What goes around, comes around

in #contest6 years ago

This is an entry for Finish the Story Contest - Week #31.

Here is @f3nix's story:

What goes around, comes around


Barnard Hall, in the heart of the west wing of the medical school, the Asclepius sancta sanctorum. The light of the sunset dripped from the dusty double-glazed windows and mixed with the cedar scent of the wooden stalls, arranged in steep theatre. A visitor who had passed the heavy double door would have undoubtedly caught the note of animal musk mixing with the wood essence. Smell of anxiety. Smell of hunted prey. Smell of university student exhausted during a long, endless session of exams.

"I strongly advise you to think carefully about your next words," Prof. Angelus said to the student.

Spread over several rows, set in the narrow space between the back and the table top, the remaining students were crossed by the icy scalpel blade of that voice.

"Here we are," Luke thought in a flash of conscious resignation.

It was the sixth time he had to repeat that exam: after five fails in a row his whole life have been interrupted and swallowed up in that black hole. By now he knew every detail of "At Heart of Cardiology", the three volumes treatise written by Prof. Angelus, a widely recognised eminence of cardiology.

For an eternal moment his thoughts dissociated from the scene and flew to that day three years earlier when, at the head of a handful of fifteen other students, Luke had decided to protest the decisions of the seventy-year-old professor.
"Do you mind if I ask you.. do you really intend to graduate in this university?" A stunned secretary had told him at some point, after the insistent protests of the student committee showed no sign of blurring.
And at what levels could the power of an old ordinary professor, close to retirement, ever come? The answer did not wait and, just two months later, Prof. Angelus was acclaimed by the unanimous council as dean of the faculty. Luke was instantly fire-branded and he would never graduate from that university.

"Well?" The assistant, the professor's guard dog, broke the silence.

"The... the... commissurotomy can only be performed if the flaps are not calcified and the subvalvular apparatus is preserved. With a left anterior thoracotomy, the chest is accessed through the resection space of rib 5. Once the pericardium is opened through the left auricle, a diverter is introduced into the mitral ostium which, opening, forces the valvular flaps to separate the merged commissures." Luke answered almost without breathing, tense like a Vietcong in his tunnel paved of sleepless study nights.

The professor's nose had disgusting bright red veins, Luke did not know if he was breathing - or alive at all. He looked down at the white, protruding knuckles of his left hand, clinging to the arm of his chair, and waited for his fate.

"Twenty-six, do you accept?". A note of irony in that electric scalpel voice.
"Yes. Sorry, I'll take the transcripts." Luke stumbled into his bag, looking through the notebooks for the grade transcripts. He had not even brought the booklet with him since there was so little hope of passing the exam.

The professor absent-mindedly drew a twenty-four and a signature in cuneiform spelling.


The cold light of the Pentaled surgical light-head outlined the instruments neatly aligned as efficient soldiers ready to execute his orders. It was almost pleasant to the watchful eyes of Dr. Luke Richards, a promising cardio-surgeon and head of the famous Royal Brompton Hospital in Chelsea, London.

"Doctor, we have verified that a serious heart attack is going on. The frequency is 207 bpm. We administered 50 mg of protamine sulfate, the patient did not react. Furthermore, his wife informed us of a complication deriving from senile cardiac amyloidosis."

"A very normal case that could be safely entrusted to the Mako-bot" Dr. Richards determined instantly by glancing quickly at the operating table, automated and managed by the hospital central A.I.
He snorted slightly. Evidently the patient had enough influence not only to obtain a human operation, but also to have the Chief Cardiac Surgeon out of bed at three o'clock in the night.

"Who do we have here, doctor?"

"This is a certain Prof. Daniel Angelus".


And this is my ending:

"You've got to be kidding me."

It was true. My college nemesis was lying on my operating table. I immediately recognized his veined lump of a nose, made even more unpleasant by the additional twenty years.

We tend to think of college students as adults, but they're just big kids. Clumsy, impressionable, frail. At that moment, I--a mature master of my field of expertise--I could not suppress a shiver, recalling the terrorized boy I had been.

The dreaded bogeyman of Barnard Hall was reaping what he had sown.

I performed the best surgery of my career. My fingers moved precisely and effortlessly. The assistants were in awe, admiring my skillful execution, while I regaled them with the sorry tale of my college failures. The A.I. recorded everything, ready to replicate my performance on other patients.

And with skill came success. Against all odds, Mr. Angelus was saved. It was a triumph! In a single act, I had overcome the medical emergency and vindicated the injustices I had suffered.


For a short while, at least.

Twenty-four hours later, I entered Mr. Angelus's hospital room. I had taken every precaution. My digital signature was at home, recorded by my phone, smart tv, self-driving car. This was my hospital, and I knew by heart the location of the surveillance sensors, and every hiding place, and which nurse was on which shift and for how long.

With gloved hands, I put the electronic equipment out of sync. And I silently approached the sleeping form of Mr. Angelus.

Let's not kid ourselves here: of course, I was going to murder the despicable asshole.

When I lowered the pillow on his face, I whispered in his ear, "twenty-six, not twenty-four." He heard me. And I very much like to think, in his last moments, he knew it was me.

As I left, I reverted the life support back on track. The alarms started immediately; by the time the doctors arrived, I was safe and descending the stairwell.


The following day I woke up refreshed. Far from feeling any guilt, I was elated. It was like an important piece of a puzzle had found his right place; like the world was in better order then, than it had previously been.

At work, I was informed that the ninety-year-old professor had died in his sleep. The cause seemed to be a respiratory failure, a common enough occurrence to the elderly after a difficult operation. Acting dismayed, I recommended an investigation.

Not that they would ever find anything against me. From my colleagues, I only received praise for my valiant effort. Later, when the Italian-named policeman came to my office, with his shabby raincoat and foul cigar, I explained in detail what the operation had entailed, and also divulged my personal ties with the deceased.

He thanked me and made to leave.

Then he stopped halfway, and without turning he raised a hand, and said: "Just one more thing..."

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.994395999553713
This post was voted: 69.77%



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @f3nix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9955251614202323
This post was voted: 79.15%

Okay. I'm not going to piss off any doctors. They are all great at what they do. I love them. Of course, when I'm feeling like leaving, I may want to piss them off early. Choices... 8-)

I'm creeped out by this.

Tsk! He should have injected air in the drip... far more safe!

Congratulation for being so fast in wrinting your ending, may I guess University grind has left some desire for revenge in you too? ;)

(ops! I'm @marcoriccardi, forgot to switch to my personal account after posting haiku contest results)

While I do not approve of murder, I will not deny that some old scars were itching. 😅

Ale, where have you been? (in Japan I know).

For a short while, at least.

And there we go! I'm impressed with the attention to the story details like the Professor's nose or the decreased vote. You bent them to your plot's needs and played with them like a skillful juggler. Your stories reincarnate the spirit of the contest because they're pure 100% content. One only thing, the final after the Professor's murder was a bit slow.. but just a very small note over an excellent work!

Thank you!

By the way, I meant to ask: would it be possible/helpful to submit a story for the first half of the contest?

Of course! Actually I wanted to ask you..what genre were you thinking about?

Nothing particularly complex comes to mind... Detective fiction, perhaps?

No!! Luke gave in to the dark side!

Your story took a disturbing turn but not necessarily a bad one. While I'd like to think of everyone maturing and turning the other cheek, it's a reality that there are those who would hold onto their fear and hatred, not hesitating to exact vengeance when the opportunity presents itself.

I have to admit, I did a cheer with the detective at the end! :)

I have to say I really don't like this petty mind who feels compelled to kill the old doctor. And this although Luke already had a brilliant career, despite - or perhaps even because of - the distress his old professor caused him. Full of disappointment, I wanted to give up the story, when you finally insert a funny twist. Our good old Columbo, who still tracks down every murderer and brings him to justice.

Really well told!

Also a mature realization that not only professors are mean to their students, but vice versa they can be as well. Alongside and fluently you have also woven in all the ultramodern methods of hospital technology and made it look effortless.

Thank you for the thoughtful comment.

The way I saw it, both Angelus and Richards are the same types of villain: they abuse a position of power, confident of their unaccountability. That is precisely the 'life lesson' the old professor had been teaching to all his students.

Luckily, in my story, they are both proven wrong, thanks to the Lieutenant-Ex-Machina!

That last line :)) Hilarious, even if the reader never watched Columbo.
Your piece is diabolical, and funny. Quite a feat to pull off.
You play with the reader as Columbo played with his suspects. Very, very, clever.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

The perfect crime, if only the Italian not-so Italian policeman just so happy to be... well I ain't at liberty to say really, so, in the mean time, this is where I get off. Upvot'd and resteem'd.
Coolio.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63009.69
ETH 3029.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75