🦃Thanksgiving Limericks🦃

in #contest6 years ago

thanksgiving limerick cover carrie.png

Greetings, Steemians!

Thanksgiving is just around the corner (for us folks in the U.S.A. 😍).

It's a weird time for many nowadays, but I like to think of it as merely a prompt to be more aware of what we are thankful for. I really love spending the day just thanking everything: my husband, our fur buddies, the trees, the wind (I love the wind- most days 😏), the bugs, the bad days and the good and now STEEMIT! 😍
It's nice to have a reminder to do this, even though we really should strive to do it daily and often. 😍

This week @lymmerik's Lymmerik's Limerick Contest is Thanksgiving themed. 🦃 Yay! It doesn't end until Friday midnight Arizona time (so get to it!).

Truth be told, I've spent the last several days just thinking about Thanksgiving. It's been quite lovely, as I've only thought of the happiest times. 😆 Most of my limericks were coming out on the side of sappy... and that's not in the spirit of a limerick!

I decided to just rhyme with turkey.

Below is the work of art that came of that, and my OFFICIAL ENTRY into the contest:

TURKEY DAY

Approachith the day of the Turkey
My demeanor is growing more perky
Miraculous food
enjoyed in the nude
I'm nothing if not a bit quirky!

Full disclosure: This is NOT a memory! 😂

Then I switched gears again thinking of funny Thanksgiving day moments... and BAM! Another gem.
I think we can all relate or have witnessed the happenings below. 😁

RELAXED

Overly full he sits with a slouch
with pants unfasted upon the couch.
His eyes start to droop,
His limbs they did sloop
'til he fell on the floor with an, "OUCH!"


that's all folks art.jpg


Bored? Want something to do? Check out my current contest 🐶MAN BITES DOG🐶- ✍️Writing Prompt Contest✍️. It's easy to enter, fun to participate and you might just win some SBD!


New here? Wanna know a Steemit Secret? Check out The Secret to Earning Followers by @chrisroberts. He just may be on to something... 😎


Need help formatting your posts? Check out this great (if I do say so myself) tutorial:

Are you stealing Google images?! Learn how to do it LEGALLY:


If you find yourself needing help or just have a question or two, find me on Steemit.chat or Discord.😀


All images were taken from the OP (original poster), created/taken by me, or from Bitmoji.com. Make your own today!


As always, thanks for stopping by!

Carrie out.

Hugs & Kisses 💋carrie signature.gif

carrieallen signature 3.png

Sort:  

Hi there, @carrieallen Great post. Love the Turkey Day one. We are from The Curator. (A post style magazine on Steemit) We do curating for informative, creative, entertaining, yet undervalued posts. We love your fantastic post. And we feel that it is undervalued. We would like to share it in our magazine. But first, we would like to ask for your permission to add your post to our next issue, With a picture from your post. That we will use as a thumbnail, We will share a portion of the post gifts. With the posts that we share in the upcoming issue. If you agree to this. Please let us know below this comment. At your earliest convenience.
Thank you. PostHuntress, @the-curator
And keep on Steeming your eclectic and quirky posts.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

That’s a couple of fun limericks
I remembered reading this in school I used to be good writing limericks wonder when I stopped hmm pondering 🤔

Start again! They are great to get your brain moving! Plus, full disclosure, I use https://www.rhymezone.com/ to help me out.

You should pop over to the contest and read others. People that have been participating are getting so much better. They are really fun to read. However, my hubs will probably maintain his status as "King of the Limericks". They literally just fall out of him! 😆

I will try and check them out sometime, the start of Steemusa has been hectic and I am running behind but hope to catch up this weekend

There once was turkey stuffed with jam and jellies
the meat was sweet and filled all our bellies
and then came some pies
apple, cherry & key lime
then we were some true stuffed norny nellies

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 96.0% @cryptomancer upgoat, thanks to @carrieallen
It consists of $3.37 vote and $1.12 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carrieallen to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hahaha this is great! We don't have thanksgiving but I like the concept of it and my family and I make sure to thank for our blessings including good food whenever we sit to eat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59