Show Us Your Witnesses Contest #1: A Concept To Drive Up Witness Voting Engagement Among Steemains (20 Steem Prize Pool; 4 Possible Winners!)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys! Welcome to the first episode of Show Us Your Witnesses Contest #1 being hosted by myself, @eurogee.

Since this is the maiden episode of this contest, it important I shed light on the rationale behind this contest, its goals or what I intend to achieve with it, before stating the rules of the contest.

IMG-20180127-WA0046.jpg

The reason for this contest

The main reason behind this contest primarily is to create awareness on who witnesses are, their duties and to significantly help step up the community's witness voting engagement.

The goals of this contest

According to a report by @lukestokes some weeks ago, only 25.97% of active accounts are currently voting for witnesses. This is a far cry when you consider the significant roles witnesses play in sustaining steem blockchain. Because of this, within the duration this contest will run, I have the target of achieving the following goals:

  • Addition of at least 50,000 new witness votes to witness voters' record/register, within six months.

  • Taking the current 25.97% witness voting engagement rate to at least 70% in the long run. For this reason, I will be monitoring @lukestokes' monthly update as to what the witness voting engagement rate is.

NB: In case you don't know what a witness means, click here

The Contest

I will be as neutral as possible. That's why the contest is called SHOW ME YOUR WITNESSES CONTEST #1. So I won't tell you whom to vote for as the aim of this contest is not to canvass votes for particular witnesses but to help step up the entire witness voting engagement. But I will tell you how to vote and how to submit your entry, as well as those you must not vote as they are currently inactive. Okay.

How to vote for witnesses

  • Before you go voting, click this: https://steemian.info/witnesses. Take note of all the witnesses. Those in red colour have been struckthrough. This shows that they are inactive for now. So they should not be among witnesses you will choose. This is only valid for now.

  • Click this link, in the page that opens, you will see a list of top 50 witnesses. If your choice witnesses are among the 50, click on the corresponding upvote icon to vote. If they are not among the top 50, scroll down and you will see a box similar to the below image. Type in the name of your choice witness and vote.

  • Voting by proxy is not allowed in this contest, so forget the second box.

The rule of the contest & how to submit your entry

  • You must RESTEEM this contest to reach wider audience.

  • You must vote for the maximum allowed 30 witnesses.

  • Visit https://steemd.com/@urusername (substitute @urusername with your Steemit username). Scroll down and you will see the all the list of all the witnesses you voted for. Screenshot/snapshot it.

  • In not more than 60 words, state the roles witnesses play in sustaining steem blockchain as a reply comment to this contest article; and upload the screenshot/snapshot of your chosen witnesses under your comment.

  • Invite your friends to come and upvote your comment as well as compulsorily RESTEEM this post.

  • All your chosen witnesses must be active at the time of choosing them.

  • Voting proxies attract outright disqualification.

  • This contest will come to an end at exactly 3:00 pm +1 GMT Friday, February 2nd, 2018. Result will be announced on Sunday being February 4th, 2018. And the cycles continues...


Source

Factors that determine who wins

Because of the importance of this contest to steem blockchain, the following parameters shall be used to judge those that would emerges winner:

  • Numbers of RESTEEMS generated by the contestants and their voters.

  • Contestants' understanding of roles of witness to steem blockchain. And

  • The number of upvotes, generated by each entry.

Prizes

First Prize: 8 Steem

Second Prize: 6 Steem

Third Prize: 4 Steem

Fourth Prize: 2 Steem

The Judges

The judges for this contest include @ogoowinner, @destinysaid, @eurogee and @smyle.

Ways you can support this initiative

I seek your support to increase the number of winners' to 10 possible winners in the future. If achieved, this will deliver at least 300 witness votes weekly and1200 witness votes monthly. This is the least achievable number.

You can support this initiative by:

  • Including @eurogee in your auto voting list.

  • Resteeming of this contest post

  • Donating steem/SBD to @eurogee with memo: Show Us Your Witnesses Contest

  • Always upvoting this contest posts.

Witnesses are the pillar, the corner stone of Steem blockchain. Without them, no transaction will ever be validated and the security of steem blockchain will be highly compromised. Support us to sustain this initiative. Thanks for visiting

Follow @eurogee, the Steemivangelist and the founder of @euronation Newbie's Support Team; follow @euronation

Newbie's Corner

Don't give up. Success is within reach only if you persevere

Starting out in any endeavor in life is always not easy. And so expecting otherwise is therefore an indirect expression of unreadiness in pursuit of any worthwhile goals. This has been the core definition of my person. So in any endeavor I find myself, I usually stayed back even when everyone has left to see if there would ever be a chance for success. Only when all indicators turn red that I would throw in the towel. I am grateful to God that I didn't give up in the face of initial challenges.

Are you finding it difficult to succeed here?

Maybe you are old or new here but you have been finding it difficult to make any headway. Is success what you crave for? Do you want to be taught about utopian.io opportunity and other worthwhile curation opportunities with special tags? Do you want to join a team with one spirit where the success of members is among the chief goals of its leadership? If that's your situation and you're ready to vote and be voted for, ready to be suspended or banned when you violate our rules, then use the below link to join Euronation Steemians Telegram Group...

https://t.me/joinchat/HsUnkBJ083m0R6xIp4iA-A

Don't Exit Without Voting For Witnesses!

No Witnesses = No Steem Blockchain; If You Truly Love Here, Vote For Witnesses NOW!

Click This Link To Vote Now

Witnesses are equivalent to life and blood of steem blockchain. Without them, the blockchain will seize to function and we will all be stranded here. Click here to read more on why it is important to vote for witnesses


dsd.jpg

follow_eurogee.gif

Sort:  

I'm glad that you are doing this campaign, @eurogee. Since last year, I conceived the know your witnesses channel in @redfishpillar discord. Academic, location and other challenges are really keeping me from executing lots of things, which I envision.
New Steemians especially, not excluding veterans will benefit a lot from this witness campaign of yours. Keep the flag flying!

@maryfavour, founder of @redfishpillar project & initiator of @steem-serbia.

Hello @maryfavour,

Wow, it is great of you to have thought of supporting witnesses.

Since last year, I conceived the know your witnesses channel in @redfishpillar discord.

Since ever I learnt about crucial roles of witnesses, I have been doing a lot in line with @lukestokes monthly witness voting engagement report.

Thanks ma'am. Please be dedicated to your academics for now.

Thanks for supporting this post

@eurogee, the Steemivangelist and the founder of @euronation Newbie's Support Team

Allow me to put something to you, as a small fish, I have voted for witnesses also joined discord, every time you try to ask any witness why steemit is down for over 8 hours a day or more today, even though I have almost 80sp, they either ignore you, or say do you think a 30 reputation deserves the same amount of traffic time as a 70? without explaining why, while you have not posted a single comment, or made a single post or even logged in, you are effectively locked out of the site? not even able to claim rewards to the wallet. What benefit is it voting for people, that do not even want to tell you what is going on and why? some transparency would be nice, some engagement even more so. or am I asking for to much, it seems so.

Then you haven't asked the right witnesses, as most of the "good" ones would explain that, though we get 10000 questions a day from random strangers, and we arent google OR responsible for the things you mentioned asking about even a little bit.

So a witness has no control over code or bandwidth then? excuse me if my question seems a bit silly. I can not find the answer anywhere to it. And have friends with over 600sp that get locked out for 8 hours a day. All I want to know, is at what sp does the site become stable? Thank you for your time. In advance.

I personally have never experienced any of the issues but I had heard people say it.

is at what sp does the site become stable?

I guess you should reach out to @netuoso to clarify this. But I however doubt if there is an answer to his question.

@eurogee

Hi maryfavour... Hope you ll be fine.I am new here at steemit .Will you please elaborate this contest for me? It ll definitely help also and a lot of others too. thanks..Have a good day!

The role of Witnesses in blockchain cannot be over-emphasized. They handle the servers and are experts in cryptocurrency. They are the ones setting
mimimum SP deposits for account creation. They also validate signatures and timestamp transactions by including them in block.Witnesses feed the community on the current price of steem tokens.
They help in curation of steemians post

This contest is unique in many dimensions. Kudos to its initiator.

Thanks bro

On point. Well-done

Resteeming for you Adoore-eu ;) You've been a long time supporter of my witness and projects and a good friend who checks up on me. Thank you. Resteeming. Good luck here.

Thanks, @sircork you were among the early friends I made on steemit and I appreciate you for always being there sir.Thanks

Nwene I wish you luck.

Ndooh, Nnem

All the best my paddi

Great contest and I'm sure my washy steemit inlaw @adoore-eu is bringing home the price resteeming for you, the initiator of this is also a great mind in the midst of great people ride on sir.

Hahahaha, royal inlaw @royaltiesboss-eu. You are the only inlaw I know. Your wife is preserved and waiting for you. Am not washy, hahaha

Wishing you all the best

I appreciate

I sincerely wish you all the best. You deserve it. You have my full support and vote.

Welll said. You are always on point

Bring the prize in dear

I love the uniqueness of these contest

Thanks for participating. Your entry has been noted.

@eurogee, the Steemivangelist and the founder of @euronation Newbie's Support Team

@adoore-eu, thanks for explaining the role of witnesses in blockchain especially to novice like me...will go and vote for them now, i don't really know you that much but i must say you deserve the prize...All the best dear.

This is a good contest and a rare one i must say!

I believe this will send a positive message to steemians that they need to encourage those behind the steemit platform with their votes instead of just blogging. Without these witnesses, it will be impossible to steem!

This is a welcome idea if you ask me. Thanks.

Thanks boss

This is a great initiative to bring awareness to Steemians the role of witness in the ecosystem as newbies and some old timers do not know the pivotal role they play. I do hope @euronation becomes a community driven witness soon under your leadership.

Hahahahahsh. Nothing is impossible.

Witness basically perform the following function:

  • Indicate or produce price feed
  • Normally come to a consensus on when a hard fork takes place
  • They are the major producers of blocks.

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-29 at 16.39.39.jpeg

Your entry has been noted. Thanks

I wont be surprised if you become a witness soon. U have what it takes. Especially the zeal to work

Thank you my brother

This is good contest.. resteemed for more contestants !..

I've never engaged in any of these contests on steemit.

Contest like this is really nice, I'll love to try it and know how far I'll go

you should try and have fun...

Great decision

I am really glad that, to know about this contest. i really like it. recently i setup my witness server but i'm very confused why any other witness didn't vote me and why i didn't get any blocks in my seed?

Sorry for your experience. I guess is only when any of the first 20 witnesses misses a block that it will be thrown to others to create.

This is cool. I had voted witnesses long ago, maybe I'll need do refresh now. Brb

Do try. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67