You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: She Walked In Darkest Sunshine (Constrained Writing Contest Entry)

I like the ending, too. This is a great dreamy story. The color theory really spoke to me. Reading this was like watching a beautiful indy film with lots of dream sequences... Lost in Translation, Last Life in the Universe nothing directly just that feeling of truly being in a different world.

Sort:  

I feel like I often cut with my endings, and get to a certain point where I have described all the pictures I have in my mind, and just want to progress the story. I have noticed a tendency to use line breaks towards the end for a sudden jump in time or perspective, and it makes me feel like I need to work on them.

I love a good dream sequence, I haven't seen Last Life in the Universe, have to see if I can get @johngreenfield to get hold of it for me (hint hint lol) - Have you seen Paprika or Waking Life? I just love how they portray the dreamscape <3

re: cut endings, I can see what you're saying. You maybe are feeling you aren't being as descriptive with the ending as you gave the other parts? But I think that's ok if that's the case especially in the short story format. I mean it feels ok to me as a reader and I don't feel robbed if that's your worry.

I just realized both of my recommendations took place in Asia. There's really only one "dreamy" scene in Last Life in the Universe, but if you like indy asian films you will probably like it. Another good dreamy one is Neil Gaiman's "Mirrormask" which I highly recommend. I have not seen Paprika or Waking Life but will add those to my Netflix/Amazon if they're on there. Thank you so much!

Well that's ok then :) I do worry that as I have the full story in my head, the cuts may feel like skipped bits. I feel like it is something that I use like a crutch, since noticing I have managed one or two things without a cut ending, don't want to get too predictable ;)

Oh I haven't seen that either, and I like Neil Gaiman! Another one to request from @johngreenfield please lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65