Why is your hair on fire? News at 10. Punday Monday 92.

in #contest5 years ago

Welcome to Punday Monday 92!

puntender.jpg

Hope you don’t mind a little self-promotion at the top, here. @steemfiction has published my work, along with the work of @stinawog, @janenightshade, @felt.buzz, @jeezzle, @manoldonchev, @giantbear, and @blueeyes8960
Do you know what’s fun? Having an author page: Brendan Weinhold, Author Extraordinaire

New To Punday?

Pull up a stool, order a spiked PUNch, and get to know some of the regulars. I'm your PUNtender, @improv.

How To Make a Pun

This contest is open to everyone. Here's a handy dandy guide on how to make a pun: Learn to Pun

Rules for the PUN-test:

  • If you hope to win a prize, your pun must be your original work
  • Puns must be relevant to the topic of the week to win a prize, but they can be very loosely related.

Last Week's Punday Monday:

Here is last week's Punday Monday, and all the puns that were eligible to win this week are in the comments!

Hang on to your PUNderwear. The Winners of This Week's PUNday Monday Are...


(GIF by @littlescribe)

Rookie of the Week:

No rookies this week!

Pocket Choice Awards:

I am of the opinion that there are four responses to creative works one doesn’t like.
Constructive criticism. Help them get better!
Useful review. Help an audience know which of them will like and which won’t like this piece.
Outdo them. Demonstrate to yourself and others what “good” looks like.
Keep it to yourself.
https://steemit.com/pocket/@improv/2w73ic-pocket-friday
Let’s see which was the favorite!
It’s @wpkwolfe by a landslide!

  • POCKET Choice Winner's Circle Season One:

@aloha-creations, @professorbromide, @tcpolymath, @miniature-tiger, @lilygolightly, @chrisroberts, @stinawog, @f3nix, @doctorcrypto, @heroic15397, @littlescribe, @diebitch, @acolucky, @ablaze, and @paul.atreides.

  • POCKET Choice Winners' Circle Season Two:

@ablaze, @coinsandchains, @dollarsandsense, @doctorcrypto, @heroic15397, @littlescribe, @jk6276, @acolucky, @deceth, @richatvns, @wpkwolfe

Grand Prize (which isn’t bigger than the other prizes, just grander):

  • Best Pun

  • Best Pun of the Entire Week

  • Best Overall Pun

DRUMROLL PLEASE.....


Éirinn go Brách!
Congrats @richatvns

And What Prizes Do They Win, You Ask?

  • Full Strength, 100% Upvote!

Why, as usual, all the punsters got full strength upvotes on their submissions from @improv. This week they also got votes from @freewritehouse! They will next week, too! Together, these upvotes could total in excess of five whole cents!

  • SBI

Which are little bitty upvotes on all your content forever. See @steembasicincome for details. I’ll send one to all of our qualified entrants this week!
Our entrants were:
@richatvns, @acolucky, @paul.atreides, @wpkwolfe, @stever82

Our winners get bonus prize SBI for winning!

Congrats, @richatvns, @wpkwolfe

  • @tipu Tip + @improv 100% upvote to the post of your choice

Our category winners will each get to choose a post (of their own or someone else's) and I will give that post a fully powered upvote and a @tipu tip!

This Week's Pun Topic Is:

April Fool’s Day!

As in,
It came from beyond. Skinny. Ready to push dirt around. Ready to fall in love.
A lean hoe kiss. (Alien hoax)

I'm So Good at Puns

If you've never punned before, it might seem like magic! You can do it, too! Learn how in My Free How-To Guide on Punning!

@comedyopenmic seems to be on hiatus, so we’ll take a pause.




Sponsors, related content, prizes, and money

Sponsors!

@improv/ @freewritehouse

I mean, am I a sponsor of my own contest? Yes? I guess? Also, because I’m involved in @freewritehouse and they’ve/we’ve hosted Punday Monday events over on that page, I’d like to suggest that they (we) are also a sponsor! Regardless, check out the @freewritehouse community! Furthermore, they/we’re using their SP to upvote your puns!

@curie!

We are one of Curie’s chosen communities! Prizes have doubled in season 2, thanks to @curie’s sponsorship! Curie curators do tremendous work making sure unrecognized authors of quality content get recognized and rewarded! They do great work sifting through the heaps of posts to find the undiscovered gems.

Related Content:

  • Punday Monday Year One-Day contest results HERE
  • @freewritehouse offers writing and word-smithing contests every week
  • @steembasicincome has a contest round-up (that includes us) where you can find more opportunities to win SBI.
  • @contestkings features our contest and MORE!

Outside referrals that benefit me.

Coinbase:

Cryptocurrency exchange Join HERE and we’ll both get $10 of BTC

  • Coinbase is adding maker fees, so there’s probably a better way out there. Do you know it?

Robinhood:

Investment platform buying/selling stocks Join HERE and we’ll both get a share of a stock (probably worth ~$4)

Earn.com:

Small tasks for small rewards. Need a business or .edu email, Join HERE and we’ll both get $1 of BTC

Mannabase:

Sign up for universal basic income distribution funded by cryptocurrency Join HERE

Swift:

Yet another attempt at a UBI Join HERE

Swell:

If you’re interested in more traditional investing, Swell invests in stocks that have a positive social impact according to their standards, and has a referral program whereby they’ll match your first $50 investment. CLICK HERE for company website.

SBI

Do you like what I do, and want to support me with more than your upvote? Buy me Steem Basic Income, and we’ll both get returns forever! Just send 1 steem to @steembasicincome with @improv in the memo line! Do you want to support the steem fiction writers who are putting out books and getting the name of Steem out there in the wider world, too? Then put @steemfiction in the memo line! Don’t care about SBI yourself? Put @improv:@steemfiction in the memo line, and both those accounts will get the support! (but you won’t. But you’ll get the support of my love.)

Sort:  

Hi,

My cousin Rich (@richatvns) used to have a company that made busts of people, Arkahdia Arts.. He had 3d scanner and a Used 3d Printer to make masters. So one time when I we were up visiting my sister in New York, I stopped by his office with my son to visit with him.

Right out of the blue, he offers to make a bust of my son and I, for my Mom (his aunt). The bust of my son Adi came out great. But he messed up when scanning me. Yep you can say: He Duped Me Bad!

Not fair

We got a ringer in our midst, your a semi-professional comedy playwrite....

Now you know who I model my Pros after, one of my coolest older cousins!!!

You Rock Stan!

Haaaa.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've mentioned before that I was a big Comedy Movie Fanatic....

Ryan Reynolds' sarcastic red hooded fourth wall breaking quping character was offered a big budget by Fox for the next in Movie in the Franchise.

It happened just before the buyout with Disney.

So the Buy out goes through.

Then Kevin Feige came in with Disney and said they were going to keep the franchise running but not at that crazy funding level.....

Yea you heard it right a "Dead Pool and His Money were Soon Parted!"
wpkwolfe_tagline.jpg

I can go better than that and shorter.
Remember this scene from the Movie...

Turns out he had his wallet in his belt so:
"A Dead Pool and his money were soon parted!"

Justin that's plagerism, Of course if I was made a "Play to get a rise" I'd just site one of Asprin's Titles but that would be a "Phule's Paradise!".

I paid cash for that dis! Essentially I owned it.

po_icon_separatorline_wide.gif
cyrus_tagline.jpg
po_icon_separatorline_wide_info.gif

I'm going all out this week. I am flying out to the island of Tonga in the South Pacific on Sunday. Once there I am going to set my alarm clock for 11:59 pm and then I am going jump up when it goes off and log on and submit a pun for this week's contest. Why go to all this trouble you ask....because it will be the FIRST OF APRIL.

Ba da bing, you've been punned! You see it is funny because the tiny island nation of Tonga is situated close to the international date line. By traveling to this location the punster (me) is all but assuring that he will experience the first day of April before any other likely Punday participants. Consequently, his pun (referred to as "it" above) will be the first one that is received with the timestamp of April 1st on it, but hang on, maybe he (again me) was referring to just simply "April 1st" when "it" was used because 4/1/19 can also be referred to as the "First of April."

We're glad you're freewriting, too!

I'm going fishing for apes. I'm using a banana as bait on my nice shiny new ape reel (april), I was told I'd be foolish not to try. (Hopefully this works as an entry if I'm punderstanding correctly)

Posted using Partiko Android

You absolutely are!

Posted using Partiko Android

Bizarre and terrific!

My buddies get together once a week, drink heavily, and make cruel fun of one another. I don't join in. It is more than I can in jest (ingest.)

Thanks for the pun!

Puns are definitely one of my sore weak spots..

Maybe something to work on this fine year of years..

If @improv says it's a pun, it must be one! Thanks for playing!

it might be a pun, but it's not berry punny

Ha! Because it's in a week!? You're a natural and you don't even know it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dang, I slept right through my alarm clock. It's already 5am on Monday here in Tonga. I wanted to submit my pun right at midnight but, alas, it turned out to be a FOOL'S ERRAND.

Yea I heard a story about this Pun right out of Hollywood the place of faking people out for a living.

Actress A.Scott wanted to throw a surprise Oscar shindig for D.D.Lewis... Yea there was a big article in Variety the Day after the Party.

I even have a copy of it:

Did I tell you I was selling a bridge in Brooklyn?

BTW this week (tomorrow) you can do a version of the Variety Banner......
separatorline_wide.jpg
memeday_tag.jpg

separatorline_wide.jpg

IntroducingRichAtVNSwithsign.jpg

separatorline_wide_info.gif

You want to make it for me? I'm away from home, so I don't have access to any picture editing software.

Posted using Partiko Android

you got till friday at 8pm, and there are plenty of apps for your phone.
or you can just go to memedad the free online meme maker.

you lazy sob!

Said with luv!

Oh. I guess I don't understand what you're suggesting. I thought you meant use that image that you posted, but make it say "Punday Monday" instead of Memeday. What does it mean to "do a version of the Variety Banner"?

Oh! You mean YOUR IMAGE from the joke! I...am a proud father.

Oh my god, and now I get your joke. April fools Day.

I thought it had something to do with "Duped" because that was capitalized. I thought it was that he was Daniel Duped Lewis in this context.

D'Oh.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by improv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congrats!! You won an SBI from the Freewrite House for recommending your favorite Freewrite. Also, the new post is up. Please participate again.

https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/winner-week-3-19-2019-recommend-your-favorite-freewrite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12