Constrained writing contest #15 - Silent observer

in #constrainedcontest6 years ago (edited)

Kintsukuroi.jpg


This is an entry for a contest found here

The challenge is to write from an objects point of view.


I've been told, time and time again that life is not fair. The same sentence has been most often shouted at me, as if something such as myself is capable of returning any feeling whatsoever. It has been whispered, choked out, gurgled, even said evenly as if the one saying it has given up entirely. Sometimes the sentece isn't said but merely expressed. Through grimaces, empty looks, keens, snarls, hysteric laughter… Indeed, as a witness of such a thing I am far older than I seem on the outside.

I've always liked to observe them, them who come here. Their body language. They're as abstract to me as I am to them; for I am the symbol of their pain and pain is abstract. I don't understand their grievances or joy; I do not feel such things. But there is something captivating in the way they move. When they come in groups they are more unsure of themselves, either looking directly at me as if to make sure I am real, or never looking at me, still in denial. If they are alone, that's when something breaks in them completely. They lay against me or caress the newly made cracks in my body, painted gold in a mockery of kintsukuroi, worshipping them, probably wishing their heart would stick together like the pottery fixed with gold. Sometimes the small ones throw things at me, not yet able to control their actions.

I'm not like them, but the years are long and I learned a lot from just watching. Soon, after I've been uprooted from my previous position, reworked and covered in layers of protection , I started counting things I like most about these fleeting creatures. Sometimes the simple things they do warm me up like the early spring sun. The picnics on the patch of grass near me, buzzing with energy. The one that comes here to meditate for hours upon hours and even takes time to explain what he has been doing, although, I do not think he talks to me. The flowers they bring and the small lights that flicker in the nights too.

Even if nature hasn't been kind, making me crumble and lose height, I wouldn't change places with my brethren hiding under trees or the ones lost in water. I will be the appointed observer of this small part of mine throughout ages to come, silently carrying the burden that is put upon me.


Want to guess who the observer is?

Sort:  

This story really... really makes you think.
And on the second read, it becomes even deeper still.

The observer? I'd have to guess it can be any of us. We're all just a thought away from an existential crysis. Laughs forcibly.

Yeah, I guess that does make sense hehe but no the object I had in mind when writing this was either a mia or a kia memorial, something along those lines.
I'm glad it makes you think, that was the purpose yeah :)

This is excellent! I'm a scientist who writes science fiction under various names, and I would say you are the winner of the current contest. Especially stylistically. I myself lean towards literary fiction.

I suggested this story to the @sneakyninja group. They curate new content. Hopefully they will give you a nice upvote, if they also like it.

Cheers.

Thank you very much, it is always a boost in morale when people like what you write. Especially because I was trying something new with this one.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @hrovat66
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

This post received a 20.13% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @hrovat66! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .
STEEM Price : 4.62 $ ID : 1516920954000

You're a tomb or a grave marker.

Tomb was really really close :) it's a memorial stone

Beautiful story.

Thanks to @tibra, this inspiring post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Ooohh my, that's really exciting :) thank you very much

You're welcome. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @eriesunkite! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68