You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Get Paid to Rant #7! All Rants Win! Plus 5 SBD Grand Prize

in #contest6 years ago

So Dave & Buster's (a big arcade/restaurant/bar chain in the U.S.) recently sent me an e-mail asking me to take a survey to look at one of their proposed new concepts. The concept: a food truck in the middle of the arcade.

Hmm... there's a crowded arcade with games that are behind on their maintenance (malfunctioning parts, usually buttons or pads), little kids running wild, and the best idea the folks at corporate HQ could come up with was to add a food truck to the middle of all this to try to increase F&B revenue? And indoors at that as well?

There's just so much wrong with the idea...

  • I don't go to an arcade to eat, and I don't think there are too many arcade-goers who do either. There's a reason why the arcade and dining areas are separate. If I wanted to eat I'd just head over to the restaurant section.

  • Food truck in the middle of the arcade means more food crumbs and debris scattered over the machines and the floor, more spilled liquids, and a messier place overall. That means higher costs (in time and money) to maintain the place. Are those costs going to then get passed down to the arcade players in the form of more expensive games? No thanks.

  • What's the over/under on how long until a negligent parent files a lawsuit because their unsupervised little jerk ran around like crazy and rammed into the food truck headfirst?

I could keep on going but I don't want to wear myself out. The idea of a food truck in the middle of the arcade certainly doesn't get any thumbs up from me, and I think offering two thumbs down is still being too generous. Nope, my rating for this "concept" is...

two middle fingers up!

(And what the hell were the concept's creators smoking at the time they thought of this horrendous idea?)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69149.45
ETH 3824.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50