You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Schizophrenia and Genius - TempleOS and The Strange, Sad Case of Terry A Davis

in #computers6 years ago

Fascinating. I hadn't heard of Davis or TempleOS before. I have thought since college that there's an interesting relationship between creativity and mental illness. You see it a lot with the mathematicians. Georg Cantor ended his life in a mental hospital, Kurt Godel starved himself to death because he thought people were trying to poison him, and there is speculation that Isaac Newton was bipolar and created calculus in a lengthy manic episode. I'm sure there are others that I'm not remembering off the top of my head.

Sort:  

The BBC documentary "Dangerous Knowledge" was a fascinating take on the mathemeticians you mentioned.

It's almost like the circuits in the brain for focus and obsession lock out the parts that let people function socially, or deal with day-to-day stresses. I wish I knew more about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88