You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creating Content from a Place of Inspiration, Not Desperation

in #content6 years ago

I agree with this, but it's not always an easy choice. For some, it's the choice between making content for a living or not making content at all!

Right now I run a non-profit. It's finally turning a profit, but not enough, not nearly enough to live on. But it is almost a full time job. Between that, and taking care of my 3 babies and my other child (my hubs. Hahaha jk jk) and the household stuff, I have to cut into a lot of my time with those things in order to produce quality content. If I don't make anything on it, then I just wasted either time with my kids, time for a clean house, or time working on my non profit. As it is I only sleep about 5 hours a night, and I make exercise a priority now too, so my extra time is nearly non existent.

So I do stress about my vids not making anything, especially the ones I dump a lot of effort into. I wouldn't say it effects my creativity. If I really am not inspired to talk about anything, then I don't make anything, but I usually have something on my mind worth talking about!

This is really interesting though. I can definitely see where the stress of making money can be a drag on creativity. I wish I had more time to not worry. But, I have learned how to make it work so far! My life would absolutely transform if the price of Steem goes up. So here's hoping!

Sort:  

Thanks for the thoughtful response @bethwheatcraft!! I think you bring up a good point that sometimes the stress can light a fire to keep moving forward. Maybe the desperation would be a positive for content and not a negative. I imagine it's probably different for each person!

What is the non-profit that you run? I'd be curious to hear more about that!!

It amazes me everything you get done in a day! Having three kids would be a full time job in and of itself - not to mention everything else you are doing and all the great content you put out here! You definitly have some of the best video content here on Steemit in my opinion. You keep it real and talk from the heart.

Anyway, thanks again for the thoughtful response! This kind of topic is something that rolls around my head all the time these days. When to quit the corporate job... etc. The ying and yang of just jumping into something i'm passionate about vs. feeling more prepared. But I digress...

Thanks for the thoughtful response @bethwheatcraft!! I think you bring up a good point that sometimes the stress can light a fire to keep moving forward. Maybe the desperation would be a positive for content and not a negative. I imagine it's probably different for each person!

What is the non-profit that you run? I'd be curious to hear more about that!!

It amazes me everything you get done in a day! Having three kids would be a full time job in and of itself - not to mention everything else you are doing and all the great content you put out here! You definitly have some of the best video content here on Steemit in my opinion. You keep it real and talk from the heart.

Anyway, thanks again for the thoughtful response! This kind of topic is something that rolls around my head all the time these days. When to quit the corporate job... etc. The ying and yang of just jumping into something i'm passionate about vs. feeling more prepared. But I digress...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67863.38
ETH 3708.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65