Sort:  

Hooooray @fractalobserver! Curious to see, don't forget to past your link here, or you can write your entry as a comment.
Thanks for your interest mate.

This is one of my favorite quotes because it totally captures the futile nature of the mind and on a more fundamental level desire. No idea is greater than the experience of life happening before you right now. I chose the Parthenon as a background because in many ways the Greek culture was the peak of human spirit and intellect, now dead and decaying. Everything passes on. It's the fundamental nature of the universe that there is no closure as Terence Mckenna would say. The Greeks were dominated by the Romans. The Romans went on to imitate all of their art. All true artists carrying the Greek spirit were killed or exiled. In many ways it seems we live in a culture empowered and enlightened by the broken remnants of Greece, and this soulful creative force that lives on inside us is dominated by Roman imperialism, and it seems this struggle is taking place in every person existing in the modern world.
Also, do you think renaissance art is overexposed? It was earth shattering for its time, and now it seems all the art history majors have been latching onto the nipples of their superiors over generations for far too long. Yeah it's cool, but there's plenty of modern art that's just as good. I feel like the love for renaissance art is more a need for pathological experts to gizz their refined and elegant taste all over people. But that's just me, renaissance art is good, I just don't think it's the best thing that ever existed.

Also I'm gonna post this on my blog too hope that's not weird lol

Amazing @fractalobserver! I haven't read this book and when I read the quote I was completely lost trying to find a meaning. So, I went on a search.

I've found that this part of the story means the character receiving a watch and that it talks about the time; the only thing we can not stop, unfortunately.

The way I see it, is from a traveler perspective. All that our nomadic mind wants is time, I see it a lot in my generation - people complaining that time seems to be running faster with all the information flowing at the speed of light in front of our eyes.
In fact, when I travel, I'm not looking for more time, I'm in trying to forget about it... just let the flow of life guide me.
We can't have more time... but we can indeed chose how we spend it.

I hope I haven't messed the quote with my vision hahaha

Thanks a bunch for your entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69414.15
ETH 3691.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.39