Art prompt writing contest #1

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Art Prompt Writing Contest.png

We have a lot of fun in the fiction-workshop over on Discord and I have gained not only great friends, but invaluable help in writing my own fiction story. You can read my current sci-fi series on my SteemShelf. I decided to start a weekly writing competition. Members of the fiction-workshop at PALnet will assist in judging the entries.

Instead of a theme or word prompts, it was decided to choose a piece of art from Steemit - with the artist's permission - and use that as a prompt. It will be interesting to read the different interpretations of the piece. I chose the following painting from @yusaymon. Thanks for letting me use your beautiful painting for this contest @yusaymon.

DQmQtm6qFYWvHQaotqyoQihGQ3dEvFY7mcUyVML9AerALfC_1680x8400.jpg

His original post is https://steemit.com/painting/@yusaymon/the-time-is-yesterday-original-painting-by-yusaymon

Rules

  • Based on your interpretation of the painting, write a piece of original fiction with between 500 and 1000 words.
  • Post a link to your story in the replies to this post.
  • Upvote and resteem this post.
  • Upvote @yusaymon's post.

The contest will end August 19th at 23:59 BST - check here for your local time-zone

The winner will receive 10 SBD plus the SBD payout from this post.

Original image source


Proud member and supporter of the #minnowsupportproject - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut
Click HERE to learn more


Sort:  

I can't upvote (too close to the payout). I sent you 3SBD instead, that you can share out to the winners. Otherwise, all rules followed.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@cristof/original-fiction-story-prompt-a-kiss-hello

Thank you, very generous of you.

I loved this one and decided to give it a go. Here's my entry. All rules aced.

https://steemit.com/writing/@misterakpan/i-laid-by-grandpa-or-an-original-fiction-story

Thank you for your submission

You are more than welcome, boss. Thank you for the inspiration.

@gmuxx Thanks to you <3 I 'm excited to see those fiction stories O_O

That was some deep piece of creation. Amazing work. I just saw it and started writing. Didn't pause much in between, and the edit was limited to grammar and structure. You might want to see your creation in my entry above 😉

Will skip this one, will just vote for @yusaymon's post (well, I always do as his admirer:)
Hope there also will be a painting contest one day:)

Coming in just before the bell: https://steemit.com/writing/@lenadr/silence-after-chaos-art-prompt-writing-contest

I'm such a procrastinator!

Thank you for your timely submission ;-)

It was hard to keep it at 1000 words! I had to cut quite a bit.

The idea I am having is verging on the nsfw, is this acceptable or do I need to pull the reigns in?

Nope, no reigns

*bex has urges to edit on the comments.... tries to resist them... fails miserably.

Reins.

You are right , no reindeer or horses planned in the story lol. Or monarchy even.

I might give this a go if I have time!

Please do. I look forward to reading your submission.

I wouldn't mind giving this a shot. Just have to wait for inspiration :)

Awesome, I look forward to reading your story.

Let the upvoting commence!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69