Tell A Story To Me, And Win 5 SBD! Writing Contest #5 - A 'Fair' Trial & Winners of #4

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Tell A Story To Me,
Oh The Endless Possibility,
Let Your Imagination Run Free
And Maybe Win Some SBD!


Welcome to Tell A Story To Me. I have another prompt for you, and considering how amazing the stories were last round, I can't wait! Thank you all so much!

The Winners #4

First Place


Well I have spent the entire weekend trying to make the final choice, and in the end, I am just going to have to call it a tie! I was so impressed with all the entries, it was very hard to get it down to even two. I really hope to see you all back in the next round!

@dirge with The Pathetic Life Of HyunSeop

I love the perspective this is written through, it is both entertaining and insightful, which to me is the ultimate in scifi!

@antimetica with How They Are Made In The Valley

There is so much detail to this world, and it all fits so naturally into the story. It is a very believable concept set in a world that doesn't seem too far away.

Author's Choice


Thank you so much to everyone who took the time to read the other entries and vote on their favourite. It was so interesting hearing which one you liked the best. Depending on how many entries we get this round, I may add an extra prize into the Author's Choice section.

@spalatino with Lady's Mercy Elementary

The Prizes

First Place - win 5SBD in every round

Second Place - this is triggered once we hit ten entries, and 1SBD and 1 @steembasicincome share

Third Place - this is triggered once we hit twenty entries and is either 1SBD or 1 @steembasicincome share

Stand Out Story - if I am still thinking about your story by the time the next contest goes up, you will win your choice of 1SBD or 1 @steembasicincome share

Author's Choice - I have a prize for Authors Choice so I am asking everyone who enters to vote for their favourite from the other entries - I will release a list of entries when the contest closes and will be asking for the votes there.


Round Five



Rules


1. One Entry Per Person
2. Prose, poetry, any form of fiction is accepted, as long as you tell me a story
3. Your entry must be written for this contest, and inspired by the prompt
4. Entries must be submitted by Midnight (BST) on Tuesday May 29th (9 days from now - then the winners will be announced about a week later)
5. Use #tellastorytome, you don't have to, but your stories are so good I feel like they deserve their own tag
6. One picture only please, additional images of text are fine, but I want you to tell me a story with words, so only one actual picture
7. First Place wins 5SBD more prizes up for grabs if we get enough entries
8. Upvote this post, and resteem (not doing so won't get your entry disqualified, but it is very much appreciated to help get the word out there, and more entries means more prizes)
9.I don’t really want to specify a length, so no min length, and aim for under 4,000 but if it goes a little over, don't worry
10. Post a link to your tale in the comments below

The Prompt


Your entry must be inspired by this prompt, I am not giving a sentence to include this time, but I am looking to hear the story of


Trial By App



I had a lot of fun reading the entries to the last round, and you all did such an amazing job with a slightly more controversial topic, I thought I would go for another.

I am looking for a science fiction/horror story set in a world where trials are conducted via an app, and anyone in the state/county/country etc can vote on the verdict.

We already live in a world where tv shows are sifting through old evidence and shedding light on potentially wrongful convictions, causing ordinary people to take to the internet and attempt to solve the crime themselves, even leading to the overturning of some convictions. I want to hear a story set in a world where trials are entirely public, the whole society gets the opportunity to tune in, hear both sides, and cast a vote. This doesn't have to be the main focus of the story, and can be more of the background, or it can be the driving force, the rest is up to you!


If you are looking for more ideas, some of the questions I am hoping to see answered are:
- Do most people chose to cast a vote?
- Does it affect crime?
- What is the rest of this society like?

I can't wait to see what you have for me this time, I appreciate this may not be the easiest one, but let's have a little fun, and imagine some of the possibilities.

Don't forget to include a link in the comments!

Sort:  

Thank you for your entry. Welcome back to the second part of round 5, the Authors Vote please head over and cast your vote for your favorite story from the other entries. Let me know why you chose it and you will be in with another chance of winning!

Thank you for your entry. Welcome back to the second part of round 5, the Authors Vote please head over and cast your vote for your favorite story from the other entries. Let me know why you chose it and you will be in with another chance of winning!

Thank you for your entry. Welcome back to the second part of round 5, the Authors Vote please head over and cast your vote for your favorite story from the other entries. Let me know why you chose it and you will be in with another chance of winning!

Thank you for your entry. Welcome back to the second part of round 5, the Authors Vote please head over and cast your vote for your favorite story from the other entries. Let me know why you chose it and you will be in with another chance of winning!

Thank you for your entry. Welcome back to the second part of round 5, the Authors Vote please head over and cast your vote for your favorite story from the other entries. Let me know why you chose it and you will be in with another chance of winning!

Thank you for your entry. Welcome back to the second part of round 5, the Authors Vote please head over and cast your vote for your favorite story from the other entries. Let me know why you chose it and you will be in with another chance of winning!

Thank you for your entry. Welcome back to the second part of round 5, the Authors Vote please head over and cast your vote for your favorite story from the other entries. Let me know why you chose it and you will be in with another chance of winning!

Thank you for your entry. Welcome back to the second part of round 5, the Authors Vote please head over and cast your vote for your favorite story from the other entries. Let me know why you chose it and you will be in with another chance of winning!

Here is the link to my story: https://steemit.com/tellastorytome/@riottales/the-jury-app

I had a lot of fun writing it! Really clever prompt.

Thank you for your entry. Welcome back to the second part of round 5, the Authors Vote please head over and cast your vote for your favorite story from the other entries. Let me know why you chose it and you will be in with another chance of winning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55