You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BATTLING TIPS, FOR TIP$ CONTEST! Comment Your Favorite Steemit, Tip, Trick, or Hack, and WIN BIG TIP$$

in #contest6 years ago

My tip involves headlines and comments, and communication in general:
We humans have a natural tendency to relate to things based on our own experiences. So when a friend is telling us about their bad day at work, we often reply with something like "Damn, sorry to hear that. Yeah, I had the exact same thing happen to me last week. My boss was in a bad mood and, ..."

While we think we are empathising, this kind of reply inadvertently makes the conversation all about us. Instead, you should listen sincerely and when replying, ask more about your friend and how you could possibly help them. Make it about them.

This counts for comments too. When replying to a post, show interest in the poster and what they were trying to get across. Of course, with creativity, how the post makes you feel is integral to interacting with it, but also try ask questions that will make the author see that you were really paying attention.

As for headlines, again, it's all about "I" vs "you" - Studies have shown that JUST by using the word 'you' somewhere in a headline increases click-through rate. We are all self-obsessed creatures naturally. So, for example, with my recent article, the title was "I Don't Believe in God(s)." ... Just before publishing, I remembered what I'm talking about here, and it became "I Don't Believe in God(s)- Why do You?" ... The "you" made all the difference, especially with it being in a question.

Sort:  

This is a great tip, thanks for contributing it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67705.30
ETH 3767.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73