500 Followers: Creative Writing CONTEST 10SBD in Prizes!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

creative-writing-500-contest-1280.png
Since I have gotten so much wonderful support with my writing and blogging, I wanted to celebrate gaining 500 followers by doing a writing contest.

I ALSO wanted to show some of my kids (plus one of my favorite pseudo kids) some support and use their artwork for the writing prompts now that some of them are actually on steemit (and figuring out how to work the platform a little more!)

Choose one of these pieces of artwork AND one of the writing prompts listed below. Write a short story based on your choice of art & prompt.

Art Prompts

(Choose ONE, CLICK ON THE PHOTO to go to the original Art Post):


Paris-art-clip4.png


@abyni

dots-400.png


Paris-art-clip3.png


@loliboofae

loliboofae-400.png


Paris-art-clip.png


@knightengale

knightengale-contest.png))

This photo links to a more current post of his, because this post is already past payout thanks to me getting way too sick to keep up with steemit/blogging and this contest in time! You can upvote the linked post as part of your entry instead. Thank you.


Paris-art-clip2.png


@ikaraboutyou

ikaraboutyou.png


Paris-art-clip2.png


Writing Prompts (Choose ONE):

  • You sat down to write, but the keyboard started moving on its own accord. Words were appearing on the screen before your eyes...
  • She read the note, folded it up and nudged it into the gutter with her foot.
  • You wake up and find yourself in an entirely different time period or universe.
  • Your very random and unique magic power.
  • You are the King in a fairy tale and your daughter is kidnapped. You are shocked by the unexpected hero who rescues her.

RULES:

  • Must use ONE of the provided piece of artwork as inspiration
  • AND Must include ONE of the provided writing prompts
  • Must be between 500-1,500 words.
  • Use #fivehundredcontest for one of the tags in your post.
  • Must UPVOTE this post AND the original artwork post from the artwork that you use as your prompt. (click the photo of the artwork to go to the original post)
  • Leave a positive comment on the original artwork post.
  • Leave the link to your entry in the comments of THIS POST

Appreciated but not required:

Prizes (judged on all around writing, creativity and imagination):

  • 5SBD First Prize
  • 3SBD Second Prize
  • 2SBD Third Prize
    To be judged by @serapium and myself. We will take opinions from the artists as well, in the event of a tie.

DEADLINE: March 13th

  • Make sure you upvote the posts before it's too late, but you can post a link to your entry through March 13th.

Paris-art-clip2.png

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Paris-art-clip2.png

byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Congratulations on 500 followers, @byn! I don't know if I will muster up an entry, but I like your style of contest!

Here is my entry!
https://steemit.com/fivehundredcontest/@wandrnrose7/the-message-500-followers-creative-writing-contest-10sbd-entry

Whoo! You're amazing. Thank you!!!

Thank you! The story wouldn't have surfaced without your unique prompts! They were challenging.

Thank you @byn for this cool contest!

There were many facets and rules but I think I got through them all.

Here is my official entry:

A Different Realm.

Respectfully submitted, @eaglespirit.

Thank you! :) I mostly just wanted to make sure that my artists got support and that I had a variety of things to read ;) I appreciate you and I'll go read your entry!

Yeah, it was a mighty byn maze for sure and hopefully you get what you set out to do. Great project and thank you for the challenge. Putting my dreamwalking into words was new for me! :)

Here is my official entry: The Witch Hunt.

It was really fun to write fiction! I really have to thank all the freewriters for the inspiration and support - I would not have had the motivation to write this if it weren't for the encouragement by all you amazing freewriters <3

Freewriting has reignited my love of writing like nothing else has done in decades! I'm glad you're finding it inspiring as well!

In itself it doesn't seem life-changing, but technically, it is a life-changing experience.

Awesome! Thank you so much! I'll go check it out. :)

Alright ma'am..
P. S. I kinda borrowed an idea from one of the facts/fiction of your "pick the one lie in ten contest" 😋

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #40. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

Thank you so much! I appreciate you!

You're welcome! It's a good contest.

Congratulations @byn for your 500 followers. Your contest is very interesting and I will definitely submit my entry!

Wow, this was a really fun and satisfying contest. It has been far too long since I just sat down and let the creative juices take complete control. I hope I did some small justice to the contest and to the amazing artwork I chose as an inspiration. Thank you @byn for this opportunity! Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/story/@papacrusher/her-eyes-my-fivehundredcontest-entry

Awesome! Thank you so much for participating! I will add this to my morning reading list and leave you a comment tomorrow!

Awesome! Thank you! I will add this to my reading list for the morning! I'm so happy you joined us!

Thanks and I hope the story is interesting and I feel like I want to write more about Asha. What do you think?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61