You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A book that changed your life - everyone wins SBI and 10 STEEM to the 1st!

in #contest5 years ago

Gulliver’s Travels.

It was in high school and I was writing for the newspaper and short plays; What I was writing got me trouble and sent to the principles office a few times as I was critiquing the teachers and local government. So after a few times my brother, who’s a teacher now but wasn’t then, bought me Gullivers Travels and explained that the writer Johnathon Swift wrote it at a time when pointing out royalty and government were stupid would get him arrested. So he wrote Gullivers Travels as a satire... a way to make fun of the government without them knowing. Turned into a best seller.
I view that now as a way to write because I still point out folly in what I write.

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution! Indeed a fine allegory that of Jonathan Swift. I wish politics and society, in general, could still enjoy such irony and criticism. I see that you're a screenwriter! Here's a flash Finish the Story factoid: we had a screenwriter in the contest, Rich Wilkes. By the way, we would love to see you in our little community of writers. Cheers!

Gulliver's Travels is awesome! I also loved this book. Even more when I learned what it was about and why he wrote it.

I appreciate good satire. To me it takes talent and intelligence to pull off well. Never stop doing it!

P.S. Your stuff looks interesting. Will take a closer look at it when I get a chance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67946.39
ETH 3824.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77