Daily Brain Games 59 - how witty are you?

in #contest6 years ago

BrainGames cover New.002.jpeg

Results of DBG 58

Hi everyone, thanks a lot for sending your answers to me! (Again, please those who have 0 SBD upvote, support the project somehow otherwise I cannot give you rewards!)

This was the correct solution of DBG 58:

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 5.59.00.png

I received 4 correct solutions:

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 8.09.39.png

The winner was @im4g1n4t10n receiving 1 SBD + 18 XP. Congratulations!


I generated a random number to see who wins the 0.25 SBD. The random number generated was 3, therefore the winner of the random reward is the third person sending in the correct answer:

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 8.10.46.png

The random reward of 0.25 SBD goes to @unsaymono. Congratulations!


Today's puzzle

Place the numbers 1 to 12 into the circles so that the distance between the successive pairs of numbers (measured between the centers of the corresponding circles) is always increasing. In other words, the distance between 1 an 2 must be less than the distance between 2 and 3, which in turn must be less than the distance between 3 and 4 etc.

Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 6.07.03.png

To participate in the contest, please do the following:

  1. Upvote the post (if your upvote is 0 SBD, please send a small bid by a bid bot to be able to receive the SBD rewards).

  2. Send your answer to me either as a private message on Discord (@ksolymosi#5065) or in an e-mail message ([email protected]). If you use Discord, please make sure that your Discord name is the same as your Steemit name, otherwise, it will be difficult for me to find you...

  3. Comment on the post containing the puzzle mentioning where I should look for your answer (for example „Answer sent via Discord").

Important

Don't post your solution under the post containing the puzzle because then you ruin the game of others!

The answer should contain the identification number of the puzzle, too (for example DBG 11).

Detailed rules and information on the scoring and rewards can be found here.

DBG banner.png

Source of images:
Cover
Author: Julia Freeman-Woolpert (a member of freeimages.com)
Banner
Author: Lisa Kong (a member of freeimages.com)

All other images and pictures are made by me.

Sort:  

Emailed Answer.
—-

Awe. Boo... I thought my (creative) answer was good. It also works and within the rules...

EF127712-0F48-4356-98A4-E2DFD005C532.jpeg

@poyim @ksolymosi I had the exact same answer!!
There are four regions, they can be rotated, and they fit within the rules.
Why do you not accept this answer? It's creative and it works.

I agree with you that the rules aren't always clear until you see the correct answer. Like # 56. I entered a correct unbroken loop, but upon seeing the answer I realised a closed loop was the object. Probably due to English not being ksolymosi's first language. Same here, where I assumed/guessed that each region was to be connected with itself (a nonomino so). But it is not to be found in the text at all. This can be frustrating if you miss ksolymosi's intention. P.S. I like your answer; creative!

Thanks for that :D

It just reminds me of DBG #35, where @doughtaker "invented" another possible solution. In that one, the rules were not quite clear, yet @doughtaker 's solution was accepted...

https://steemit.com/contest/@ksolymosi/daily-brain-games-weekly-leaderboard-and-winners-1st-week-of-may

Yeah, I agree. Why was that one ok and not this one? Right? Especially since the rules were followed in this case.

I see 36 regions in ur solutions instead of 4...so I am not sure if it can be considered a correct answer. But @doughtaker's solution was a valid one confirming the rules of that puzzle

Just my opinion, @ksolymosi is the one to decide :-)

In my head, because the corners touch, it’s together, hense 4 regions. But I guess if other people don’t see it that way than it would be 36 regions and not right. So good point.

@mchandra If we start to dissect the rules, then I refer you to DBG #46 where @ksolymosi says to start in a corner. Unfortunately for me, our definitions of a corner varied, so I did not have a successful answer for that one, even though I thought I really did.

https://steemit.com/contest/@ksolymosi/daily-brain-games-46-how-witty-are-you

This comes down to definition... but the grid has been divided into four regions of exactly the same size and shape.

I do agree some questions are not straight forward and it comes to how we understand the question. I had the same doubt but whichever i choose as the corner, the answer to the puzzle was still 15...you either start at 2 or at 3 based on what you consider as the corner.

I understood the running race puzzle in a different way and assumed that my solution was correct. But @ksolymosi said that the clues were to be understood differently.

End of the day, these daily brain games give a good workout to my brain and any rewards I get along is an added bonus. So, lets enjoy and solve more puzzles. :-)

the regions in your solution are not well defined...those small squares touch each other at a point...if you consider them still part of same region...the cells B and D also touch each other the same way...just that u have coloured them differently.

I personally don't agree that your solution has 4 regions...I consider them as 36 regions...eventually its not my decision that matters :-)

Thanks!
I didn’t know English was not her first language, but most of the puzzles are worded well. I think we should be allowed to ask questions for clarification sometimes.

I also didn’t do a closed loop at first but I re-read the puzzle and re-submitted my answer. So you missed a part of the rule in 56.
According to the rules of the last puzzle, I think my answer is still correct.

No, an "unbroken loop" is not the same as a "closed loop". Although the latter can have two different explanations, an "unbroken loop" does not dictate the start- and endpoint to be the same. In fact, that would be weird in real life (take the Hyperloop for example). With a loop (in travel) you can traverse in both directions, that's all. I regarded that puzzle as a snake game.

So after seeing the correct (accepted) answer, I understood what the intention was. But that was too late for me, obviously. Asking a question was not in my mind, as I hadn't realized that ksolymosi might think of a loop in a different way. Also, I kinda agree that allowing questions clutters and takes away part of the fun (in other words - getting what is meant is part of it).

Having said that. It still can be frustrating when that happens. In any case, I wholeheartedly agree with the notion that ksolymosi decides no matter what.

Your explanation of loop just went over my head there. LoL.

Sure. Questions do clutter a bit but getting a clear understanding is more beneficial to the fun and the game in my opinion. Also, I think more people might participate if they have a better understanding of the puzzle at hand.

Yeah, I agree that no matter what it is ksolymosi’s decision since it is her game and her rules. She puts in all the hard work for creating the fun for us.

Well, your points are noted, I'll try to do my best to improve my explanations on the instructions... :-)

I agree with @mchandra that these are 36 regions not four... :-)

I see 36 here :-0

I have to agree with @mchandra that these are 36 regions, colouring simply doesn't bring these squares together... So no, this does not work within the rules if you ask me :-)

Answered via Steemit.

answer via email

Answer sent via email

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99