You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask Me Anything Contest The Best Questions Win SBD - Dragging You Up With Me Week #6

in #contest6 years ago

Steem is solid and covers everything but I think the room for growth in SM is unimaginable...
What do you think will happen with the outbreak of Steem 'clone' sites like Weku and smoke.io? Will they just fade away or manage to carve out a niche within their particular community?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I figure they will last for awhile but it will come down to the developers which adopt the platforms, we have a few of the tech guys from #OneLoveDTube plus myself working on smoke.io. We run a witness node there as getting in early is a lot easier than trying to start a witness here with drastic demands on resources relating to much less overhead to start off with on Smoke.

Each site has its own take on how things should develop and with smoke.io it has branded to a culture that has a lot of momentum, say more green friendly corporations adopt smoke it will become a massive success as that type of content is not widely supported here. Just that fact alone of a community being typically MJ friendly with all the push for legalization tells me Smoke has a bright future ahead of it.

On top of that I think about the fact we are basically printing money, if you can do it here why not do it everywhere available? I know for myself my unadulterated content will be posted on smoke.io and not here but many will cross post in hopes of generating the most income for each post.

So in short I believe in the same way people use Twitter + Instagram + Facebook people will use Steemit + Smoke + Weku no matter what the FUD flying around may be as these sites basically let you print your own income and further advertise what ever it is you may be pushing. The deciding factor of each platforms success will be determined by what direction the developers take the platform and what specific culture they are catering to.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree about Smoke, it's a kind of special situation, I'm not convinced any other 'sub culture' has the same potential... What's the name of your witness node on smoke btw?
There is tonnes of room in the market to 'print money', on the other hand, theoretically it could also all go through Steem in the form of communities. Interesting times indeed...Thanks for your thoughts and vote!

Posted using Partiko Android

No problem my friend thank you for participating in the contest!

Our witness node on smoke is @graylan and a close friend of the community @jrswab also runs witness there.

The big thing with multiple platforms I see is that no one is really a loyalist like myself, I have had to create a reason to post videos outside of just DTube. I am starting to cross promote our platform so my loyalist nature doesn’t feel offended by putting my content elsewhere. Many people just post as much in as many places so depending on how easy each platform is to use, specifically for mobile, it will determine how much adoption the platform will receive essentially how easy will the developers make it for people to multiply their rewards for effort.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08