WINNERS ANNOUNCED! Lymmerik's Thanksgiving Limerick Contest

in #contest6 years ago

WINNERS ANNOUNCEMENT: LYMMERIK'S THANKSGIVING LIMERICK CONTEST

Hello, Everyone! This week I did the judging a little differently. My dear friend AnneMarie printed out the entries. She then cut off the titles and the entrant's names with scissors, because I had no idea how to do it otherwise. With that said, I read all the entries, and laughed my arse off! You all are really getting good at Limerick writing!

A New Lymmerik's Limerick Contest will be announced on DECEMBER 3, 2017
Trying to guess who wrote what Limerick was like...OMG!...trying to guess the winning lottery numbers. Impossible. But I judged the Limericks on the rules.
  • Rhythmic Cadence
  • Theme
  • Wit
  • Humor
  • Creativity

Here we go! And the Winners Are...

Lymmerik Tgiving Winnerscontest.png

Divider.png

The Rules

  • Write an Original Limerick about the above Theme and post it with these tags; the first tag should be #contest and and the second tag should be #lymmerikslimericks.

  • Plus three other tags of your choice, (I suggest that poetry be one of them, but that is your call.) Here are the tags I chose: #contest #lymmerikslimericks #poetry #writing #busy you can copy and paste them if you want. (contest lymmerikslimericks poetry writing busy).

  • Only ONE (1) Entry per Steemian.

  • You MUST Reply to this post with a link to your post. (Sometimes my tag #lymmerikslimericks does not recieve or hold the post tag long enough, some glitch I suppose)

  • UPVOTE this post.

  • RESTEEM this post. (You May Follow @Lymmerik, But It Is NOT a Requirement).

  • You may NOT use the word Nantucket! No Seriously!

  • ALL ENTRIES WILL BE JUDGED ON THE RHYTHMIC CADENCE OF THE LIMERICK, WIT, HUMOR, AND CREATIVITY.

  • Entries must be posted and must be placed in the comments below no later than Midnight MST (Phoenix Arizona Time), Friday November 17, 2017.

    Divider.png

The Winners and Their Prizes

1st Place - 7$ SBD

@moeknows

Just for you @moeknows

Bending the Rules?

Moe Knows Nantucket is banned

So he just bent the rules and ran

Changed the 'e' for an 'i'

Which is really quite spry

Nantucket, "Nan, tuck it!" Really man?

This is @moeknows' Entry Limerick

Thanks-taking

My vegan cousins, Nan and May

Ruined our family's Thanksgiving day

Dad grabbed the turkey to pluck it

May hollered, "Nan, tuck it!"

Nan stole the turkey and ran away

Divider.png

2nd Place - 5$ SBD

@g-force1980

Here is your Limerick! @g-force1980

Mum Wins!

Ma said, "shut up and eat your food!"

My mom would have thrown the spoon

You win second place

with really good grace

Ma settled the family feud

Here is @g-force1980's Entry Limerick

Mum Knows Best

Brought round a table, our brood

To settle some family feuds

And try as we might

To continue to the fight

Ma said "Shut up and eat your food!"

Divider.png

3rd Place - 3$ SBD

@fishyculture

Here is Your Limerick @fishyculture

What the Hell is ToFurkey?

There once was a turkey named Jerky

He tasted much better'n ToFurkey

It's really quite simple

@fishyculture has dimples

And third place she took in a hurry!

Here is @fishyculture's Entry Limerick

Thanksgiving Dinner At Elmer's

Said my husband, who I do adore,

"Let me make this day less of a chore!"

But the restaurant turkey

Was pretty much jerky

So we don't do that any more...

Divider.png

Contest Judging

All entries were judged blindly and solely by me, @Lymmerik, on Rhythmic Cadence, Theme, Wit, Humor, and Creativity. My friend, AnneMarie, is not a Steemit user. She does not do much online. I would like to thank her for printing out the entries and cutting off the names and titles of the entries. She says you are all very witty!

Congratulations to all the winners! Thank you all for your excellent entries and for participating in Lymmerik's Thanksgiving Limerick Contest

Here is a list of all the entrants: @carrieallen, @jonknight, @lost108, @g-force1980, @chrisroberts, @fishyculture, @knottygirl @likedeeler, @janine-ariane, @moeknows

Winners can expect their winnings today!

A New Contest Will be Announced DECEMBER 3, 2017! I will be on Steemit as usual, but I will be visiting my parents for the next couple of weeks and not be holding the contest until I get back and rest a little. They live 2,500 miles away, so I don't get to see them very often.

@Lymmerik

Lymmerik Atomic.png

Lymmerik-Particles1_1-(Converted) (1).gif

Sort:  

.... The first place winner didn't quite make a limerick...

At least not by the normal definition.
I'm also often guilty of not matching syllables... as long as the meter FEELS right. It is just ART after all.

Great poem though!

A limerick is a humorous poem consisting of five lines. The first, second, and fifth lines must have seven to ten syllables while rhyming and having the same verbal rhythm. The third and fourth lines only have to have five to seven syllables, and have to rhyme with each other and have the same rhythm.
Read more at http://examples.yourdictionary.com/limerick-examples.html#8uxvkmeeXvWFKOTQ.99

Great job to all that entered! These were hilarious!

True. But in my defense, I'll say...

It's an extremely difficult task
to camouflage all this crass
saying "Nantucket"
without "Nantucket"
I just look at the rules and say *#$% it.
(see what I did there)

Nah, I'm the same way. It's all good and I'm glad you pointed it out.

I was happy to win this week. I have a lot of fun with these contests, even though I make some pretty horrible limericks. Of course I feel that Nantucket should be a requirement.

Thanks for selecting my poem @lymmerik.

@carrieallen,
This was one of the hardest judging. I did judge them blind and trying to get it right was tough. There were other considerations other than the cadence, which is very important. Theme, wit, humor, and creativity as well was judged. My friend AnneMarie refused to make any comments on ony of them, except that they were good. So I made the winner's choice completely in the dark and felt that that one had the majority of the components for the win. I'll see you after I get back from my trip. Happy Turkey Day! xoxoxo
@Lymmerik

No worries. I wouldn't be me if I didn't point out the darned rules. LOL!
Have a wonderful holiday!

This will be the ONLY time I don't shrink my emoji for a comment... well, maybe Christmas too...😎

@carrieallen,
I'm sitting here in the Tucson airport waiting on the darned plane. I thought I left earlier, but noooo, I have to get to the airport early! Anyways, Thank you for being you! This contest blind judging is just as hard at The Voice! Lol.
Happy Turkey Gobble-Gobble!
@Lymmerik

Lol! At least you have Steemit to keep you occupied whilst you wait.

Chris will be posting a (complicated) contest soon... He's been working on it all morning. But I have high faith in you. 😉

Happy holidays everybody! Make sure y'all are ready to bring the limericks in December! I know I will!

Thank you and have a delightful visit and vacation!

@fishyculture,
Thanks so much, and congrats!
@Lymmerik

Congrqts to winners ! And for you joy love and laughter for your holliday.. see you back soon

@janine-ariane,
Thanks so much.you as well!
@Lymmerik

Awesome. Thank you @lymmerik. Glad you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76