Sort:  

Most contests I've entered in the 'real world' have involved entry after a purchase to get a code or send in a wrapper etc....I see no reason why contests on Steemit should not be able to ask for an upvote for entry to a contest. In most cases the total in upvotes will not even cover the prize(s) anyway. Besides that many will be dissuaded from runnig contests if that is the 'rule'.
I'm not arguing, just presenting my reasoning for further discussion possibly.

I agree and myself am unsure as to why the guidelines word it this way they don't seem to mind about requiring resteeming or follows so I'm unsure as to why they mind the upvotes but I noticed that most larger accounts seem to care and that those contests that do not require the upvote part but instead make it optional seem to get more attention and more participation.

Also I see you don’t have a Steemit Profile Picture I made a contest post on the bottom it will teach you, then after you make yours feel free to enter the contest to create mine. https://steemit.com/contest/@isteemithard/design-isteemithard-a-profile-picture-avatar-contest-15-winner-of-14

This post says please consider it doesn't say that you must upvote. I don't believe it breaches the rules.

thanks it was changed since which is great and I will now join. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62498.25
ETH 3177.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79