Switching from Chrome to Firefox after years of being tracked onlinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #computer5 years ago


Okay, Firefox Quantum is not even close to new.

Ashamed of myself to learn that the Firefox is a non-porfit organization after all my time spent online for years. Maybe the neatness and sleekness of the browser itself make me think it does not look like something created by a not profit-oriented company.

As I dived deeper into the idea of digital privacy and anonymity, there are lots of useful tools and tricks could enhance those important aspect average users used to ignore. Browser is probably the best place to start within the process of strengthening privacy. Have a good read here: A Healthy Internet is Secure and Private, Firefox Privacy Notice.

  • Firefox is open source and deployed by the non-profit Mozilla Foundation.
  • Firefox is more lightweight than the memory monster Chrome.
  • Firefox is built with privacy protection in mind.
  • Firefox has no tracker built-in as Chromium browser do.
  • Firefox is fully-customizable.
  • Firefox Private Window makes Chrome's Incognito mode looks like a joke.

While Firefox is a great browser with a clean base to start working on enhancing privacy, it needs to be hardened by a series of configuration for the best result. This is a list of must-have privacy add-ons like the uBlock Origin, * HTTPS Everywhere*, NoScript and etc.

Surprisingly, I found the switching the from Chrome to Firefox as I can find most of the extension I cannot live without easily on Firefox, import the bookmarks and boom. Transition completed!

What is your favourite browser?


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://fr3eze.vornix.blog/switching-from-chrome-to-firefox-after-years-of-being-tracked-online/

Sort:  

Haha.. I have always been a Firefox user. I only use Chrome when certain sites don't load properly on FF.

You might want to take a look at the Brave browser. It's built by ex-Firefox creator and it's also privacy focused. Underlying it is still using chromium but it stripped out all the trackers. It also has built-in ad-blocker. Brave is now my secondary browser :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I used Brave long time ago actually and it is my main browser in mobile phone now. I have better experience using Firefox now on the PC. The fact that Brave is a Chromium based browser makes me stay away from it as I can't make sure it has tracker built in like the Chrome.

I’m primarily a Chrome user. Firefox and Opera at second choice and Microsoft Edge as third choice.

Just started programming using nodeJS. Wondering if u code ? Wanna learn how to use steemjs to compute some functions

What kind of functions do you intend to build? I have been using Steempy/Beempy. More of a Python coder than Node.js.

want to extract statistical data for reporting

for example, how much value in total I've (my account) has given out in the past week ?? i need to add up all the vote value to all posts i have voted for, and that value i want to convert to USD$ to display

I was in the same shoe as you previously until I value the privacy more and more these days. Also the quickness and mature of Firefox makes this switching much more painless.

I used to code a very beginner level long time ago, I still have the passion to pick up some web development skills now but I'm afraid I couldn't advice you more on this. Probably the Utopian community is the place your are looking for.

Wait what? I thought all the cool kids are using Brave Browser right now?

Brave is my phone main browser but I still prefer FF while using desktop, snappier while the extension market more matured.

You are right about that. While there's more extensions available on Brave not (they've moved to chromium so some chrome extensions work on brave too). It's still has some rough edges. Excited to see how project moves forward tho

Posted using Partiko Android

And moving tot chromium is exactly one of the reasons that stick with FF, god knows what built in trackers is in the chromium kit. Nonetheless, Brave is really providing a solid new choice for geeky users.

Personally im not using it because my anti-virus flagged it. Sent a support ticket to both sides so I see what happens.

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m primarily a Chrome user. Firefox and Opera at second choice and Microsoft Edge as third choice.

Just started programming using nodeJS. Wondering if u code ?

I’m primarily a Chrome user. Firefox and Opera at second choice and Microsoft Edge as third choice.

Just started programming using nodeJS. Wondering if u code ?

I’m primarily a Chrome user. Firefox and Opera at second choice and Microsoft Edge as third choice.

Just started programming using nodeJS. Wondering if u code ? Wanna learn how to use steemjs to compute some functions

Hi @fr3eze!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.069 which ranks you at #3400 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 3404).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #136.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13