3D Origami Contest

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

12.png

3D origami is a simple modular origami with a lot of stylistic freedom making it great for beginners and less experienced folders. I've participated in 3 contests till now and decided to host my own to promote origami and give back to the community. Paper size is A4 format cut into 32 halves, you can make the pieces bigger or smaller, I prefer 1/64 since it uses less paper. Here's instructions on how to fold a unit, the pieces have two gaps and two points allowing them to combine in a few ways:
2.png
There are many tutorials online and a whole lot of models, my first was a swan around 6 years ago but have made so many models I don't even remember most. The units are fast and easy to make, you can play around with different colors and stacking methods.
This is how I made the swans at the top (I can make a more detailed tutorial if anyone's interested):
3.png

Here's some old stuff I made:
4.png
5.jpg

Untitled.png

Contest

Prize pool

1st place: 2 SBD (1sbd added thanks to @kristyglas :) )
2nd place: 0.7 SBD
3rd place: 0.4 SBD
Other Participants 0.10 SBD

Untitled.png

Rules:

Since seeing a bunch of posts with 2-5 pieces for the prizes would be boring.

  1. Minimum of 100 connected pieces(I won't count but I can approximate).
  2. Photo on blue/red paper (you can paint a white paper a bit if you don't have).
  3. Resteem so more people join.
  4. A progress image would be nice.
  5. Don't forget to leave a comment for me to check your entry.
  6. The works can be original or a model you found online and like.
  7. Glue is allowed some structures can be pretty unstable and I personally use it to make the models more durable.
    The content ends when this post reaches 14 days.

If you need any help just ask :)
Good luck to all the participants!

Edit:
I decided as motivation I'll fold some models and add pics here :)
finished: pokeball(ps. it's way harder than it looks)
here it is next to a crochet stressball I made some time ago:
Untitled.png

Sort:  

Great idea, @ivan-g! I'd love to make a try. ^.^

Good luck, can't wait to see your entry :D

Minimum of 100 connected pieces

Oh wow, i never had tryed origami before and it seems soo much! xD

I will try one for the start ;D

It's not haha. Once you start, you'll keep adding pieces, coz they get spent so fast xD

I will give it a try tomorrow ;)

Thank you very much for the upvotes @bronkong !! :D
And for helping environment ^^

You just planted 0.25 tree(s)!


Thanks to @bronkong

We have planted already 3410.76 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20757.36
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Hola amigo @ivan-g. Estoy muy entusiasmado en participar. Pero para hacer un origami, tienen que ser alrededor de las 100 piezas? O pueden ser un poco mas?
Y si no es mucho pedirte, podrias pasar por mi blog y ver mis Publicaciones de origamis que he hecho anteriormente. Salu2

I think I understand. 100+ piezas, you can use a little less or a lot more. I'll check out your stuff :)

Great that you are having a contest. My thing right now is drawing, painting and digital design, so I'm not going to participate, but I'm gonna share this and hope that it is a great success!! - Ellen

Thanks for the resteem, good luck with your art ^^

Thank you @ivan-g - Good luck with the origami & I hope the contest is a success!

This is impressive, I wish I had the patience for it, I always failed even at basic origami.

Try it, its easier than it looks, i'll add some model tutorials tomorrow ^^

For those who want some ideas I suggest checking out here:
https://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?q=3d%20origami&rs=typed&term_meta[]=3d%7Ctyped&term_meta[]=origami%7Ctyped

:D

Looks like a cool contest! Good luck to everyone. Upvoted :)

Thank you :)

I dont imagine myself actually completing this. This is great!!! I can barely do a crane lol

This is easier than a crane, give it a try ^^

It never ceases to amaze me the different types of talent around on the platform! BIG PROPS!

Thanks, I've found some amazing stuff here as well

This is amazing, my friend. I am sure this takes a lot of time to create and patience as well. Really impressed. Keep sharing your amazing artwork. It is unique and special. I did not see anything like it on Steemit. :)

I think you should really join our Croatian channel. We would love to see you there. We got some amazing people and we all help each other over there. :)

Thank you, I'll be sure sure to join ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71