The Event Horizon of My Art Contest

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

If you don't know, I posted about doing an art contest 10 days ago, based on my continuing story, "My Vacation On the Exotic Shores of a Black Hole".

Read the original contest post here.

Unfortunately, there were under 10 entries.

Without at the very least 10 entries, it is not a competition, but just a giveaway. That isn't necessarily bad. If I ended it today, everyone would get a prize.

I had fun. I hope those that entered had fun. It was meant to be a fun contest. I would be satisfied to give prizes away to those that entered right now. But we go back to it not being much of a competition without more entries.

It would suck to renege on the prizes because of that feeling that it isn't really a competition. So, I'm forced to choose the lesser of two evils. I have to extend the contest.

I will be extending the contest by 4 days, so it's 14 days after the initial contest post.

So if you wanted to enter before, now is your final chance. I will be giving out the prizes no matter what after 4 days from now. To give it the absolute maximum amount of time, Sun Jan 28th, Midnight, UTC is the latest you can enter.

I will also be adding a small 3rd prize of 3 steem, raising the 2nd prize by 1 steem, and giving out 1 steem to everyone who entered the contest before the extension, and met all the rules.

This is sort of a consolation prize, for having to extend the time frame, and for your continued patience.

This will be sent out at the same time as the rest of the prizes. I'd rather not have to withdraw from my Bittrex twice, and there might be a better buying opportunity in the future.

15 Steem for First Prize.

6 Steem for Second prize.

3 Steem for Third Prize.

1 Steem given to five honorable mentions!

1 additional steem for all qualified entrants who entered within the original timeframe.

Note: this is per user, not entry. Sorry.

If you didn't enter because you lack faith in their art skills, remember that art isn't necessarily about realism.

Push those thoughts of not being good enough out of your head.

“It took me four years to paint like Raphael, but a lifetime to paint like a child.”

― Pablo Picasso

There are many parts of the story, so I can understand if it's a little daunting to read it all.

But here's the thing: you don't have to. Just read enough to find something you want to make art of.

You don't have to be limited to only drawing or digital art.

Make whatever you want. Let your imagination run wild. You could create a collage, or a gif, or a sculpture even. Hell, you could write a poem if you wanted to. Writing is a form of art as well.

If you missed any of the story, you can click below to read the corresponding parts.

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12

Pencil-heart.jpg
Image used under Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license. (source)


APP.png

Sort:  

YAY! You entered!

yayyyyy in the last minute good night

Have a good night!

More time to procrastinate on drawing John and redraw the ship :P

Nice to see what contest you were talking about... That is so cool of you to do that. This is such an interesting community, so glad I joined. :)

Hey @geekpowered... I saw your contest, but didn't enter (yet) for two reasons:

  1. I don't do art. I'm just not very good at it. I'm not a visual thinker, or reader. I prefer to let professionals handle that.
  2. I'm still making my way through your stories, slowly but surely.

If I finish in time for the new deadline, in light of what you said about art not always being about realism... maybe I will give it a shot.

You would be surprised how many think they aren't good at art, only to become artists.

I would probably too, because there aren't any statistics on that as far as I know, but I've met a few!

Did @matytan join? Ask her to join :)

yes i m here pretty girl <3.

But you did not join geek's contest :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77