$100 Graphic Design Contest: Make My First Header!

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

steem header design contest 1.png

Would you design a cover image for my profile and then post it in the comments because I will then send you a $100 SBD tip as my thank you when you get the most upvotes on your comment?

  1. To participate, would you please make individual entries by posting a comment below with one header picture at a time attached that you wish to submit because this is the easiest way I can think of for everyone to participate?
  2. To win, earn the highest upvoted comment with your header image combined with my ability to veto. For example, if I do not like the #1 comment header, I may veto and go with the second highest paid comment.
  3. To contribute to picking the winner, would you please upvote the images you would most like to see as my new cover image because this will reward everyone participating and making an effort? I plan to upvote most comments with entries even if that design is not chosen.
  4. When the payouts are finalized in 7 days, I will notify the winner with a tip from @tipu for $100 SBD in exchange for buying copyright to the image submitted!
  5. Looking for a new header for your own profile? I hope this contest will help with that!

Thank you to @johnycrypto for suggesting my profile deserves a better header image! Here is the contest you inspired!

Love,
Jerry Banfield

Sort:  

I would like to hereby submit my already-completed, sadly-overlooked, and totally inappropriately formatted design below:

Devil's Advocate 6.5.jpg

I will await your 100 SBD.

For the obvious complaint (& higher res):

Devil's Advocate 6 flipped.jpg

Edit: I agree to photoshop in the bleached-tips if my design is selected. It's the least I can do!

@lexiconical this is by far the funniest thank you :)

Sir, you have made it clear that you are not only a gentleman and a scholar, but also a generous patron of the arts.

Bravo.

lol

i dont know who you are, or where you came from, but you have my upvote and follow. BRILLIANT.

I promise your patronage of the arts will lead to further late 80's movie photoshops:

Back To The Future.jpg

AW HEAAALLLZZ YEAH! Lol already getting a return on my follow investment! 😂

I'll admit, I am pulling these from my post archive, but hey...that's why I keep it.

Devil's Advocate 1-2.jpg

Ok, ok, I think this one is actually early 90s.

I cant lolol! 😂 hey you made em you can do whatever you like with em!

You should go for this one @jerrybanfield 😂👌

Your support and eye for aesthetics are much appreciated.

Now that is quality! :-)

I try to give the people what they want.

This might be the greatest example of spec work ever.

You, good fellow, have an eye for talent.

Dude 😂😂😂😂

Pretty epic!

You can't force this kind of inspiration. You have to let it wash over you at a time and place of its own choosing.

I am merely a vessel through which this particular bit of human creativity decided to pass through.

tip!

you nailed it! perfect!

It can be difficult waiting for "artist's block" to pass, but occasionally a subject will provide you with some material that simply jumps off the page at you with obvious application potential.

You made me giggle 😁

Thank you, I do what I can with the crude tools to which I am accustomed.

In this case, MS paint. And google, lots of that.

BROOOO :D

ok i had to have a go!

I overlaid your bio info to give you a sense of how it will look in place.. If you want to use it i can send you a version that is blank of course!

jerrys-header-banner
click banner to view full size or to download it

If you go for it we can tweak it in many ways.. such as a different image of you with another colour t shirt, or a pink version of your Prayer Merch.. etc. etc.

That is very nice thank you Alex!

glad u like it! IF you do end up using this then im happy to tweak away.. there quite a few things we can play with.. seeing as its going to be your main header image we should get it right!

Congratulations Alex! You win the contest! I love the colors, the Steem logo on the left, the prayer design on the right, and the witness vote on the far right. Would you try a design with a red prayer shirt on the left and another picture you like of me on the right because I would love to see what that looked like? Tip! 100

hey jerry ! oh wow.. i cheered out loud when the Tipu notification came up ;-) THANK YOU for selecting my banner.. I'm humbled and very happy indeed ;-)

I can try out any number of options for you.. i will start as you have said and we can take it from there.. Ill try find a red T shirt image from your shop.. im sure ill have no trouble finding another picture of you from the great many options! ok standby, coming up!

ok; here are three options.. just click on them to see the large version.

banner1


banner2


banner-final3

Let me know what you think.. happy to play some more..

Alex I LOVE the second one at https://postimg.org/image/dpd5axq3d/. Would you make one of these I can upload to my profile and include maybe in the lower left or upper left corner "Art by @eco-alex" to give yourself credit because I will then switch this to my cover photo?

if you have any issue with quality you can try this one.. it is a compressed PNG.. im assuming you're going for the third option mr blue eyes!

jerrys-header-banner

okay! I'm glad you LOVE it.. that makes me happy!

So I have made a few versions with the credit in both places you mentioned.. Thank you for offering to do that, always nice to get a bit of credit huh!

I have also fixed your missing left shoulder

Finally, the third option has your eyes made nice and blue.. as they are naturally.. i think!

THANK YOU! look forward to seeing it on your page! <3

banner-final

banner-final2

banner-final3

click to see large version to download.

Let me know for any more tweaks..

Beautiful Alex! I love the first option and it is live now! It seems to zoom in a bit more which cuts the top and bottom out a little!

Alex you win the contest! Tip! 100

wow, wow, wow!

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

I like this design. Do you do websites too?

Hahaaa ! No doubt

nice banner!

thank you!! glad u like it.. nice to see some positive engagement ;-)

Congrats!
Your design coooooool^^

thanks @skyleap ! im happy with it also!

I don't know if I am too late or not but here is my entry For Your Header Design I hope You like it.

Jerry.jpg

This comment has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This comment has received a 14.24 % upvote from @khoa

thanks to: @arunava.@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@----------------------------------------------SEND ANY AMOUNT TO GET AN UPVOTE

@arunava, I love the modern design, nice work. I hope you win, good luck!

Looks cool mate!

This post received a 75% upvote from @krwhale thanks to @arunava! For more information, click here!
이 글은 @arunava님의 소중한 스팀/스팀달러를 지원 받아 75% 보팅 후 작성한 글입니다. 이 글에 대한 자세한 정보를 원하시면, click here!

Thank you for sharing your design!

I hope you like it.

Hello @jerrybanfield, I'm Brandon and you had me at Graphic Design!

Let's see if we can give you something better than boring.

I have created a design for you that I hope you like! I noticed your website has a nice, clean design and I pulled the color that I used from your page (to keep things cohesive) and I think the white text will pop nicely with the colors.

banfield-banner-custom-contest-entry-grow-pro-notype.gif

ZOOM:


banfield-banner-zoom-growpro.png

If you would like to see the non-animated version, I'll gladly drop it to you, message me in steemit.chat here.

I assumed you wouldn't want people using your banner before you even pick the winner, so... 😆I can drop you a non-watermarked, no-blinky-blinky version in chat if you'd like.

I can customize this and alter it as you wish, should you choose my work. And for anyone that could use some aesthetic assistance - let's chat!

Made by - @grow-pro

Looks nice thank you very much for sharing Brandon!

Thank you for hosting the contest, Jerry! All about having fun and doing what we enjoy - and I enjoyed making and sharing this.

Why would someone downvote this? Was that an accident, @cynbedthia?

NO ACCIDENT, MY FRIEND!

@cynbedthia DOWNVOTED ENTRIES & NOT JUST MINE.


Don't forget to thank her appropriately if you've entered work. How kind ☹️

*Edit: I Upvoted every entry (with the exception of my own) that was DOWNVOTED by @cynbedthia to offset that negativity.

bad vibes !! @how negative ???

well done for catching this, and even offsetting her flags. Let's just pull together as a positive force and stop anymore nonsense like that. She may not even know what flagging really means or does, so let's hope she responds to my comment and stops doing it!

Here's a tip! for your efforts, i appreciate team players very much @grow-pro !

I'd love to thank @roadscape for Steemd.com and @jesta for Steemdb.com for the incredible tools. It made this much easier to spot and provided me the details necessary to make meaningful change - the best way I know how.

Rather than flagging her post (which I think is abusing the system in place), I figured that my voting power could easily offset the downvotes.

to contribute to picking the winner, would you please upvote the images you would most like to see as my new cover image because this will reward everyone participating and making an effort?

and then I saw:
Screen Shot 2017-09-20 at 6.11.45 PM.png

I don't think it was accidental - she proved to me she knows how to vote correctly - she voted for two of her own entries. 😆

I do not self-vote, but to each is own. However, when I see abuse of my fellow Steemians, especially so many creatives in one place - I feel obligated​ to do something. There is no place for that here. WE ARE A TEAM.

I appreciate the response and the tip @eco-alex. I'd also like to thank everyone that chooses to make this platform enjoyable.
Peace & Steem Power to All ✌️😎

very strange! @cynbedthia flagged nearly all the top entries.. I've commented on her post to ask her why she is doing this.. Bad form !

I like the simplicity of the first one.

BIG THANKS to @finnian & BIG THANKS to @libertyteeth for the votes!

Nice great way to get the community to participate

I totally agree, got me off my duff this morning

Thank you Marco!

Lovely creative contest Jerry! And such a generous reward!

Your contest inspired me to create a tutorial post on how to create these header banners so that they look great work well on all devices.

Anyone who wants to enter this competition might find this really helpful. I've also included a downloadable template that you can use to work from!

I hope this is of use to some of you who are good designers but less technical!


HOW TO CREATE A STEEMIT HEADER IMAGE TUTORIAL: STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTIONS AND TECHNICAL INFO INCLUDING: BANNER SIZE, MOBILE VIEW, COVER TEXT READABILITY, RESOLUTION, IMAGE SIZE OPTIMISATION....
» https://steemit.com/steemit/@eco-alex/how-to-create-a-steemit-header-image-tutorial-step-by-step-instructions-and-technical-info-including-banner-size-mobile-view

Very nice Alex thank you for letting me know the contest inspired your tutorial!

@jerrybanfield This looked like a little bit of fun to be had... :)

Here is my "entry" :)

Simplistic.... but less is more in my opinion :) Sadly the thumbnail does not really do it justice...

Hope you like it! hehe

Either way... it was fun to do!

nom nom nom :)

you are sweetie and funny Jay, I love your posts too ;-)
I like your less is more in this case ;-) very good draw, I nominated you.

MEOW MEOW
emilio e raphael.jpg

giphy (2).gif

This one has my vote simple stands outb

Thank you :)

Your welcome

@jaynie This one is really amazing😉
You got my vote👍

Thank you :)

You are welcome 😊 really amazing design.
A woman with many talents.. Lol

I vote @jaynie for the win. #thealliance rocks

Much love - thank you!!! :)

simple yet futuristic. love this @jaynie! here's my vote. :)

thank you :)

Given your design experience @jaynie I am very excited to see your entry here! Thank you very much for your contribution!

Thank you @jerrybanfield - It was fun :) Don't do much design these days, so enjoyed this :)

Is that b suppost to be bandfield or bitcoin, why not j for jerry?

I see JB there

lol, im color blind. I see a little bit of a j, lot of people that are color blind.

It's actually hard to see xD

This comment has received a 49.99 % upvote from @khoa

thanks to: @dang007.@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@----------------------------------------------SEND ANY AMOUNT TO GET AN UPVOTE

if you look at it with a keen eye... you will see that there is both a J and a B - for @jerrybanfield

The surname, is normally what is important to a man... and the fact that Jerry's happens to be a "B" - and ends up looking like bitcoin... is a bonus for him I suppose. lol but as I said... the small thumbnail, doesn't really do it justice, but it is in fact a "J and B" together :)

Jerr could be color blind like me , we dont know that.

could be....

Excellent work! good luck!

Thank you :) Did it for fun really, but winning wouldnt be bad :)

whoop whoop thank you :)

Lol the cat design is great :) tip!

LOL where do i hire you...

Haha! Cool! :)

This is pretty funny. I like cats but prefer​ dogs. :) @jerrybanfield and @alexeysaharovski
I thought it was a header for our own page. I must not have understood the contest. Next time. :)

Boom! First. This is a 2048x512px full resolution header. The text should show up in all screen sizes except for mobile. Happy to change wording, etc.

Thanks for doing this @jerrybanfield, a good way to give back to the community!

jerry-banfield.jpg

For anyone who wants a header of their own, just comment below and I'll be happy to make one for you as well. Or you can use my free .PSD template and make your own. Up to you! :)

~ Kevin

Wow. You just copied the 17th entry if you search Steemit in Google picture search and the you put some simple font over it.

And? Sometimes simplicity is best. No need to be rude, if you don't like it, make one that's better and compete!

Simplicity ishould be thenature of man

Right but is the origonal image fair use, or copyright? If you were doing it for hypothetical dollars no one would care

The BG is purchased from Shutterstock and the Steemit logo is public domain

well I like it I was just curious, thanks!

No worries!

~ Kevin

it was GOOD! that is all that is important!

yes but you have to admit that is a cool one

Hey, if you have the time I'd love one ☺️

Sure thing, just send me a large background image you like and any / all words you'd want!

Hmm, what to choose?
Don't you have something simplistic that's already done?

The only words that I need :superhuman, amazing @cipas king of the universe!
Just kidding!
I haven't thought much about this actually.

:P - All you need to do is send me a background image, I'll do the rest my friend :)

How's this? I tried to get the moon in the middle, but the way it was taken means I had to put it to the side.

~ Kevin

steemit-header.jpg

It's great! Love it! I have lots of pictures of the moon but they are on the laptop. It's almost time to sleep now. Clock rings att 5am 😢
How should I pay you and how do I use this? Copy the picture adress and paste in my settings?

No need to pay me my friend. Yes, just copy the address and paste it in the settings!

Well, thank you very much. I appreciate it :)

I am sorry but the highest upvoted is not the best header. You should choose by yourself if people are not able to decide. It is also unfair, because one whalevote and you have a winner on a mediocre header... even if others are better

he got veto power to choose for himself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62