Do You Write Quality Content?

in #content6 years ago

Content

Another day sitting in front of the computer wondering what will I do today? The daily routine of sitting down to gather my thoughts and trying to tap into the creative process is not always easy. Sometimes, it's down right impossible for me to think about what I should write about. Now, to fix this, I've taken to caring a little journal with me everywhere I go, this way I can write down any ideas that come to mind (the recorder on my phone works very well as well). This method has cut down on my down time significantly, and has helped me to produce better content; as I'm not trying to just throw something together for the sake of making a daily post.

Having better content has been a constant struggle. When I first started working with affiliates, I would post links and codes and ads all over the place; like an affiliate explosion! I quickly learned how annoying it was to post this way, and how quickly my readers were turned off by it. Gradually, I learned how to monetize properly (well, at least better than I was)  and I have since noticed a big difference. 

Good Content, Bad Content?

I bring up the fact that I kept a journal handy only so that I could talk about this idea I've been floating around in my head. Is there really such a thing as "bad" content? For that matter, what makes something good content? Is it the size of the article, the number of words? What about memes and photos, many time people use these as content with great results. So it's not the words, or the pictures; so what is it that makes content good?

This is something that has bothered me since I first started writing online. I was used to writing on paper, where you didn't have to put up pictures or graphics, or think about the presentation of your article; you just... write. Another thing, when I would go online to view other peoples stuff, it wasn't always the most life changing or even the most entertaining or impressive; it was usually something just to pass the time. Every once in a while there would one or two really good articles, or videos, or maybe someone took a breathtaking photograph; but fo the most part in was all... crap.

So I started to think about this, and I came to the conclusion that the actual content of your blog or post had only a little to do it. What I mean is; you can pick any subject no matter how morbid or gross or whatever; and still create good content from it. Which tells me that what make quality content, is the time and effort you put into it; and the reaction that it inspires in other. I think that the reaction is the overall test of good content. No matter what it is that you are inspiring in your readers/viewers; as long as they are getting something from your post; then it's good content.

What Does it Mean?

What this all means is simple; follow your passion and your heart. Like I said it doesn't' really matter what the subject of your posts is; just that you can stir up an emotion or convey an idea; inspire someone to be a better person. Some of my favorite posts, both that I read and I create, are often just simple quotes written on top of a beautiful photo. There's usually nothing more to these post as it's all said on the "poster" (as I like to call them) and yet they usually inspire so much in a lot of people.

This means, that there is no excuse for doing a crap job, and creating 'bad content.' Don't be lazy; put a little thought, a little effort into everything you do. Visit Canva to create awesome banners and posts for free. They have a ton of templates and options to allow you to customize any banner, post, page, Ect.

There are so many free resources out there for people who are new to blogging (like me) and who don't have a lot of money to be putting into it. There are literally no more excuses why you can't create good content. There's lots of free education about blogging, and many online communities of people looking to grow just like you or me. Heck, I found Steemit while I was reviewing a blog post by someone on BitLanders. 

My point is, don't worry about good vs bad content; just be you and be true to yourself. Those who can accept that will flock to you, and those that don't get what you're offering or saying, that's no big deal. Out the billions of people on this planet, I promise there is at least a handful of people out there who think and act just like you do. There is something for everyone out there; and if someone content doesn't really rock your boat, just move on to something else (unless it's really that important to you to "downvote" someone).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71