And then I put down the scalpel

in #contest6 years ago

After school I learned to be a nurse. Also has gone to work all over again in an out-patient department.I had to go to home visits and take blood for tests. And the veins were awful! Sometimes I could not get into them even after 10 attempts.

Then I went to work in traumatology hospital. I had to watch at night, to communicate with drunken people who broke their arms or legs, and now were rude to the doctors. I was paid for it so little that I barely had enough to eat.

But for the time being I was patient, I was sorry for three years of study. But one night in the emergency room came an elderly lady, who had to pull out a tick. And she began to scold me for not smiling at her!

I was tired from the fatigue, and tried to tell her that my job was to help her, and not to smile. But she continued to scold me. And then I realized that I would not become a doctor any more.

I do not want to work for a penny a day and instead of gratitude to receive such notations.

And when I left work that was taking up all the time, I was able to finish my university and get a job in a newspaper.

Terms of the contest here: https://steemit.com/competiton/@wolfje/march-competiton-10-sbd-s-up-for-grabs

Sort:  

Sad story, I hope you live your dream now! Are you happy at the newspaper?

Yes, I have been working as a journalist for more than ten years, and I am very pleased.

But earlier I dreamed of becoming a medic. It is a pity that this work is still poorly paid for, and people treat doctors as free servants.

I'm sorry to hear that. My wife is a journalist as well. She worked for 9 years as an online editor for the national TV until last year. Now she works in a consumer program where they test products and respond to complaints from the audience and then take that to the people/company that they complain about for reactions. She likes that more than the news.

Yes, there are a lot of interesting programs on television, and the news appears on the Internet faster.

And even the newspaper does not keep up with the news :)

In most cases nursing is a noble profession and they are considered as life saver. Nursing in your country is about showing care, i can deduce that from your post. Reverse is the case here where you said a patient scolded you. In my own location, it is the nurses that scold patient, its the patient that wish the nurse smile at him.

I wish you the very best in your new job, please keep the good work up.

No, I did not scold anyone. But I did not have the strength to smile when I did not sleep at night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61