CAKE BAKERS/CONTEST/COMPETITION SKILLS

in #contest6 years ago

IMG_20180206_170413.jpg
I want to tell you guys a story that really touched me. I was there to experience everything firsthand. OK let me start from the top.
my sister the fantastic, most skilled and passionate baker I have ever seen ventured into a competition. THE CAKE EDUCATION COMPETITION. Before this wonderful opportunity came up there has been series of opportunity's but non favored her...its either its a week to exam or no money or the space is up.. I always feel sad seeing her feel sad about loosing an opportunity.
Then cake education yearly competition came up. She lit up with joy and excitement... but where is the money?? nowhere to be found. at that point in our life there was no income, no were to borrow. wit d last money she had she secured a space. N10000. 40000 yet to be gotten that could cover all her expenses including transport from Lafia to port Harcourt . we lost hope when money was not forth coming. she eventually pulled out of the competition then someone took up the space. She was so sad. same with me too. we got home told my dad all about it then he decided to keep some family things pending including our feeding for that week.
She called the woman In charge to know if she can re enter...lo and behold one person pulled out of the competition. The last contestant out of 10. There task was to produce Disney villains. She practiced long and hard
photo.
on the D day I was there all through. though I wasn't allowed inside because I did not and could not pay for their gate fee (5000)
but sum how b4 the competition started I got in. I heard some little sound of mockery from 3 different people to my sister why because,

  1. She brought a tile broom and Parker to sweep
    her work space after she is done

  2. She uses tape to measure her fondant after rolling.
    I looked at her and told her to just concentrate on her work and don't mind them.
    she started.. molded the crown,the cape, the tie. as she was doing that most persons were already done covering their 2 cakes.
    I got scared that she might not finish on time. At some point I signaled her to calm down but hurry up, I also did a sign of prayer so she can shake of the nervousness. Then they finished. Their work was inspected including how neat their work space is.
    These are some of other peoples work

IMG_20180206_180559.jpgIMG_20180206_180533.jpg
IMG_20180206_180646.jpg
At the end she came out 1STposition.... even she could not believe it. but I did. why because I watched the ten of them , I heard people talk, I heard the judges speak. at the end I took some VERY vital lessons home which I want to share with you guys
TIPS

  1. Always follow the rules of the game

  2. Make sure your work space is as neat as
    possible

  3. For bakers never forget the back of the cake. yes concentration lies more in the front but never forget the back

  4. Make sure you have a pictorial view of what you want to do if possible practice with time. let the first things come first no matter what.

  5. Packaging...very important. what makes your work different from others or look seemingly better is in the way you package your work.
    No1 else had d 2nd lights that lit up my sisters work. it brought out the beauty of the work.
    IMG_20180206_170437.jpg

  6. Be focused and confident in yourself.

  7. Make sure you are having fun...show that to the judges.

  8. Never forget prayer. if its yours then its yours.
    The grand price was a 10 liter industrial cake, mixer worth over N170000 and a master class with dripples cake worth N200000.
    IMG_20180206_184508.jpg
    What a joy. We could not contain it...she started crying, something she has yearned for all her baking years.
    That was not all.... she also worn gift for coming from Lafia...and another one...lucky deep.
    IMG_20180206_182134.jpg
    What a joy
    All our thanks goes to Jehovah.
    He alone is the Rewarder of all those
    earnestly seeking him.
    I don't know how to upload video yet. Could have shared with you guys.
    IMG_20180206_165304.jpgIMG_20180206_184652.jpg
    STAND UP FOR THE CHAMPION

Sort:  

Beautiful post dear friend @faves

Tnx dearie

Wow i love dis

Good job mate

Nice one. So touching

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75