said he would get me a few of his contacts. I am hoping it's enough to get me started. Thanks for the reply.

Unfortunately, I do not have any thoughts...

How about a balloon animal then? It could keep me occupied!!!! It was great hanging out with you guys the last weekend!

Yah! Learn balloon-animaling!

It would be less stressful that's for sure!

I don't have any ideas but I will pray for you. Shalom from Japan
Illanit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69455.40
ETH 3692.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.34