You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Make A Difference Contest • Round #8

in #contest6 years ago

As the saying goes--Let another person praise you, and not your own mouth; a stranger, and not your own lips.
But exceptions are always there.And here is that exceptional time to praise yourself.
God has bestowed every human being with numerous characteristics. the best characteristics of my trait being Helping Nature.
i think it's not a good practice to do a good deed and then let other people know it. Butt as the topic of today's contest demands to share one's good deed. So let me share with you a real life story which according to me does not hold a place in a list of top good deeds in my life.


About a year ago I was coming back to my hostel via public transport bus. in bus I heard a person sitting behind me talking to his parents on phone and his parents were asking him where he is going to stay as it is getting too late to get accomodation in the hotel nearby. His reply was let me see where God will take me and it moved me immedately. I realised that the person was in need and he needed some place to stay. As the time passed by his phone was ringing frequently. By the time we reached destination the chances of getting accomodation were negligible.

At that point I asked him where are you going to stay? He told me that he was going to stay in a temple nearby.
it was the month of July and there was scorching heat. I realised that this man is going to get heat stroke.
so I told him that he was going to stay with me. He started gazing at my face and immediately responded, No.
I asked, why?
I knew the reason was that we were strangers and we are living in a terrorist hit state, where no body would want to stay with an unknown person.Had i been in the same situation , my response too would have been the same.
As i insisted, he begin questioning.
Where are we going to stay?
I knew this was not the last questiin.
To Cut short the conversation and to avoid the barrage of questions, I showed him my identity card.He was convinced and agreed to stay with me.

I took him to my hostel and we had some snacks because it was too late and hostel mess was closed and then we had an oppurtunity to know each other.

I did my best to serve him and it is perhaps the result of that service, that we are now friends.
Although we never met thereafter but we talk to each other on phone whenever possible.

In my friend list, I have three friends which I met this way.
I had made helping others the fundamental principle of my life. A day passed withoit helping someome is a day wasted in gambling.

Sort:  

Hi @drqamranbashir. Thank you for sharing your story. ☺️ This is the first entry for Make a Difference Round #8. I was kinda sad because its been 3days and no one has submitted their stories yet, but.. here you are. Yaaay! 🤗

It was so nice of you to offer a stranger some place to stay. And now this person has become your friend. I have met people while I'm travelling, and they have become one of my closest friends until now.

I'm really happy to meet people like you here in Steemit. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71249.51
ETH 3815.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41