You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Tech News: The Robotic Takeover of Construction and Homebuilding

in #construction6 years ago

Excellent article. I just read an article about a company that is 3D printing a 900 SF house for under $5000. Of course I can't find it right this instant, but I'll try to leave the link in another reply.

I spent much of my adult life in and around the construction industry (I fixed the stuff that the bone heads broke). I've seen concrete pours go to near automated happenings. 17 years ago my coffee shop had a floor poured and finished in one night by a robo 'prefinisher. That floor was so close to dead on that it was almost frightening. I installed 60' of cabinet and the error across the run was right at 1/4 inch. Unbelievably close. Grading and finishing grades is becoming almost automatic.

I think the brick layer and the digger are terrific ideas, so long as we keep training skilled labor to finish the jobs.

Thanks for a wonderful and informative article!

Sort:  

And of course, it's ICON as you mentioned. Different article, though. https://www.wired.com/story/icon-house-3d-printer/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69344.82
ETH 3616.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19