You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IFC - S1 : R32 entry - "Freedom"

in #contest6 years ago

Incredibly well written @youhavewings. I have often pondered on the whereabouts of the torch-bearers, light-bringers as you have so aptly named them. I believe this stems from our current dependence on technology and innovation. Prior to the Industrial Age our world was full of deep thinkers. Specifically the Renaissance, which is most known for it's great works of art, poetry and story-telling but is also the time in history where some of the greatest achievers in the mental arts were alive.

I also believe you hit the nail on the head with your comparison of slavery to our current day situation of being slaves to our jobs. Halfway through reading this I was reminded of some prior reading I did on one of our country's (U.S.A.) former Presidents Thomas Jefferson who is still a huge controversial subject on slavery. Although he was a detractor of slavery he also maintained a large host of slaves. This prompted me to do some reading at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Jefferson_and_slavery.

Very thought provoking post. Great job!

Sort:  

Ha! Your comment means the world to me, @jbreheny. Writing in this format is a new for me as you know (that critical voice). Thank you!

I have often pondered on the whereabouts of the torch-bearers, light-bringers as you have so aptly named them. I believe this stems from our current dependence on technology and innovation.

I believe you are right. I always feel like a fish out of water when I'm in social groupings these days as everyone is so linked to their iphones....it's become an appendage to conversation. I'll say something and someone is already 'looking it up' and answering with the first link that comes up and that becomes their opinion on the topic. Email has even fallen by the way side replaced by text messages in small little bite-size pieces of incomplete sentences and emoji's. I am definitely no fan of iphones - I use mine as a camera and gps and seldom answer if someone texts or calls on it ;) I don't like the EMF issue with them either. But for the most part, I just don't like what they have done to human interaction and conversation. There isn't a day that goes by that I'm not behind someone on the cell phone texting while driving, too. Ugh No fan. I'm quite sure this is here to stay though...it gets harder and harder to maintain my stubborn stance when this is the way the rest of the world communicates.

So, amazing to read about Thomas Jefferson and the slaves. I will have to spend a considerable amount of time digging into this interesting history. My son loves history so much so maybe we will dive in together (the beauty of homeschooling). :) Thank you for the link - prompted my interest.

I find myself doing research on something that will pop into my head when I'm reading posts, like I did with Thomas Jefferson while reading your post. Turns into a whole educational affair. How long have you been home-schooling your son? Our sons last day of school is 5/18 (next Friday) and then we will be home-schooling him (road-schooling actually). We can't wait. He's so ridiculously intelligent. He learns so much watching YouTube videos and blowsboth my wife and myself away with some of the things he's learned.

You are absolutely right in the fact that phones / technology aren't going away, we just need to learn to be more considerate of others while using our technology. Especially when driving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87