Sort:  

Stray animals are a big issue in many places, you're right about that. For some time I lived in a in a very poor immigrant neighborhood here in NTX. It was also a place people went to abandon their unwanted animals. On top of that, the neighborhood inhabitants generally did not take good care of their animals. So there was a huge stray presence there, mixed with the local population of outdoor pets.

Just like your area the shelters and rescues here are way overloaded and underfunded. Seeing the senselessness of the situation got me to a point where I was angry, disappointed and overwhelmed. We fed and gave very basic care to the animals when we could, and eventually adopted one of the dogs and a kitten that had been abandoned, but there were always more animals coming. 💔💔

On a lighter note, there is a grey country cat that has been coming around here this year. We thought she was abandoned because she showed up out of nowhere (with a black and white companion) and she was very vocal, friendly and healthy.

She was hanging out around the yard for a time so we started leaving dry cat food. That's when she vanished! She was absent for more than a month before she started coming around again recently. She doesn't really qualify as a stray imo, so she's ineligible for this contest.

Do you know of any animal charities or organizations that take crypto donations?

Thanks for the post @ kristyglas! Take care.

First of all, you may join with that cat and it isn't your :) As you have helped and adopted strays ^^ Thank you for doing that and sharing. I'd love to see photos of them! Yeah it gets a bit overhelming sometimes, but more people are learning that you can feed a lot of cheap and safe stuff to the strays. Cooked rice / potatoes are mostly fillers, but certainly better than nothing. I started using rice when I saw a video of a guy in India feeding so many strays. I've been getting cheap wet cat food for these, but I'm starting to add other stuff when I can :) Managed to put the cream on the little one's eyes with earsticks today :P Will see if that works.

It's a bit sad but adorable how happy the strays look when they see me when I feed more times. Even if it has been a while they remember :)

I just hope the government starts sterilizing cats as they do dogs, sooner than later.
As for crypto shelters I don't know, but was gonna ask as well. If no one enters I'll just send sbd to one, but I still hope at least a couple to enter ^^
I love your new user picture ^^

Here are some pics of the adopted strays I mentioned :^] These were taken in 2014.

The dog was named Trick. She looked like a cross between a cairn terrier and a corgi because she had the big, pointy ears and scruffy face like a cairn and the short legs and longer body of a corgi. Trick was very sweet and intelligent, one of the best dogs I've ever known. She was also very quirky. For instance, one of her favorite foods was fresh green beans, she loved them!

Okay, now the cats. They showed up one day when they were very little. We fed them and gave them water because they acted like they were "ours". One day there was only one kitten left, we never found out what happened to the other one. So we officially took in the remaining kitten and called him GP, for Ginger Puss. Both Trick and GP were sterilized, vaccinated and examined by a vet to make sure they were healthy. I was very sad the day I moved because I was unable to take them with me. Thankfully, my ex-boyfriend was able to maintain care of them and provide them with a home when I moved.

steemit-enternamehere-orange-kittens-dog.jpg

steemit-enternamehere-orange-kittens.jpg

As for the grey country cat, I don't have any pics of her eating. This pic is from the 3rd of June this year, she's drinking some water we left in a bowl. She hasn't been back around since then.
steemit-enternamehere-grey-cat-drinking.jpg

Although (IMO) the stray pet population is out of control because of people, helping the animals we come across who need it feels good. I don't know if it really counts for anything in the grand scheme of things, but that judgement might not be up to me. Thanks again for interacting, it's always appreciated!

Thank you for sharing! They're adorable! :D
Sorry you had to leave them, maybe adopt a new stray? :)
Yeah I've thought about that saving a few strays may mean even more strays :S
The dogs are thankfully sterilized here and they get ear chips, but the bigger problem is people keep dumping more animals :/ even puppies. Those might not get sterilized for a while. I hope government or private shelters might sooner or later start sterilizing cats as well.

Loading...

Amazing initiative! So nice of you doing this for the kitties and doggies. Thank you a lot for your kindness! 😊

Thank you, but I hope to inspire and motivate a few others to do the same :) there is only so much I can do alone and so many starving animals left.

Wow, that's really a great idea. That's how to combine fun with something really helpful and nice! We don't have many stray cats or dog in Switzerland luckily. The shelter system is helped by the law and the confederation. What we can do is to go to the shelter and pick a dog for a walk!

That's lovely, I hope more countries will learn to do that :D I hope they will sooner than later :)

I worked for a farel cat rescue for a while - are there any privately run shelters in the area? Sometimes you can find shelter "families/farms" where families foster 10 to 11 cats/kittens and circulate those numbers throughout the year. I would look into farms in the area - sometimes it can lead to shelters you didn't know existed.

Aww thank you for volunteering! :D
Also thank you for the info :)
The rescue I contacted is a private one for cats. They said they're 3 women fostering 80 cats and a few dogs atm :S and they said just this capital city has around 200 000 stray cats Q.Q I can't confirm this online however, but I've seen maany cats and dogs. Even though this is a small country.
At least I've seen some locals feeding them sometimes. (I'm not from here, but have been living for a while now. )

De verdad que te felicito por tan noble labor!! Ojala motives a muchos a participar hay tantos gatos y perros abandonados, necesitando un poco de alimento, Dios premiara tu buena voluntad!!

Thank you for the good wishes :) I hope you find some time to participate! Also if you can, please resteem so more people join :D

Te prometo que lo hare!!

I am afraid I can't join this time. I know there are parks and backstreets with stray cats and dogs but they have volunteers feeding them regularly. I may find volunteer group and donate them. They have the skill to help the cats and dogs. Resteem first^^

Thank you for spreading the word ^-^
I don't know how it's in other countries, really glad to hear there are many volunteers! A bit of help always counts as it can motivate others to try as well.
Yeahh it's better if you have training, but many strays eat from trashcans here, so all leftover food counts :)

I even saw another stranger give food today ^^

As it's the last day: I will alow entries of adopted stray pets from shelter or street :) But you have to write some interesting text can't be just photo ^^

Happily, I do not have strays near me! Yey! But also sadly, cos I was hoping to enter this none drawing round, that said, I may get the pen out and see what I can manage, not that I can draw, but hey, trying is always fun.

Although I don't have any strays, I do have a very lovely population of little wild birds that I leave food out for, would that count?

Hey ^^ I'll accept it if there are no legit entries. Same applies to everyone then.
Don'tworry soon it will be a poem contest week ;D
I hope you try for the art one as well, I'd love to see ^^

It is admirable that you interest in helping homeless animals, sometimes we prefer to adopt a pet from the store that pick up one that is abandoned, those small actions are the ones that change the world!

Sadly I can't have pets at the moment so I can at least help a bit :)
Will you be joining the contest? ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94