Becoming Fluent in Kubernetes in less than an Hour - [Dale Alleshouse]

in #computers6 years ago

Kubernetes is an open source container system that has been initially released in 2014. So, it's quite young.

Similar container systems that most of you might be familiar with are docker or if we're dealing with a FreeBSD system - jails.

Each of them has its pros and cons, but from what I've heard and from what I've seen, counterintuitively, jails are very convenient to work with and configure.

However, this presentation is not about FreeBSD jails, but Kubernetes. And in this hour long video, that has just been posted recently (May 2018), Dale Alleshouse takes a ground up approach for understanding Kubernetes.

As per the description:

"In less than an hour, we'll build an environment capable of: Automatic Binpacking, Instant Scalability, Self-healing, Rolling Deployments, and Service Discovery/Load Balancing." [source]

If you're a system adminstrator or devop, you might benefit a lot from the presentation in case you're looking for alternatives to Docker. Enjoy!


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. I will definitely check this out as I'm interested to know the advantages of using Kubernetes vs Docker Swarm.

Thanks for sharing this video! For a very long time, I doubted whether it was necessary for our company or not, but I read more difficult articles that did not give me an answer. Now I am sure that kubernetes gateway is a good choice and should be implemented as quickly as possible. This video really has all the information you need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86