Ultimate Crochet Contest Entry: Treasure Owl! 3rd Round

in #contest6 years ago

DSC_0117.JPG

I started my crochet journey only last summer during my pregnancy. I was in dire need of something peaceful to do, so I asked my aunt to show me some stitches and I got hooked!

In Germany we have Christmas Markets during December, where you can drink hot beverages and find all kind of handcrafted presents for your loved ones. I decided to set up a shop with little selfmade crochet animals and cute little christmas angels.

34861633_10215878652108740_5995951933523755008_n.jpg

I wanted to make something which can be useful as well, so I came up with crocheting around Kinder Surprise Eggs- not a new idea at all, but I guess not possible everywhere in the world (I heard the the eggs are banned in the US).

It was a small neighborhood market with great selfmade stuff and promotion stands for cool projects. One day I got a nice gift from one of my neighbours - A GIGANTIC KINDER EGG!
It's huge!

I decided to make something special with it, to remind me of the wintertime and the time spend in crochet meditation and made this little happy snow owl.
34888914_10215878650228693_1654986809093914624_n.jpg
(thats the picture that inspired my design)

I don't have pictures of the process of making it , but its quite easy, crocheting around an eggshaped form in circles with adding ears, circular eyes and leafshaped wings.
Most important: Its made in two parts, because you can still open it! Perfect place for hiding my favourite sweets.

It's not something new I came up with this week, but it's something I am especially proud of so I hope you'll like it!
35098134_10215878760751456_5775184769058865152_n.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @bamboozled! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That is pretty cool! I never seen anyone do that before. And quite clever for hiding snacks. Now you have given me ideas so I can hide some sweet treats from the kids :D

Your owl is quite exquisite. It's so cute and looks so cuddly :p Good job!

What an adorable owl! I'm so glad you've entered the ULTIMATE CROCHET CONTEST.

SIGNATURE.png

ohhh this is so cute! I also want to learn how to make this too! Currently working on a pillow cover (cable stitch)

Nice! I still have a cable stitch on my project list, maybe a case for my laptop? It looks like knitted, doesn't it?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84