Tell A Story To Me, And Win 5 SBD! Writing Contest #6 - Thermal Apocalypse & Winners of #5

in #contest6 years ago

Tell A Story To Me,
Oh The Endless Possibility,
Let Your Imagination Run Free
And Maybe Win Some SBD!


Welcome to Tell A Story To Me. We kick off another round, and we had so many brilliant entries in the last round! Thank you all so much!

The Winners #4

First Place


Our winner of first place for this round has opted out of the prize pool, so I award a second prize for second place, and a further prizes 1.5SBD to split her prize between other contestants! A very gracious winner indeed!

@antimetica with Erin, Civil Baic

I love the depth of the world created here. There are some fantastically realistic details, the bumper jumper is pure brilliance, the levels of progression, both in society and in the app are wonderful. There is so much more, and it is so well written. This was a pleasure to read!

Second Place


Winning both 1 @steembasicincome share and 1SBD, two fantastic stories.

@riottales with The Jury App

I appreciate the choice of perspective taken here, as well as the immersive experience of the app. This well told story pulled me in and featured a very believable escalating abuse of power.

@smanuels with Coup de Grâce

This is another story told from an insightful perspective, with some great descriptions. I liked that the app here was both supernatural and possibly state sponsored.

Honourable Mentions


Thanks to @antimetica the three stories featured in honourable mentions have won 1.5SBD! We had so many great entries, thank you all so much, it has been such a joy to read all your wonderful tales <3

@sneikder with 360 Degrees of Freedom

@gaudisvalentina with Case Karl Forland

@seesladen with The Judge

Author's Choice


Thank you so much to everyone who took the time to read the other entries and vote on their favourite. I loved reading what each of you enjoyed about these stories, they all had their own merits and the wide spread votes really reflect that. That said, we do have a winner!

@gaudisvalentina with Case Karl Forland

Winning Voter

The winning voter for this round was @foxfiction

Anyone can win 1 @steembasicincome just by voting so even if you don't have chance to enter, you can head back for another chance to win!

The Prizes

First Place - win 5SBD in every round

Second Place - this is triggered once we hit ten entries, and 1SBD and 1 @steembasicincome share

Third Place - this is triggered once we hit twenty entries and is either 1SBD or 1 @steembasicincome share

Stand Out Story - if I am still thinking about your story by the time the next contest goes up, you will win your choice of 1SBD or 1 @steembasicincome share

Author's Choice & Voters Prize - I have a prize for Authors Choice so I am asking everyone who enters to vote for their favourite from the other entries - I will release a list of entries when the contest closes and will be asking for the votes there. One lucky vote will also win!


Round Five



Rules


1. One Entry Per Person
2. Prose, poetry, any form of fiction is accepted, as long as you tell me a story
3. Your entry must be written for this contest, and inspired by the prompt
4. Entries must be submitted by Midnight (BST) on Monday June 18th (11 days from now - we will back back during the following week with the voting round)
5. Use #tellastorytome, you don't have to, but your stories are so good I feel like they deserve their own tag
6. One picture only please, additional images of text are fine, but I want you to tell me a story with words, so only one actual picture
7. First Place wins 5SBD more prizes up for grabs if we get enough entries
8. Optional - Upvote this post, and resteem (not doing so won't get your entry disqualified, but it is very much appreciated to help get the word out there, and more entries means more prizes)
9.I don’t really want to specify how long it should be, so no min length, and aim for under 4,000 but if it goes a little over, don't worry
10. Post a link to your tale in the comments below

The Prompt


Your entry must be inspired by this prompt, I am not giving a sentence to include this time, but I am looking to hear the story of


A Thermal Apocalypse



I really enjoyed the blend of sci fi and horror I got to read in the last round, so we have another topic with plenty of scope for both.


I am looking for a science fiction/horror story set in either in the late stages of, or during a thermal apocalypse.

I want to hear the story of a world where earth has either got much hotter, or much colder. Why and how is totally up to you, although you don't have to explain either if you would prefer not too. This doesn't have to be the main focus of the story, and can be the setting in which your story plays out, or it can be the driving force, the rest is up to you!


If you are looking for more ideas, some of the questions I am hoping to see answered are:
- How are people surviving - did they use technology to adapt or find another way to evolve, or devolve...?
- What is life like for the people who are left?
- How has the planet changed?
- What animals have adapted and how?

I can't wait to see what you have for me this time, there is a lot of scope for imagination, I am so excited already!

Don't forget to include a link in the comments!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the kind words and support. I truly enjoyed everyone's entries. Such a great group of talented writers.
Looking forward to this next round the prompt is hot!

I'm honeslty speechless! You can't even imagine how grateful I am, I didn't expect this reception. Thank you so much!

Hello, congrats to everyone, and thanks to you

Mine....

https://steemit.com/fiction/@seesladen/death-by-degree

Hey @calluna, I think I will give it a try since a decent idea popped out from my mind.. when is the deadline for the submission?

Ooo I am excited!! Next Monday - June 18th at midnight, I say BST but it isn't like I will be checking til the morning for me anyway so I still accept things a little late - hopefully plenty of time :)

Thank you Cal, I'm really curious about your opinion :-)

Thank you for being so patient! We’re slowly catching up with our SP! Almost There!

Most recent user guide released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Great contest @calluna I will submit my entry shortly.

Prose, poetry, any form of fiction is accepted, as long as you tell me a story

So here is my entry. Thanks for the opportunity.

https://steemit.com/ulog/@paramimd/ulog-or-the-day-i-felt-most-alive

Thank you for your entry, and although I am happy to accept fiction in all of it's form, it does need to be on topic. If you would like to enter next round, I can let you know, and you are still very welcome to come back for part two of this round where you can win by telling me which story you liked best. Let me know if you would like to be notified for either of these :)

Hello Calluna, my entry for your consideration.
https://steemit.com/story/@whitelite/apocalypse-earth-burning

Wishing You - Love, Light and Peace
@whitelite

Thank you very much for the entry! You are invited back to vote for your favorite entry in Author's Choice, as well as getting another chance to win just by voting. Check out all the entries and cast your vote here.

Thank you very much and hope to see you in the next round!

Thank you Calluna, I will be back shortly to do the honours.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48