Daily Brain Games 37 - how witty are you?

in #contest6 years ago

BrainGames cover New.002.jpeg

Results of DBG 36

Hi everyone, thanks a lot for sending your answers to me! This was the correct solution of DBG 36:

1 agate

2 aquamarines

3 peridots

4 opals

5 emeralds


I received 12 correct solutions (there was a tight competition at the first two places):

Screen Shot 2018-05-08 at 18.36.16.png

The winner was @im4g1n4t10n receiving 1 SBD + 6 XP. Congratulations!


I generated a random number to see who wins the 0.25 SBD. The random number generated was 9, therefore the winner of the random reward is the sixth person sending in the correct answer:

Screen Shot 2018-05-08 at 18.36.27.png

The random reward of 0.25 SBD + 3 XP goes to @poyim. Congratulations!


Today's puzzle

Divide the grid into four regions, each containing four numbers​ so that the total of each region is the same. (Cells within the regions must be attached by their sides, meeting only at the corners is not acceptable.)

Screen Shot 2018-05-08 at 18.44.16.png

To participate in the contest, please do the following:

  1. Upvote the post.

  2. Send your answer to me either as a private message on Discord (@ksolymosi#5065) or in an e-mail message ([email protected]). If you use Discord, please make sure that your Discord name is the same as your Steemit name, otherwise, it will be difficult for me to find you...

  3. Comment on the post containing the puzzle mentioning where I should look for your answer (for example „Answer sent via Discord").

Important

Don't post your solution under the post containing the puzzle because then you ruin the game of others!

The answer should contain the identification number of the puzzle, too (for example DBG 11).

Answers should arrive until I post the results of the actual game (usually between 12.00 am and 8.00 pm UTC+1, but exceptions might occur...). This leaves approximately a 12-24 hour time window to send me your answers. (Answers arriving later will not be considered.)

It is possible to correct your answer by sending another solution, but only the last message will be considered for the reward. (So if you send the good answer first and then send another message with a wrong one, then, unfortunately, the wrong one will „participate" in the game.)

Please do not ask clarifying questions. I do my best to phrase instructions as clearly as possible. So everyone should work from the amount of information given in the post.

Detailed rules and information on the scoring and rewards can be found here and here.

DBG banner.png

Source of images:
Cover
Author: Julia Freeman-Woolpert (a member of freeimages.com)
Banner
Author: Lisa Kong (a member of freeimages.com)

All other images and pictures are made by me.

Sort:  

Hey everyone, I have been thinking about changing the game plan for a couple of days now, but this discussion makes me do it a little faster. There will be a few changes in the game plan soon, so I ask for your patience for a little while.

Thanks for all the support!

Answer sent via email

How are you always so fast! Do you somehow get notifications on when the DBG are posted? Or do you live on Steemit 24/7?! LoL.

I just looked that up. Hmm... interesting...

Well first thing i was in a big hurry today when when the game was posted, i did not even read the task correctly, so i had to submit another answer little bit later so i think onefatindian will win this one.
And second i created an app that alerts me every time when new game is posted.
50 sbd if someone wants to buy it. :D

Sounds like good news for @onefatindian.
Wow. You created your own app.? Very cool. Well arn’t you a smart cookie. :P
My entire steem account isn’t even worth half of 50 SBD. lol. I’m just on here for fun. The daily puzzles from @ksolymosi Is definitely one of my favourite things to do on here.

Well, good luck tomorrow!

I should have waited with my reveal that there is no app to see more comments ... :)

Haha. Ok. You got me.

Hehe one more bought it (story) :P

Lol that's awesome that you made an app for this purpose. As an avid tech guy myself, mind if I ask what language/environment you used?

I'm just messing with you guys hehe it was a joke, there is no app, i just spend a lot of time in front of a pc.
I just wanted to see who will believe it :P
Actually i am solid in front end web development, but got no knowledge about daps and blockchain technology.

the blockchain can be queried in a lot of ways, PHP, javascript, python. What language are you familiar with?

I'm good in JS(but more functional programming and less OOP). Also HTML, CSS, Sass, Jquery, Bootstrap... you get the point. I know only basics of PHP and little bit of ReactJS.

So no problem for you either. The only decision to make is, will you query the blockchain or query a database with blockchain data.

Blockchain is slow in query but uptodate. For database it is the other way around.

Sweet! Languages of the past include Perl, Visual Basic.NET, SQL and some Java. Just a couple days back I started on C# (console apps, Windows apps and a bit of Unity :P).

Seems like you have enough knowledge to get an app based on the blockchain to work :)

I get notificatiin on discord by GINABOT but i always see notificatiin late.

Yep, it is not perfect. That is the reason why I won't send in my answer any more. I like the puzzles though so will upvote and resteem, and solve of course :)

good luck everyone

Thanks for your support, but why don't you send in your answer?

Most of the fun is solving the puzzle. Winning is an extra. To end up in the top 3 eventually you do have to have one or more daily wins. That is unfortunately almost impossible if you are not continuously online. So there is no real purpose in sending the answer.

Even when I thought I was the first one yesterday, I came in second :)

I am not complaining. You obviously put a lot of effort in keeping score. Tracking down where and when answers were posted. Putting new puzzles online daily.

The first one doesn't have to be the one who solved the puzzle fastest, but there is no way to determine who actually did. So first one in is fine. It just doesn't work for me :)

Yes, I agree. But I still think it’s fun to participate and send my answer in in hopes of getting the random draw win. Which I did for yesterday’s puzzle! :) I was surprised too since there were 12 correct answers.

Yes I noticed, congratz.

I sent you an e-mail on this very topic...

Thanks for the win!
My answer sent via email.

this one was fun to solve

Answer sent via e-mail

Didn't receive unfortunately...

No problem - however as you will see in e-mail message I sent you again - I had sent it.
Thanks though for the interesting puzzle I had the opportunity to solve.

Answer sent via email

Answer sent via email

my answer sent via discord

Solution sent via email.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95