Freewrite House Favorites from Your Recommendations - Week 10/01/2019

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

Freewrite House Favorites from Your Recommendations

Week 10/01/2019 - Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

)

Click on the photos to read the blog posts

Remember if a post is older than 6 days, try to find something more recent to upvote so they can get the rewards. Thank you so much for your support!

FWH-faves.png

@carolkean here

First, a shout-out to volunteers who deliver the new day's prompt

and here's hoping the busy-work will not keep them from WRITING.

@deirdyweirdy, yes, I'm talking to you! One month since your last freewrite…?

And @whatisnew, @wonderwop, @owasco, @fitinfun, and... well, hold on a minute. Let's make this a test.

Have you had someone deliver a prompt in the comment box of one of your posts? Let everyone know who I missed here by commenting below on who else is delivering prompts.

I tried that job for a while, and I can tell you, the Prompt Delivery Team members deserve recognition.

In particular, I am amazed at the time and effort and humor that @wonderwop adds to his prompt deliveries. Animated! Not here (I'm not that talented), but this for example is his graphic/video for the prompt dirt bike (I'm sorry I cant get the animated version to come to life here--but that's all the more reason for you to keep any eye out for @wonderwop and his prompts!):


FWH-faves.png

My second item of business: #Hashtags matter!


Y'all know that, I know, but some newbies may not. Even some of us veterans may have missed the latest on #oc versus #ocd (no, that one is not for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, which, yes, @carolkean manifests daily).

#original-content is a hashtag that alerts @curie to new posts.

There used to be a bot Steemians summoned to ward off cheetah-bot's "original content" disclaimers, but I don't have time to go hunt down what it was. Or still is, for all I know.

If you investigate #oc and #ocd (Operation Curie Delegation), you may also

Visit becquerel.io to see a record of the most recent posts upvoted through Curie curator/reviewer operations and leave thoughtful comments on them for your chance to win!

And now.... The Favorites!

@felixgarciap

Hi friends here is my freewrite recommendation:
My favorite freewrites this weekeend which convey good feelings:
I highlight those that pay homage to their pets


@wonderwop with a pet attentive to the sound of the bag of chips LOL.


@iyanpol12, with a sad and nostalgic story, shows us what happens when we get fond of our pets.


In the freewrite of sightings, I identified myself with the message of @wandrnrose7, with her elegy for the loved one who left.

FWH-faves.png

@wandrnrose7

I would like to share a very evocative poem by @botefarm crafted from the prompt dog whistle. In this poem lies the feeling of helplessness over a person's choice to smoke and the devastating results of such a choice. This poem was well crafted and leaves the reader thinking of choices and their consequences.

@whatisnew

@mr-neil has his own humorous style of writing and when reading his freewrites, you don't even have to look at his user name to know that it was written by him. Check out what he wrote for the prompt 'dog whistle' and I will guarantee that you will end up smiling.

FWH-faves.png

@owasco

I always enjoy @improv's freewrites. Sometimes they are so wackadoo I am seriously jealous - my mind does not let go like that! (OK maybe I am too judgey to let it go so free). This past Monday @improv put out a story with so much packed into those five minutes (?) that my head was awhirl. Napkins left over from the last wedding, a very honest statement about fondant, a business scheme trading derivatives of murder payments, get paid handsomely for the pleasure of murdering safely, and the like.

How on earth is this done? They are always a trip.

FWH-faves.png

@fitinfun

My first recommendation this week is from @myjob, giving us an update on the whole fiasco of the state changing laws for her fishing business:

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@myjob/free-write-wednesday-prompt-baby-talk

It sounds like a big mess with rich people involved, so this is par for the course.

Next, @mgaft1 tells us he can wreck a moped and about another wreck with someone who was too confident on a dirt bike.

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mgaft1/day-713-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-dirt-bike

And finally, @wandrnrose7 has a very affecting short tale of lost love and why it is not always best to rekindle it.

https://steempeak.com/palnet/@wandrnrose7/sightings-bkubvzel

Three very different freewrites. I had a good time looking and hunting for them :)

FWH-faves.png

@iamraincrystal

I look forward to this freewrite recommendation every week. I'm still hoping to win though LOL ^^ Here are my recommendations:
from @kaelci, Wizard's Logic ~ a #wewrite with @ntowl!


I liked this story. I enjoyed reading it. I recommend others to read it as well, so I'm not going into details. Hey, I like raspberries too. LOL! ^
^

from @whatisnew

Very brave for writing about and actually taking photos of something that scares her. I'm not too fond of spiders myself. I've also had a few encounters with them. Thankfully, they're not very common where I live.

FWH-faves.png

@marblely

My favourite this week comes from @wonderwop's freewrite to the prompt "several sightings":

@wonderwop has a very good sense of humor in his freewrites and for this one, he coupled it with photos of really cute fellas. I was laughing my head off with the way he described the fellas on each photo. Thank you for making me laugh @wonderwop :D

FWH-faves.png

@carolkean

@fitinfun

never fails to inform and entertain, move, or inspire us!

Her post on UFOs is intriguing, with a great line at the end from a guy in the 'hood where everyone is used to seeing Unidentified Flying Objects.


Me, I think all UFOs have earthly origins, and I only wish/hope/dream we are being visited by extra-terrestrials. The Foo Fighters of World War II surely had to be the work of mad German scientists, but go ahead, prove me wrong. (Abduct me, take me to your leader, but please return me please and thanks to my family, and if you have to erase all my memories of an alien abduction, well, dang! So much for me daring you to prove me wrong!)

@prettynicevideo

also tackles the hot topic of UFOs:


Here's one little excerpt that will leave you wanting to know more:

I have seen many UFO's in my life; several sightings and I am sure most have been satellites or government craft. But I did see a UFO once that is still unexplainable to this time. I never gave it a second thought until I had some weird therapy session that medicaid required me to have. Some lady did some hypnotherapy shit. I was telling my sister about it. And that's when she said, "Did anything come out about that UFO thing that happened Halloween in the nineties?"


Don't take my word for it: click on the image linked above, and it will be animated--AND you will learn more about that 1990s UFO incident!


@felt.buzz

continues to keep us in suspense with his latest, on-going freewrite series:

This is the freewrite challenge. I am using @mariannewest’s #freewrite prompt to write this piece


Today’s prompt is: civil rights. This is part One Hundred And Eleven of my current freewrite series - I’m calling it RatsNest for now - (posted daily Monday - Saturday).


Click on that link to get to all the other hundred-eleven freewrites in the series. It takes time to hyperlink even one post, much less that many in a series! If that doesn't inspire you, here is a teaser:

Faver had met so many people when he was younger, from his early days protesting civil rights, and then again when he and Sally joined the Change The System movement. The man was old. Older than Faver, anyway. The way he moved, it was obvious he had problems with his joints.


@iamraincrystal

delivers a lot of surprises and insights, especially with Weekend Freewrite -9/28/2019 - Single Prompt Option:

"I've always considered myself a dog person," she begins, noting that in her neighborhood cats that have no owners "roam around freely and are like tenants of the building." After starting her "declutter project" (oh the guilt; I need to declutter!), she "had an old yamaha organ placed outside the apartment, waiting to be picked up" by a church organization that runs a second hand bazaar. It took a while before said furniture was removed," and someone else - aka "Mommy cat" - left a surprise in the organ.

@ladyrebecca

earned @curie's attention with this ghost story:



@curie

Hi @ladyrebecca,
This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)
Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.



She had me with this line:

You’d think he’s crazy, locking people up and forgetting about them, but that’s not true. He never meant to do that, he was going to save them, at some point.


And this!

... it’s his fate, his punishment if you want, to wander the halls and face all the ghosts. He can never be free, like they were never set free and whose fault is it?


Eerie story, well written, with wit and dark humor--and surely one that took more than 5 minutes to write, edit, and post--I approve! #LoveIt!

Another @curie for @deeanndmathews!

And note how many @freewrite members are tagged in this story. In @deeanndmathews's own words:

The frat boys robbed the church on a Thursday, got caught on a Saturday midnight, and are still in jail on a Tuesday, @owasco, @wakeupkitty, @fitinfun, @deemarshall, @iamsaray, @mgaft1, @scribblinggramma, and @whatisnew ... and their relatives are coming to the church to start trouble and instead finding more trouble than they are ready for ... Rev. Joe Baxter ain't exactly Dr. King …


#WednesdayQuickie

is new to me, but not to Kitty Wu:
@wakeupkitty


How to write a #WednesdayQuickie?
Write down everything you can think of about the current topic within 10 minutes and publish your thoughts with the tag #WednesdaysQuickie.
Prompt: angry.

FWH-faves.png

@carolkean here,
posting a day early (but I can come back later and add more nominations!) because for several days I will be offline and busy with family. Internet access will be hit-and-miss with time stolen from grandkids, and all that.

Note: I'm leaving space for two of our usual nominators. :) No pressure to come through as always, KittyWu and ChireeRocks! I appreciate those who nominate at the eleventh hour so as to make sure the MOST RECENT posts get attention. And upvotes.

@chireerocks

@freewritehouse, Kindly find the below piece for your reference

FWH-faves.png

@wakeupkitty


FWH-faves.png


Happy Friday from @carolkean!


Thank you for nominating,

everyone, and thank you for reading, upvoting, resteeming, and social media sharing!

If you're new to @Freewritehouse,

check out this introductory post from way back when:

Finding a Freewrite

If you are not familiar with the daily freewrite prompt and the many wonderful writers who produce the most amazing 5-minute (or sometimes much longer) Freewrites, go to @mariannewest and look for the prompt. The graphics look like this

In the comments, you find lots of links to all kind of freewrites.

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest


Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House
Regular Features
Freewrite House Adoptee of the Week
Steemzuela Ventest - Stories of Venezuela
Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
We-Write and win SBI -coming back in the middle of June
Freewrite Favorites
The Freewritehouse Literary Talent Award - English, German & Spanish - monthly with reminders.
Beta Reader Group -ongoing
Author Reading
Make a House video

Sort:  

Dammit, caught! I know, must do better.

Indeed!

Hahaha, if it wasn't for your wonderful story the other day, I could have said right back at ya. As it is, I'm speechless!

As it is, I'm speechless!

That's OK... we don't want you to speak, but write!😃

Posted using Partiko Android

From now on you make the post on Thursday?

Posted using Partiko Android

Fridays have been busy for me, so I'm cheating.
But I will add any Thursday night nominations ... quicker to edit than to compose the whole post....
I should hold off on posting but I didn't know if I'd even get to the computer today. Or have internet.

You can see that I added @fitinfun's nominations, but didn't take time to hyperlink/center/etc.

@carolkean Well I decided not tplo join and deleted my two recommendations. Next time I will try to be in time. Somehow it is a lost of days if we write on Tuesdsy and people read the post on Fridays.

Happy weekend ❤️

Ohhh no, you didn't need to delete your recommendations!!
I'm so sorry. I had to leave town for a four-day weekend. Friday morning we were packing, hitting the road, getting our son from an airport four hours away... wedding Saturday... returned home tonight. I did squeeze in some last minute changes Friday morning and I would have added yours. You're right, it does feel like a lot of advance notice, rounding up favorites, waiting for the Friday post, making sure we nominate only a RECENT post, and one written in response to a 5-minute freewrite - sometimes I see #freewrite and mistakenly nominate a post that wasn't in response to a prompt. But I've never been a stickler for such details. Rules are made to be broken, not enforced-- good thing I never used my degree in teaching English- I'd have been fired the first week.

Perhaps you would be fired or the best and most creative teacher ever.

Hope you had a great wedding. Sounds all together to a lot of stress.

Stress it is here today too since 5:20 am. Will go for a walk now and in a few hours I am in bed. My day is over. Not much done. Pity but it is as it is.

Happy, peaceful day with love 💕 for you.

"My day is over. Not much done."
But you posted this lovely comment: Perhaps you would be fired....or the best and most creative teacher ever.
Thank you so much for that! If nothing else you said or did seemed like enough to you, THAT was more than enough for me. Your kind words are far-reaching, even if your walking no longer is!
Am I incoherent.... yes.
I love weddings and family gatherings but always come away from them demoralized or discouraged, because I am "that crazy aunt" nobody wants to have around, because I never shut up, I go on about history, science, books, movies, and eyes glaze over, and I know I should GIVE UP the conceit that my opinions are of interest to anyone but me, but I am a WRITER.... @myjob, as I recall, you and I were discussing this recently. Even you get flak for your opinions, but writers write, and opine, and wax eloquent (or so we think), and have this unkillable urge to share our insights, ideas, dare I say "knowledge," with others....

I am sure no matter what you (or they) think now they appreciate you.😃 Perhaps you are at that moment not the jolly drunk but you are the storyteller, the one with an opinion, someone who has a message and that is what people will remember.

Sorry to hear you come away from family gatherings demoralized or discouraged. ☹.
I guess the real family is in another time (stuck).

Do not give up on sharing whatever you need or feel or want to share. It is what writers do, how you are and stick to yourself.

My only family are my children. I guess I am lucky they like my stories, have my humour and say that if I talk you better listen because it is important. 😁👍

A big hug and love for you 💕 and you too @myjob 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the shoutout! Have lotsa fun with your family! ^_^

@freewritehouse, Thank you for your kind mention team. Keep continuing the good work. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would add your nominations if you have any this week -
I added @fitinfun's, and somehow ended up with a duplicate Freewritehouse post.
My apologies, @mariannewest!!!!

It occurs to me I can EDIT that duplicate post and use it for next week...
assuming I don't get fired from this job before then. ;)
Now I really have to get back to work .... BIG weekend ahead!
Thanks everyone for your patience with me.

Sometimes it happens. Waiting for the next series. Have a great time ahead and stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the feature. Nice to be back writing. I'm glad to know that someone or someones enjoy what I do.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for all your work, @carolkean, and for picking my freewrite :) You missed @botefarm as one of our encouragers too.

Oh no! If I were freewriting like I should be, I'd know all our encouragers.
Sorry @botefarm and thank you @fitinfun.

Thank you for the mention @carolkean I'm home from Nebraska and can get back on track. Love ya! 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome. :)
I'm confused: You're "home from Nebraska and can get back on track"...?
If you're quoting me, I'd have said I can't get back on track.
(Did I mention that I was in "Nebraska" ....? )
#confusement is my mo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95