Freewrite House Favorites from Your Recommendations - Week 10/08/2019

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

UPDATED by @carolkean at (almost!) midnight Friday!

~ Freewrite House Favorites from Your Recommendations ~

Week 10/08/2019 - Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Click on the photos to read the blog posts

Remember if a post is older than 6 days, try to find something more recent to upvote so they can get the rewards. Thank you so much for your support!

FWH-faves.png

And now come the new Friday...

.... Favorites!

Beginning with one of our most reliable nominators,

@iamraincrystal

There went another week! I can't believe how time flies by too fast. Here are the posts I enjoyed reading this week:

from @wonderwop

Being a pet owner myself, I could totally relate to his story of his clingy white cat. I think the same thing happened to ours when we were gone for an overnight vacation.

from @othello.cirrivu

I was once new to #freewrite and got a warm welcome. I take this opportunity to pay it forward. Plus, I enjoyed reading this.

from @felt.buzz

I think this one is an awesome read!

Until next week! ^_^

FWH-faves.png

@chireerocks

@freewritehouse, Kindly find the below Freewrite piece for your reference which is shared by @improv.

In my opinion a Father is base for the path of his children. And whatever lifestyle he will going to live their children will going to pursue that. In this blog @improv described his father's lifestyle and it's a motivation for sure.
Keep up the awesome work team and stay blessed.

FWH-faves.png

@marblely

I like this one from @mr-neil's this week to the prompt: white collar:



I thought his freewrite was witty and spontaneous as it was written as a conversation piece between an employee and a line manager. The freewrite was refreshing to read and sadly depicts pretty much how it is like in the real world. His unintentional humor made me laugh too :D

FWH-faves.png

@wonderwop

I went to visit @wakeupkitty's #freewrite on yesterday's prompt: trolley day


because she had a photo of a trolley and wanted to know if ours in San Antonio was the same. So I went to the VIA website and snatched a photo of our trolley that cruises around downtown San Antonio. Her Freewrite had find memories of riding the trolley when young. I liked it.

FWH-faves.png

@wakeupkitty

Here it is. A rising star if it comes to writing in English @felixgarciap.


He always knows to surprise me with his writing (and gives you something to think about).
No, it is not the first part I recommend to you but the follow up where the prompt "dachshund" is used.
Mary is on her way back home. It became later as expected due to overwork. She decided to do that more often. It was quiet in the trolley and who knows she might meet the love of her life?
Back home, as she opens the front door someone is waiting for her and very happy to see her again.

Enjoy this good freewrite.

FWH-faves.png

@fitinfun

I am finding my freewrite favs for this week in the "Trolley Day" prompt.
@felt.buzz

A character in the post by @felt.buzz asks:
"What the hell is Trolley Day?"
No one but @mariannewest knows, Bruce. He avoided the issue by turning the prompt into a person for his continually interesting and ongoing tale. Very creative!


@zeldacroft

takes this in another direction, with a great story of serving treats on a train. I really like this well developed fantasy with the trolley being a subject I had not thought of. Good photo find too for the theme.


@myjob

gives us more of her fascinating fishing history with pics from the past and lots of details. We get to see a big fish she caught and hurricane damage this time.



There were even more good posts for this prompt, but I am stopping at three.

FWH-faves.png

Curie! Who earned @curie's attention this week?

First....

Do these freewrites take longer than 5 minutes to draft, edit, and polish? I hope so! Most of the best freewrites and Friday Favorites took more than a few minutes to compose. It's a given, right? The prompt, the timer, the imperative to write-write-write nonstop for five minutes: that's only stage one! (Those of you who do great things in that short time, we admire you. And I want to kidnap your muse and put her to work for me.)

@tristancarax

I (@carolkean here) am in awe of the sheer poetry and power of this essay inspired by #witchburnings and #holocausts.


How would I paint a long blond hair that is being consumed by fire?
I would grab the sun with the palms of my hands and bounce it on paper.
How would I paint the screams that come along with the blond hair?
There would be a million banshees next to my eardrum.
How would I paint the smell that accompanies the burning hair?


There's more, lots more, but that's just a teaser.
I would paint it, the one thing that is never brought to the forefront of men's minds, the one thing men refuse to...


Ha! You didn't really think I'd tell you. Click on that link to find out how @tristancarax would paint that burning hair.


@vida-blanca


Oh, the memories this brings back, and the smiles inspired by this fresh new peek into several POVs!

Some of the students simply looked at the composition notebook as if they had to perform surgery without any kind of experience, they were stressed....
Joshue … aware that literature was not one of his virtues, however at his young age he enjoyed everything related to mathematics, so in the end he decided to write ….
Charlie ... immersed in his own fantasy world, while occasionally chewing his pencil.
Alicia ...
Samuel ...
Mrs. Mowry got up from her seat and began to observe the work of her students, slowly strolling through the rows of school desks, most of the stories had illustrations, drawings that were very colourful and full of grace.
Leonel ….
One of them (not telling you who!)
… wrote so lightly, like a leaf in the breeze, his fascinating mind gave free rein to his imagination, and his little hand wrapped around his bitten pencil wrote with emotion, as if living a great dream.

#loveit!!

FWH-faves.png

#Hashtags matter!


Y'all know that, I know, but some newbies may not. Even some of us veterans may have missed the latest on #oc versus #ocd (no, that one is not for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, which, yes, @carolkean manifests daily).

#original-content is a hashtag that alerts @curie to new posts.

There used to be a bot Steemians summoned to ward off cheetah-bot's "original content" disclaimers, but I don't have time to go hunt down what it was. Or still is, for all I know.

If you investigate #oc and #ocd (Operation Curie Delegation), you may also

Visit becquerel.io to see a record of the most recent posts upvoted through Curie curator/reviewer operations and leave thoughtful comments on them for your chance to win!

@theluvbug #theluvbug

is another hashtag to watch for (and to use in your own posts, when appropriate). @jaynie is the FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES and founder of TheLuvBug, investing time and energy, resteems and upvotes, in this intiative.


@owasco's #we-write got resteemed by @theluvbug:


Grandma's magic color pencils really elevate this prompt, Week 9: The Classroom, to a new level fantastic and fun.

"It's my first ever attempt at magical realism," @owasco explains, "which I found very hard to do, but here is what I came up with. I tried for fairy tale-ish too. It also seems to be another of the only kind of story I can write these days, stories that beg to be continued but never are."

Please, please continue them if only the universe will grant you a few extra minutes each day!

Click on the image below to get to the latest #theluvbug post:

#TheLuvBug was launched in March 2018 and has been doing its utmost to support the really hard workers here on the Steemit platform by upvoting and resteeming their content. It would be AMAZING if we were able to support more people, more often - and with your help, we can do that!

#powerhousecreatives #share2steem #theluvbug #blog #writing #steem #life #steemit #blockchain #crypto #cryptocurrency #cryptonews #steemitbloggers #love

FWH-faves.png


Happy Friday from @carolkean!


Thank you for nominating,

everyone, and thank you for reading, upvoting, resteeming, and social media sharing!

If you're new to @Freewritehouse,

check out this introductory post from way back when:

Finding a Freewrite

If you are not familiar with the daily freewrite prompt and the many wonderful writers who produce the most amazing 5-minute (or sometimes much longer) Freewrites, go to @mariannewest and look for the prompt. The graphics look like this

In the comments, you find lots of links to all kind of freewrites.

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest


Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House
Regular Features
Freewrite House Adoptee of the Week
Steemzuela Ventest - Stories of Venezuela
Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
We-Write and win SBI -coming back in the middle of June
Freewrite Favorites
The Freewritehouse Literary Talent Award - English, German & Spanish - monthly with reminders.
Beta Reader Group -ongoing
Author Reading
Make a House video

Sort:  

Here's another curator to appreciate: @appreciator thanks to @bluemist
(I'm still learning more about this one - )
APPRECIATOR - A New Bidding Upvote Bot which appreciates your content
Thanks to @wandrnrose7's freewrite to the #dachund prompt,
The Secret Tactics of Bobo the Daschund, I learned for the first time in two years of @appreciator. Better late than never. And @wandrnrose7, Congratulations on your well-earned Big Upvote!

Thank you, @carolkean ❤🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for shout out, truly appreciate it

You are most welcome!
Thank you for your attention to writers like Wanderin' Rose!
I'm glad @curie is not alone. There must be others out there scouting for and rewarding good content, supporting minnows, building community. I just haven't found 'em all.
I've even thought about creating my own curation account, but I know what an incredible investment of time that is. So again, thank YOU for what you do!!!

I'll check back when you fill in the blanks 😁 @carolkean 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the nomination, I love you guys. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

@freewritehouse, Thank you so much for your kind mention team. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

#PleaseNote the Updated Post today (thanks, everyone!). Last week a #wtf techno-glitch or two caused unnecesary #confusement (my favorite accidental word coined by an engineer). Added today:
@marblely
@wakeupkitty
@felixgarciap
@fitinfun
@felt.buzz
@zeldacroft
@myjob
@owasco
@tristancarax
@vida-blanca
@curie
@theluvbug

If hardly anyone is reading these posts,

I'm going to resign from this gig as soon as someone more techno-gifted comes along with time to spare!

Oh dear is it that bad? How techno gifted does one need to be? I learned a slow connection is also a reason why so much goes wrong.

Thanks for adding, now you can rest and do what you like.

Is anyone reading this? Does anyone still reads the freewrites? At least this is a way to make that happen.

💕👍🏻

Posted using Partiko Android

Slow internet - yes!!! - is half the problem with this taking me so long to put together and post.
And the little glitches. In one post, I hunted and hunted but never found the source of a glitch that looks like this:
But I'm counting on the fact that almost nobody will notice it. :)
And to repeat that question: How many people read Friday Favorites ???

First time I see that glitch but I write in my notes first next copy-paste it. 🤔 Don't know how to solve that. I noticed with me everything goes wrong or disappears if the connection is too slow.

I believe hardly anyone is reading these days. A freewrite you write for your own pleasure mainly. Did @mariannewest respond on it? How about the rest of the freewriters? Many left and the rest?

I am hosting two contests now and if you want to keep them alive you need to be active yourself, communicate, comment, encourage. It takes a lot of time.

Happy Saturday.💕

You're hosting two contests??
I must check it out!!
Thank you for all the wisdom you share, all that you do to support and encourage others at Steemit, even though you, like me, feel the futility of it - how it seems almost nobody reads or upvotes or comments on our stuff.
You rock!!

Yes, on.Mondays "What do the letters CCC mean to you" and on Saturdays "Looking back/Look forward". You can also find it back on @team-ccc.
I was asked to take over the Monday contest and a bit later I did the Saturday contest too (although it started on a Friday mixed up the days).
👍🏻💕

This - - is a simple hyperlinking/formatting issue.
[title or image inside the square brackets] + (URL in the parantheses)
No space between the ](

Thank you @carolkean! 😘

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for the nomination @fitinfun 💕 Glad you liked my story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01