Music Snippet Contest #1 - 8 SBD Prize Pool!

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

snippet_contest_logo.png

I think it’s time to try out a new type of contest. The questions for this contest are modeled off of the music snippet questions that are asked throughout the annual WWSP Trivia Contest (more information about the WWSP contest is located in my short bio at the end of this post). The premise of this music snippet contest is to identify songs from short snippets of the song that you’re given. I’m starting off with 8 songs per contest, and making each song worth 1 SBD. The 1 SBD per song will be divided evenly among each person who correctly identifies the song. Depending on how the contest goes and how much each question post makes, I may change change the number of songs and/or the value of each song for future contests. For those of you who are familiar with my Weekly Trivia Contest (Weekly Trivia Contest #8), this contest will be run in a very similar way, but please read through all of the rules below. One difference with this contest is that it won’t necessarily be on a weekly cadence, nor will it necessarily start on the same day of the week as the previous contest.

Here are the rules (PLEASE READ THEM ALL):

  1. Please DO NOT post answers as replies to this post. If you do so, you will be disqualified from the contest.
  2. All answers must be sent as a direct message to @misko on Steemit Chat (https://steemit.chat). Please include your Steemit account name in the message for potential payouts. Once you have submitted your answers on Steemit Chat, please comment on this post letting me know that you've submitted your answers.
  3. Only one answer message per user per question is allowed. The message should include your Steemit account name and your answers for any of the questions. This means you only get one shot to answer each of the questions! Subsequent answer messages for a previously answered question will be ignored.
  4. You only need to provide the name of the song. You do not need to provide the artist of the song.
  5. You may use any resources at your disposal to answer the questions.

Here’s how the payouts will work:

  • Each question will be worth 1 SBD.
  • The amount of money that each question is worth will be split evenly among the users who answer the question correctly.
  • You will be paid out for all correct answers that you submit. You do not need to answer all questions correctly to receive a payout.

Example Payout:

  • Each question is worth 1 SBD.
  • 2 users answer Question #1 correctly, and each receive 0.5 SBD for their correct answer.
  • 10 users answer Question #2 correctly, and each receive 0.1 SBD for their correct answer.
  • 5 users answer Question #3 correctly, and each receive 0.2 SBD for their correct answer.
  • 1 user answers Question #4 correctly, and they receive all 1 SBD for their correct answer.
  • You get the picture...

This Contest Ends on Wednesday, September 13th at 11:59 PM Central Time

If I happen to stick to a theme for the songs for a given contest, I’ll likely provide you with the theme as a bit of a hint.

Theme

Billboard Hits of the 1990s

Questions

Music Snippet Contest #1

Correct Answers Submitted

Question #1: 0
Question #2: 1
Question #3: 2
Question #4: 2
Question #5: 3
Question #6: 3
Question #7: 3
Question #8: 1



Quick Bio and Trivia Background

My name is Mitch, and I’m a computer engineer living in Wisconsin. I play in the World’s Largest Trivia Contest, which is held every April in Stevens Point, WI. The contest is a fundraiser for the University of Wisconsin - Stevens Point radio station, WWSP. It is a 54 hour long contest that spans an entire weekend. I am a co-captain of the team “Festivus For The Rest Of Us”, who have won the contest 3 times and are currently defending champs. The questions that I write for the Steemit Weekly Trivia Contest are similar to those asked during WWSP contest, albeit intentionally more difficult on average. If you’ve enjoyed searching for the answers to the questions that I’ve written, or really just like trivia in general, please check out the WWSP trivia contest.
WWSP Trivia Website:
http://90fmtrivia.org/
Article and Short Documentary about WWSP Trivia:
https://theoutline.com/post/1469/stevens-point-worlds-biggest-trivia-contest

-Mitch
steemit_profile_pic_2.jpg



Sort:  

Resteemed -- it'll be interesting to see how this contest goes. Got a couple already, but I'll wait to submit answers until closer to the deadline (unless I somehow figure out all 8 early).

As always, I really appreciate the resteem and support. I think I should be able to create a mix of easier and harder questions more easily with the music snippets. I always enjoy the music snippets during the WWSP contest. Hopefully others on Steemit will enjoy these types of questions as well.

I have submitted

Thanks for playing in the new contest, @pps! I hope you've enjoyed it so far. Good luck identifying the rest of the songs.

Hi @misko! Resteemed and answers sent.

Thanks for playing, and the resteem, @mr-monk! Your answers have been received.

I've just sent you my submissions.

Love the idea! Thought about doing it myself but didn't know how. I used to play at SongPop quite a lot, so I'm fairly good at this game. :-)

Answers have been received. Thanks for playing @heroic15397! I'm glad you enjoy it! I hope this contest catches on. I really enjoyed putting it together.

Thanks! Yes, I hope it gets people involved, too! I might resteem week #2 if I catch it earlier. Wish I could have done better guessing. Maybe I'll have better luck on the next one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73