Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Rituals....)

in #contest5 years ago


Thanks to everyone who did a little introspection for last week's, I'm a monster Steem Basic Income Giveaway!

This week, I was inspired by a podcast again... I was listening to how people have routines and rituals and how they differ... and how we are affected by the changes in such things. Apparently, routine is something that you do each time you do something... there is an order to the items in the checklist... The difference between a routine and a ritual is the reaction when that particular order is disturbed. So, a list of actions is considered a ritual if it really bothers you or puts you out if the order is changed.

That said, I was thinking about all the things that I tend to do... where the actions have an order... like writing posts (template, title, tags then start writing!)... however, if that order is disturbed it doesn't bother me... it just makes it more likely that I will forget something and will have to come back and edit the post!

So, we all have a ritual in our lives... well, I think we all do! Where if we think about it, the order of things is pretty important to us... and if it is done out of order, then it bothers us (of course, how much it bothers you will vary from person to person!). Even the most rationally minded (or perhaps, more likely, the most rationally minded of us!), succumb to some sort of ritualistic behavior....

My Question

  1. What is a ritual in your life, something that would really bother you if you didn't do it, or if it was out of order? It can be a daily thing... or something that is specific to a rarer happening in your life....

My sample answer


Unsplash

So, when I was really young... I had the bedtime ritual... with the order of saying "Good Night" and "Sweet Dreams" to each person in the family in a particular order. If it was out of order, I would get pretty scared and wouldn't be able to sleep easily. Now, my kids (especially the toddler) have a similar bedtime routine, where there are things that must be done in a certain order... or they get quite upset! For the little one, it is a book, then getting her sleeping bag, then closing the door (a little bit, not too much), then climbing on the bed... counting to 10, then jumping off and falling into the sleeping bag... then lights out, then climbing into the bed.... I sometimes wonder if it is a ritual that is only for her and her parents (us)... and whether or not it makes any difference with the babysitters!

For myself, before I go on stage... I'm usually quite calm and relaxed... beforehand, I won't be the guy that is furiously practicing at the last minute... I'm the one in the corner, reading a book or playing a computer game... and at the last moment, I will grab my violin or whatever I need and then head straight on. However, just before I cross over the threshold, I always take a deep breath and tell myself that it is all going to go well!... not sure if that helps or not, but it is something that I do every time... and when I forget, then I find myself on stage with a slight nervousness that isn't quite under control until later!

I also have a bit of a morning ritual which my wife does like to tease me for... she thinks it is all in my mind, and a thing of habit... but it really bugs me if I don't do these things before leaving the house. The order needs to be, toilet (poop, I seem to have a reflex to do it first thing in the morning...), shower and then brush teeth... if these things are out of order, or missed (because I"m travelling early in the morning...)... then I really feel out of place for the whole day!

Rules

  1. Upvote is not required, but appreciated!
  2. Resteem is NOT necessary!
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!
  6. PLEASE PLEASE Don’t upvote your OWN comment. I can’t stop you doing it, but it seems to mess up the distribution of the Bounty for everyone else. If you upvote your own comment, I will consider it an invalid entry when doing the draw.

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 0.882 SBD and 0 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 3 shares.

The winners by random draw are:

@aussieninja

@emergehealthier

@sifondeseltz



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Sort:  

@bengy has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

I guess one ritual is doing my morning devotion when I wake up. Sometimes I wish I could do it even before stepping out to pee, but that seldom's happen. Waking up to pray is my ritual.

Interesting, it seems to be a nice way to begin the day. With a bit of focus and calm.

It's the best way I can think of

Posted using Partiko Android

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the next one (Left or...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleftor-vdnmm5f9a2

Ritual sounds like such a horrible, forced word for what I'm about to describe. Everyday, even though she meows in protest, I pick up my cat and embrace her.

Sometimes she struggles, other days she purrs, but every day; I remind myself of my, and the feline's eventual mortality. Through that, I extract a powerful bond from a bundle of fur.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, that is a lovely thing to do! I do the same with my kids... With pretty much similar reactions! Just without the fur...

If they're anything like me, they'll grow fur... or a beard that is basically fur...

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the next one (Left or...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleftor-vdnmm5f9a2

My ritual is showering at night before I go to sleep. I feel like i need to wash the day off of me so i can sleep lol. Showering in the morning isn't necessary for me but at night definitly is

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, I have the complete opposite! I like to shower in the morning so I feel fresh for the day!

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the next one (Left or...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleftor-vdnmm5f9a2

I don't think I'm doing anything that's looking like a ritual. Rather, I have routines which I always make sure to do at some specific time but it's never a thingy if I missed or get late in doing them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, you are lucky then! You won't get easily thrown off track!

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the next one (Left or...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleftor-vdnmm5f9a2

Alright, thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

@bengy, For me it's Dancing because if i will not dance then definitely that particular day feels like, something remained incomplete. Dance renews my energy and i am passionate towards it everyday. Stay blessed.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Dancing! That was an unexpected answer! Are you also a professional dancer, or is it something that you just find time for?

I will not call myself a professional dancer, but it's soulful activity for me because whenever i dance it's like my soul is dancing and it gives so much peace and power at the same time. Stay blessed.

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the next one (Left or...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleftor-vdnmm5f9a2

I have a bedtime ritual too but it doesn't affect me too much if it is disturbed 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, in that case I guess it more of a routine then!

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the next one (Left or...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleftor-vdnmm5f9a2

My ritual is also a bed ritual. I always have to use the toilet before I go to bed, even if I just have been... If I won't do that I am 100% sure I will not be able to sleep. It is something between my ears (like they say in Dutch), but for me a very important 'ritual :)

Lol, good to be in the safe side... No mess to clean up in the morning... Or worse still, getting out of a warm bed in the middle of winter...

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the next one (Left or...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleftor-vdnmm5f9a2

Well, a very important 'ritual' in my live is actually the action itself of doing something. I feel very bad wasting time and not being productive. That's also why I try to combine actions.
Some weird examples from my life: reading while using the toilet, watching youtube/anything while eating, reading infos from the food wrappings (we all do this I think), working out and in the short breaks between the sets, writing steemit articles.. and so on!

Cheers!

Hmmm! That is an interesting habit and ritual, always feeling productive and learning... Hopefully both! Hope you are also able to find calmness easily as well!

Yeah, that's not a problem for me. I might say my life is quite balanced.

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the next one (Left or...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleftor-vdnmm5f9a2

the ritual I like to do each day is to have 2 cups of warm water with a fresh lemon squeezed in it. I started this a few months ago and it just helps me feel like I'm ready for the day. The lemon helps clean the system and reduces some forms of cancer, while also giving you a vitamin C boost in getting you ready for the day.

Last week I ran out of lemons and couldn't do this. I felt really weird for those two days till I had time to make it to the store and get some more. lol.

I've heard of people drinking hot or warm water... But adding a squeeze of lemon sounds much more enticing! I've been trying to get a glass of water down when I wake up, too try and turn it into a habit... But the coffee gets in the way, then I forget the water...

The winners of this SBI Giveaway and the next one (Left or...) can be found here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steembasicincomegiveawayleftor-vdnmm5f9a2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08