You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Schizophrenia and Genius - TempleOS and The Strange, Sad Case of Terry A Davis

in #computers6 years ago

Bizzarely, I just heard about Davis last week. I have been watching a series on the dark web and Davis had a site on the dark web about his operating system Temple OS, though it wasn't covered in depth. Is mental illness really an illness? I think about it quite a bit.

Sort:  

Well, it does produce behaviors that make functioning in society much harder for them, and for the people around them. But seen from another perspective, an illness could just be seen as an adaptation. If it confers more benefit than harm, it's likely to propagate.

And the other interpretation of Terry is... he's absolutely right, he is talking to God, and TempleOS is a legitimate portal through which people can pray.

I've started to wonder if an emerging AI singularity might use it as a front-end to communicate with inferior humanity someday...

That series sounds interesting. Is it on Youtube?

Yes it is. It is from SomeOrdinaryGamers. It also blocks all the gross stuff because it is on YouTube.

I have met so many people who don't quite fit in. I seem to like most of them. I like the term adaptation, but I feel sad about how difficult life is for them.

I'm feeling a bit disenchanted these days, my mind is all over the place. I can't seem to slot myself into a comfortable (belief?) slot, if only for a brief moment. It's weird. I can feel the hair's breadth that separates me from them.

"There but for the grace of god, &ct..."

Sorry to hear you're feeling blue. I've never found a comfortable belief slot either, but if I ever do you're welcome to join me there!

It's a bit of blue, and a LOT of weird I'm afraid. When you feel like the cliche square peg. If you find your (belief) it can be a bit like "if you show me yours..." How many cliches can I squash in one comment??? hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88