St. Patrick's Day Contest 2: Poetry!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

It's going to take me a while to properly choose a winner for the photography contest, but here's the next event for our series building toward St. Patrick's Day!

Write a Limerick!

A limerick is a 5-line poem with the rhyme form of A-A-B-B-A, and the third and fourth lines are shorter than the others. Meter is usually anapest or dactyl, with two unstressed syllables and one stressed syllable, but the rhythmic feel matters more than rigid adherence to a pattern, so you can fudge it a bit.

In order to enter, post your poem in the comments below.

Vote on other poems you find amusing. Let's get some dialogue going, so comment on what others post, too!

Remember, upvoting the contest post also boosts the prize pool for the event!


EDIT: This contest ends at 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time on Friday, March 2nd. (1:00 AM UTC Saturday, March 3rd.)

Also, I typed the wrong month in the photography contest. Sorry! Human failings happen. The prize is 1 SBD for the best limerick. It doesn't have to be about St. Patrick or Ireland, although you can certainly try to get bonus points for doing so.

Sort:  

Here's my entry for St. Patrick :)

The was once a great active missionary,
Whose life cannot be fixed with certainty.
He's a man from Ireland,
Shares what god plans.
Showing the shamrock a symbol of Christianity.

Nice limerick :) this is about St. Peter in ireland.

My baby was born ten days late;
St. Patrick's Day was her birth date.
With Irish red hair
And a definite flair,
She really was worth the long wait!

You're an angel sent from heaven above,
How blessed we are having you around
To guide and protect us from behind
Extending help is appeciated
wear a smile is best award!!

E'er since I woke from the reality of Establishment,
I find myself wanting less & less government.
Fighting the -ism's
That threaten our freedoms,
We, Steemians are setting a precedent!

Well, that is a unique theme!!

Well I must have been severely distracted around the time of posting this limerick because #1 I just happened to see your response today @scribblingramma!

And #2 I didn't even upvote this post! How in the heck did I miss that? @goodguygreg, my apologies for the oversight!

Blame it on Mom Brain! Ha ha!

There once was an elderly drover
Who found a rare four leaf clover
He went to the Inn
To get him some Gin
The night ended with him falling over! :D

Here's my entry for Saint Patrick! Thanks for hosting the competition.☺

Your passion for ministry brought you to Ireland
The gospel of Christ given to them by your hand
Filled with Spirit
Persecution you met
Did not stop you from sharing the Good News to the land

Here is my entry :)

He is a missionary from above
Followed by many that have been move
He is a great man
Who came from Ireland
And had spread his thought with love

My entry sir :)

There once was a young lady named bright
Whose speed was much faster than light
She set out one day
In a relative way
And returned on the previous night.

This is my entry :) hope you like it. Thankyou :)

There once was a fish who could talk.
He wanted to learn how to walk.
He got out from the sea,
Fell right onto me,
And I nearly died from great shock.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73