The Old Dog Discovers: Strange, Beautiful And Unknown Flowers! Contest!

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

I just got back from a quick 5 day trip to Southern Ontario during which time I visited Allan Gardens in Toronto.

This park and indoor botanical garden covers over 16,000 square feet and houses plants and flowers from all around the world. 

Here Are Some of The Flowers That I Saw!


Although many of the plants and flowers were labelled I didn't write down the ones that I am displaying here. All of them were previously never seen by me and I found these ones particularly fascinating!












Here's a Look At a Portion of The Outside of Allan Gardens


 

What About You? Contest!

  • What strange, beautiful and unknown flowers have you seen?
  • Show them to me in your comments and I'll make a post rewarding the best ones!
  • There will be a prize of one Steem each for the top five
  • The contest ends seven days
  • There is a limit of two entries per person

Do You Like Contests?


If you like contests and would like to see more of them here on the Steem Blockchain please consider upvoting my post. Contests help our community so spread the word!  

Thanks for following me on my blockchain travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you.  
 

Until next time,

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

Well Old Dog, these may not be the most exotic, but they are my personal orchids so I thought I would put them in :)

This first one is showing some wear on the blooms as they are the older ones

crash2.jpg


These are a bit younger.

crash.jpg

Gorgeous! I love the shade of blue!

You are always too kind to me :)

Nice shots, Paul:)

Aww thank you Pryde!

Amazing shade and beautiful flowers.

IMG_20170831_104630.jpg
My beautiful stranger from Costa Rica:)

I love it! 😍

Very cool!!

I have no photographs of exotic or rare flowers.

I propose these two photos taken during my walks in the countryside.

image.png

image.png

I often realize that we are surrounded by beauty, isn't it?

Thanks for joining in the fun.

Well, I need to read how many entries I can have. Here is my second entry!

Wow, these are beautiful! I am afraid I cannot identify any of them though :D

Here is my entry - as far as I remember, it should be a wild growing ginger. I captured it in a jungle in Costa Rica.

IMG_20170831_104112.jpg

So beautiful!

Striking color!

I found this flower growing at the back of the border at the local gardens.

image

I think it wants to be an elephant!

It sure looks that way!

What a beauty certainly looks like a elephant trunk :)))))

Hehe! Yes! :)

I photographed this plant on October 30 last year, on the side of the road in Moldova. I visited many forests and fields of Moldova, I walked many kilometers, I met many different plants, but I met this plant only once. In Ukraine, Yandex is not working by searching for a picture, Google does not find such. I could not classify this plant. I will come back later, again, when the voting scale is charged.

DSC02808.JPG

Very interesting

I definitely saw it repeatedly here in Sevastopol. Should consult with my records, maybe will tell you the name.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much @xorb!

Verbascum sinuatum (Коровяк выемчатый)

Posted using Partiko Android

Here's my entry. It was taken from my friend's flower garden.

image.png

Thanks for joining us.

Okay, now I am serious. Here is entry #1. It is an Iris but what strain of iris I am not sure. The closest I could find was a Siberian iris but it lacked the yellow at the base of the petal that is typical.

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9VQzAdqy6j7smyb1jBYJunx5qQBpbmekYYKMeA6J3JX8iDuRz1i81pH36ysqDW8SCnvnmP2J8MCGFxr.jpeg

The color is magnificent. I have to look for this. I don't recognize it, or it is a hybrid.

I looked online to try to pinpoint its species and with no luck. So I have no idea.

@ kus-knee Hello dear friend, Your contests are excellent, I appreciate them very much.
This is my entrance, it is a wild plant of the families of orchids, they are very little known, there is only in this area of the world
I hope you like it
I wish you a prosperous week

Very interesting!

It is a truly different one @jlufer!

@dswigle Hi dear friend, It's true, it's a very strange flower, it's the wild type and we're amazed that it has appeared in the back of our house.
I wish you a great day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50