You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contest/Giveaway: Your Steam Wishlist

in #contest6 years ago

Resteemed and upvoted!

I'll give you a "short-list" of things publicly, and I'll send you the full list over in Discord. I've got way too much stuff in my wishlist. First, though, answers to the questions:

  1. I put games in my wishlist around once a month or so, but sometimes I do so in large batches. It really sort of depends; I'll see a large list of things coming out that I'm not familiar with, and go see if any of them look good.
  2. I am pretty non-selective with regards to quality/reviews, but I do look for things that have interesting things. Of course, since I spend some of my time making games, I like to get a pretty broad field of entries, even if they're not good, and I also look for smaller, weirder games (like E.Y.E: Divine Cybermancy).
  3. I think the question about "wanting" games is a little off. I'd take any of the games on my wishlist, I'm just not always willing to spend money on them equivalent to the sticker price. A large part of the wishlist value for me is notifications about sales.
  4. My wishlist is loosely ranked. Every year or so I rank it around the big sales, both to help myself have willpower ("I won't buy below rank number X unless it's a great discount"), but I don't organize it every time I add stuff. I've got about 450 games on the list, so it's a pain to organize.

Generally, I have games loosely in order of being added, since that's how Steam handles the additions, but you will see a few things on there that I've manually re-arranged.

For instance, EU IV is up at the top. I've never been able to convince myself to spend so much money just to waste countless hours losing badly, but it is actually placed well. A lot of things on my wishlist have been there a long time, so many of the high-ranking ones are things that I've wanted for a long time, but not ever wanted to pay for, or that don't go on sale. An example of this would be Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. I played it once on Steam Family Sharing, but would actually like to have it for myself. I'm just not willing to pay $30 for it right now, or at any point since it went on my wishlist.

This probably goes for the first fifty or so games on the wishlist, though there are a few academic curiosity games there as well (for instance, Shadows: Heretic Kingdoms; I'm kinda interested in it, but I'm only willing to buy it for really cheap).

A lot of things that are high on the list are also higher price. Little tiny things make much easier impulse purchases, since I only have to spend a buck or two on them.

The final 50 or so games fall into the "new hotness" category. I haven't made up my mind on increasing their rank ever (partly because I haven't reorganized since adding them), but they tend to be a little bit cheaper than the other games.

These tend to be the games I'm actually most likely to buy, since they're ones that I recently considered, and they're likely to go on sale (unlike some of the ancient games, that I'd be willing to buy on sale but just haven't been on a good enough sale to get me to pull the trigger).

An instance of this game would be This is the Police 2; which I'm really interested in and might get soon regardless of a sale (though I'd probably want the first before that).

Sort:  

Put your shares. There's a lot of valuable information here, I'll make sure to reply you later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89