IBT#3 - Proposed campaign map and game play

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

This is the final feedback post, the next post will be enrolment for IBT#3 and the game with start...yay!!

I just wanted to share the current strategy for the campaign map to see if there any concerns/objections? 

I understand it might not be at the depth level everyone would wish for, but I trust @doctorcrypto 's advice on keeping it simple for now and these IBT's are still experimental.

...We can always make it a bit more complex for IBT#4. Anyways, here is the plan: 

Overall game and campaign map 

Its self paced, self managed  progression - so I will do post battles for each Stage  on the campaign map. I’ll try to do one every day (but no guarantee’s as life gets in the way), to give people a chance to get into it and play every night if possible - Of course you can play at your own pace up until the post payout for each battle in the typical IBT style.

The general game play principal is that you will face progressively harder to defeat villains at each next stage on the campaign map. 

So if you’re at Stage One – you need to reply with your attack using freeform text  and finish with the @rollthedice on a fresh line. This will activate the dice bot and you’ll get your attack strength number. 

To explore Stage battles in more depth:

The villain at Stage One will have a general weakness to either physical or magical attacks. I looked at a more complex way of using classes but in the end I think it’s a bit too soon and not everyone who plays will be experienced gamers – in other words I’m going to keep this IBT#3 simple as possible for classes

For example: You face a villain on the Stage One battle post, she is a Sand witch with strength of 2; and has a weakness to physical attacks. 

Special field affect for Stage One Villain (Sand witch) might be:

  • Warrior class + 1 to dice roll 
  • The Thief class 0 to dice roll 
  • Wizard class -1 to dice roll 

..Now, lets pretend I’m a warrior class, so I reply with “lordnigel the warrior attacks with super toast making slicer to the Sand witches head @rollthedice” 

The @rollthedice bot replies with a dice roll of a 1. As I am a warrior class, I get plus 1 due to the Special field affect – presto I reached the required minimal dice score of two; I can move on to Stage two and did not lose a life point (I'll also share in the Steem for this post for winning in the first go).

 ...Now, lets pretend I’m a Wizard class, so I reply with “lordnigel the wizard attacks with lightening strike to the sand witches groin @rollthedice”. The @rolldice bot replies with a dice roll of a 2. As I am a wizard class, I get - 1 due to the Special field affect  giving me only a score of 1 (but I needed a 2 or more to defeat the Sand witch). Therefore I lose a life point and must attack again if I wish to progress to Stage Two. 

NOTE: as I did not win the fight in the first attempt, I will also not share in a split of the Steem prize payout for this post. 

..Now, let’s pretend I’m a Thief class, so I reply with “lordnigel the thief picks the Sand witches pocket @pickpocket” The @pickpocket bot replies with, “Sweet, you received a magic rabbit’s foot that gives you +1 to every dice roll.” 

Happy with this bonus, I proceed to attack the Sand witch, so I reply with “lordnigel the theif attacks with a dirty dagger to the guts @rollthedice”. The @rolldice bot replies with a dice roll of a 1, normally this would mean I lost, but because I have the luck rabbit’s foot I get a passive ongoing +1 to all dice rolls (as long as I have the item). Therefore I won; I don’t lose a life or have to try again and can proceed to the next stage. 

Why this way? Hopefully people can be honest, understand the rules and then be self paced and make their way through each Stage post, practically on their own. 

I will of course cheer and  do an audit as we move along, if I see someone messing up/of track, I’ll try to advise, but if you continue before I advise, or cheat - sure you can progress, but I will remove any winnings from that point on.. 

This will be hard as some people may struggle to understand the rules a bit, but anything else and it will get too hard for me to manage and people will have to wait for me to interact, much better if they understand and can progress self paced, It also allows me to interact self paced as well :). Hey, it’s experimental still…so lets just see how it goes :) 

Boss round. The boss can be defeated by a random dice roll number between 1 and 12. Everyone simply posts their attack and in the reply @rolltwodice??After approx 7 days I will roll the dice on behalf of the Boss, which ever players rolled the same number win.

 If multiple people get the same dice then prize will be split evenly. If only one person lucks it, they get the lot. If no-one lucks it, then the prize jackpots for IBT#4. 

Question? Final comments? ...please keep in mind, we are trying new elements here so we can’t get too complex…however, if there is an obvious big flaw or some last minute tips or out right opposition to the approach please yell out now :)

 Special thanks to @spaceginger  for his artistic skills with the Interactive Battle Tournament Image  above.  100% of Steem raised from this post will go towards the IBT#3 Prizes. Other images were captured from the abandoware game romance-of-the-three-kingdoms.


Sort:  

Sounds very great! I will definitely take part and try my best ;)

🎵 @rollthedice ... it's paradise 🎵
🎵 but if you fail... you go to jail lose a life 🎵
(Putting Building up my hotels inventory...)

Also, how does someone roll a 1 on 2d6 -- does one of the faces on one of the dice get replaced with a 0?

Haha nice tune..

Under normal circumstances caught me on that one, but...

When you pickpocket an enemy and get a free item, there is a chance the item will give you a passive -1 to all your rolls. So your correct you can't roll a one, but due to the passive effect of an item, you may roll a 2, but only end up with a total roll score of a 1.

I guess if you had two items giving a negative -1 (pretty unlucky but you could), you could in fact roll a 2 with -2 and have a roll of a zero :(

Ah... so in theory, if a player had an item that said "all enemies have passive -1 vs. you", then the boss could end up with a total of 1 against that player only. Then that one player would need their own negative passive item(s) to have a chance to match... interesting.

As for the tune, there was a real (and imho, both cheesy and catchy) Monopoly theme song for a game show that aired in America in 1990 -- and that's where I borrowed/edited lyrics from. If you can give your map a 4-syllable name that is 8 letters long and doesn't contain the letter W, it would be very easy to make up lyrics for an unofficial IBT theme song.

Haha nice monopoly tune..

Thanks for your comments as always, they really do help me to think a bit more about game play. I'll think some more about the boss round...Like top of thought, rather then random number being the win, who ever rolls the largest number (once you add item +-) defeats the boss type deal...trying to think if there are negatives in this approach. For instance will people get too obsessed with getting too many items as no way i could police an item cap...anyways, again cheers..some more thinking about boss needed. We also have a large sided dice bot available vs. just 2 X 6 sided...still thinking..

Hey mate was thinking about this but couldn't settle on a map name. Wanna choose one for us? and a jiggle as well..I'll post it with it :)

I did figure something out, but I'm a bit busy right now... I'll make a post later tonight after I get home and provide you with the link.

@lordnigel
Seems iam comfused with ur explanation..
Why dont u come up with youtube/dtube vedio with explanation? So every1 will know ur strategy of game.. Also it will b easy to understand and more ppl will join u....
Hope my feedback helps u.. Ty

Cheers is a good idea - I have not done such a thing before (tutorial explanation) but I will research and give it a try :)

@lordnigel..
It will helps us follower to grasp it easily.. Give it a try
All The Best!!!

@lordnigel
Seems ur working hard on ur game project....
Hope u come up with game early soon...
Waiting for ur game...
Good luck...

@lordnigel
Iam too confused with some part of explanation..
I think graphic can help us to understand the game and any version
What u think?

I'll see what I can manage. There are some links back to earlier tournament here, to help get your up to speed (with pictures). i.e. Tournament one and two. So you can see how this has grown.

https://steemit.com/contest/@lordnigel/experimental-steemit-tournament-pre-release-information-ibt-3

Thanks for your generous donation of Steem to add to the prize pool.

-Many thanks on behalf of the players (would be great if I could tempt you to join in this time as well?)

Cheers

When do you want to get the whole thing started ? :)

A couple of bugs being ironed out..Enrolment will likely start in 3 days (this is official start)

Okay, thank you for your reply. I'm excited ^^

Sounds good to me :)
@rolldice

I should mention the bots are current asleep awaiting their masters command - AussieNinja will be back in a couple of days and will commence running 24X7 :)

Oh also how'd you go with the items :) can you perhaps PM me as have a special plan for their use (outside of just shop). Need 6...3 positive and 3 negatives :)

Cheers

Ok I'll do those later today and try to figure something out ;P

Thanks mate much appreciated - this has been a global build (Steemians from all over the globe helping out! - just hope it all works :)

Here are the item images.
Aid.jpgBomb.jpgBook of Death.jpgBoots.jpg
Clock.jpgDagger.jpgGem.jpgGrub.jpg
Ingot.jpgKey.jpgPotion.jpgShell.jpg
Each one is individual

Thanks mate, these are perfect..It's gonna be allot of fun..

It's very experimental and if something doesn't work well, we will adapt and improve for IBT#4 :)

^ This looks like one image but it is all 12 separate images for you to use.

Haha yep...that is like magic!

One other small favour - do you happen to have or can dodgy up an image to represent "a new life". There will be very little available in the shop post, but a life for a trophy will be one...would be nice to do it in the same format as your other items?

Please check the steemit chat

I think I understand the basic rules of the game!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59