AMA on FreemasonrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #conspiracy7 years ago (edited)

Hey, all . It recently came to light in one of my social circles that I'm a Freemason. This led to lots of questions (which is good) and quite a few harsh criticisms (which is not so good).

71kwp7IlDfL._UX342_.jpgThe general impression that I got is most people are very confused about what Freemasonry is and the type of men who are members. I could write a lengthy post about it (and maybe will one day) but I feel like it would be really boring for most to wade through. Plus, I'd just be writing what I think people might want to know. That's not exactly the best way to write something.

So, I think it would better to open a forum and take your questions. This is an offer made in good faith on my end and I will endeavor to answer any questions as honestly and completely as I can so long as they are reasonable and do not conflict with my obligations to Freemasonry. I look forward to answering your questions.

Sort:  

Nice! Glad you posted. Feeling less like an island on here!

Hey brother! I'm a fellow Freemason and have been searching for Masonic content here. Nice to find some!

Hello, Brother. I would happily post more if I got the sense that people were interested. I also have searched for Masonic posts and have been found wanting. I feel like most Brothers might be hesitant to share at the risk of being stigmatized.

Why join a lodge or become a Freemason, what are the benefits?
and what motivated you to become a Freemason?

That's honestly a hard question to answer in the general sense because every man seems to join for different personal reasons. Some join to network, others for secrets, others for philanthropy or brotherhood. Some are just retired men looking for something to occupy their time.
Likewise what would be considered a benefit will vary from man to man. But I think most people would consider the brotherhood and community to be the greatest benefits. It's pretty amazing to know that if you ever found yourself in a tight spot anywhere in the world where Masons live you have a group ready and willing to help you out.
But to answer your question about my reasons, I joined because I had always wanted brothers and male role models since I was the only guy in my family. I found that my college Fraternity left something to be desired in that regard.
As it turned out, a couple of my fraternity brothers joined the Masons and I liked what I had heard. They were mostly men ranging from young professionals to retirees. When I met the Masons they were all very kind and respectful. They invited me to a philanthropy they were doing, which I really enjoyed. I really just felt that I had found a group of men I could learn from and grow with, who had a good sense of decency and humanity about them, and who really wanted to become generally better versions of themselves. It just resonated with me. So I put in an application and never looked back. It's honestly one of the best decisions I've ever made, but I know it's not for everyone.
I hope this answers your question. Thanks for asking!

Both my father and cousin are Freemasons, dad from the Vermont Lodge and cousin from Nilad Lodge. They both invited me to join but I'm on the fence and a bit scared frankly coz I don't know what I'll get into. But your reply shed some light and I'll think it over. Thank you for replying, that was very enlightening.

Well, you have a good idea of the kind of men they are. I'm sure they wouldn't invite you into anything that is dangerous, illegal or immoral. But I can understand being on the fence about it. And as much as we would like to keep good men in the Fraternity, we wouldn't hold it against someone if they chose to separate. Like I said, it's not for everyone. Some people don't find that out until after they've joined and that's okay.
I really do hope you'll give it a little more thought. I'm glad my response helped. Thank you for asking

Happy to kick off the questions. Are you able to say what level of freemasonry you are currently? Is there much interaction between the degrees? So, for example, does a lower level Mason have much, if any interaction, with the higher level Masons?

We can say our level. For example I'm a 32nd degree Mason. That means I was raised to a Master Mason (3rd degree) and then joined the Scottish Rite and received degrees to the 32nd.

There is a great deal of interaction between the different levels in Freemasonry. We are, first and foremost, Brothers. The different degrees do not denote superiority so much as they signify one's dedication to the Fraternity. This is especially true for 33rd degree Masons who are relatively rare and generally receive their final degree for outstanding contributions to the Craft. For the first three degrees, which comprise a Blue (or Red) Lodge, Mason advances by demonstrating proficiency in their current degree. But 1st degree Masons regularly associate with 3rd degree Masons, and 3rd degree Masons with 32nd or 33rd. At the end of the day we all meet on the level and are equal Brothers to one another.

I hope this answers your question. Thank you for asking!

I want to learn more about it and become Mason too.Please help me with it.

The best way to do that is to find a local lodge, introduce yourself, and express an interest. This will begin the process. If you already know a Mason or two it will help things since they can vouch for your character. Masons traditionally do not recruit so if it's something you're genuinely interested in you'll need to seek them out. I hope this helps. If you have any specific questions during your journey, please feel free to ask.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76