Constrained Writing Contest #19 + Winners of Constrained Writing Contest #18

in #constrainedwriting6 years ago (edited)

constrained writing contest.jpg


Most writing contests give you a writing prompt or at least a couple of words to work your idea around, which is why I decided to host a slightly different contest.


A constrained writing contest

Instead of being given an idea or a writing prompt, you are allowed to choose the topic completely by yourself. But, varying from week to week, you will face different challenges that limit your writing.

You will be required to omit certain words, use a specific word in every second sentence, use a given sentence unchanged, write a story with a certain amount of words... or a combination of all.

In short, instead of telling you what to write about, you are told how to write.


Winners of constrained writing contest #18

This week we had a guest judge joining us. One of the first contestants of the Constrained Writing Contest, a person who had been with us from the very beginning of the contest, and is my long time friend - give it up for @eriesunkite!

For what we talked "off-record" in our native language (Slovenian), I can tell you she's mentioned several times that picking the winners was HARD!

But, she was given a job to judge, and judge she did! Here are the winners she picked for this week!

  • 1st place : 0.661 SBD + 0.158 STEEM : @felt.buzz with the entry “Bes

Judge’s note: Oh my, Bes and his kind of smarmy behaviour in the beginning absolutely pulled me in. And his almost hate for doing everyday chores like shopping. It's also satisfying that he can admit some children are little shits (with or without parents help). He's just down to earth and really thrives when doing his job.

Judge’s note: : Anu in this story is a highly adaptable goddess and it put a smile on my face how simple she was. Things happen - she rolls with it. Her godly powers and how they keep getting away from her is what really endears the story to the reader.

Judge’s note: : I like the representation of a gods rage, the pain of being forgotten and left behind. When you think about it, they are eternal and time passes differently for them, so it's no wonder Morana struggles to reach her goal. Her stumble are, I believe, something we can all get behind. Her godly behaviour and the ending remind me of old folk stories I used to read when I was little.

Congratulations to the winners!

Honorable mentions in alphabetical order:

@svashta’s note: I loved the rules the moment @eriesunkite suggested them to me... And reading the stories, I loved the rules even more! It was absolutely amazing to see you guys take on this challenge and write about something completely out of the ordinary! The stories I've read were all awesome and I'm very happy you've decided to participate!

Proof of payment:

dasda.jpg


With that out of the way, onto constrained writing contest #19!


Rules:

This week we have @foragingquietude joining us as a judge for the second time! She decided she will no longer take it easy on you guys, and so she came up with a special treat for you! ;D

Here are the rules she has come up with for this week;

  • Convince your reader of a conspiracy theory told from the perspective of a child, aged between 6 and 16. (6 and 16 included)
  • You can only write in 2nd person (meaning the child is convincing you of the conspiracy theory)
  • It can be a made up theory or one that already exists.
  • The story must be at least 250 words long and in English

And as for the usual mumbo jumbo, here's the rest of the rules just about every contest has:

  • Upvote this post
  • Post a link to your entry in the comments below
  • Include tag #constrainedwriting among your other tags
  • Should you wish to help raise awareness of the contest, please consider resteeming this post (it is by no means compulsory)

Prizes

I will pay out this post's payout in full, both SBD and STEEM!


  • 1st place: 45% of post's payout
  • 2nd place: 27% of post's payout
  • 3rd place 18 % of post's payout
  • Judge takes 5 % for his/her efforts
  • I will take 5 % for hosting, writing and editing the contest

*Note: In case I receive any donations for the contest, the payout percentages apply to the donation itself as well.


Judges

This week the judge of the Constrained Writing Contest is @foragingquietude, and she is responsible for picking the winners on her own discretion, but her and I both promise she will try and be as objective as possible.

What's that I hear? You wish to be a judge too? Well look no further!
To apply for a judge and make up your own rules, simply send @svashta a hearty hello on steemit.chat.

*Disclaimer: I will only allow fellow writers as judges to keep the competition high quality.


Deadline

  • Entries are accepted until this post's payout
  • Your entry post must be newer than this post

Good luck!


Svashta_gif.gif

Sort:  

great stories this week, congrats to all

I got mentioned - THANK YOU :D .. I'm thrilled as I wrote "The story of Oi" after doing about half an hour research and then typing frantically as the words just poured to the page. The original being much longer (yes longer) I cut it back a bit and it lost something with that but I still got a mention and that means the world to me big love*

Your story about Oi was absolutely awesome and as much as we discussed with @eriesunkite we both loved it very much! :D If I speak on my behalf, it's fourth by no more than an inch behind the third. ;D

Hope to see you enter again! :D

Oh that's awesome. I've just entered #19. I'm not sure the conscience of a 6 yr old works but I tried... you'll get what I mean. Even so it was fun to write and it's a true story - I'm MUM. LOL.

Wow, congratulations to the winners of last week's constrained writing prompt! Great job guys, specially for @svashta and judges. This week's constraints look fun and exciting too. I had been busy these days it appears I will not be able to participate in this one as well :( Looking forward to join and read everyone's stories soon!

Well, if you run out of time, there's still the next one! :D
So very happy to have you on board as a reader and writer :D

Thanks, will be back again soon! :)

I really enjoyed this one.

Thank you. I'm glad you liked it

Looking forward to this one! :) Congrats winners!

Me too :D Should be awesome :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75